MozillaZine

How can one get all of one*s accounts to another / new Thund

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted May 28th, 2020, 9:49 pm

How can one get all of one*s accounts to another / new Thunderbird? Without extensions.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 3:38 am


Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 4:14 am

Many thanks for the link. Sorry, I cannot find the information how to just transfer the accounts (without using monbackup). The messages are stroed in the profile folder. But where are the accounts stored?

This message is shown from mozbackup while transferring the data:
Image

Do not know how to avoid that.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 4:35 am

A) Don't use MozBackup. Just copy the profile folder as per the manual backup instructions in that link.

B) The accounts are in the profile with the messages, just in a different sub-directory.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder_-_Thunderbird
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Files_and_fol ... hunderbird

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 5:02 am

Thank you!

Yes, I copied the profile folder
Image
to the new TB. But after starting the new TB this is shown:
https://i.imgur.com/29figHU.png
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 5:23 am

You copied from two levels too high in the directory tree. Under "Profiles" you should have a sub-directory named something like abcd1234.default, where the first 8 characters were randomly generated when the profile was created. Inside that sub-directory you should find a sub-sub-directory that contains numerous file, including at least two with the extension .mab. (Those are address book files.) It's at this level that you want to copy the data from the old profile location and then paste it into the new, overwriting anything there.

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 10:52 am

Under "Profiles" you should have a sub-directory named something like abcd1234.default,

I cannot find such.

the mab files are in the profile folder:
Image

May be I should have mentioned I use the portable version but I thought the folder / files generally are located the same.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 3:02 pm

May be I should have mentioned I use the portable version

Yes, that would have been quite helpful. With the Portable version of the program the profile directory is stored within/below the program directory. That's quite different from the way a profile is stored with an installed version of the program. https://portableapps.com/support/portab ... installing

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted May 29th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Yes, very sorry. And I guess, having the version in the signaure would not be enough, I assume the most do not look at it or it is not visible for each one, sory again.

Thank you for the link.

I cannot find a folder with ".default" at the end like abcd1234.default anywhere in each of the (sub) folders in TB.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 30th, 2020, 4:35 am

You're right. I didn't notice that third line of your signature.
I cannot find a folder with ".default" at the end like abcd1234.default anywhere in each of the (sub) folders in TB.

And that's because the folder structure of the portable version is not the same as that of an installed version. For you the profile is probably under \Data\profile.

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 4th, 2020, 2:04 pm

So the name of the folder like abcd1234.default is completely different? It does not contain "default"?
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 4th, 2020, 3:56 pm

There actually is no folder like abcd1234.default with the portable version. The folder that contains the profile data is just called \Profile.

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 4th, 2020, 9:53 pm

So I just would copy the entire profile folder besides of those extension items(?):
Image

That seems to work but this message is still shown:
Image
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123205
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 5th, 2020, 5:15 am

The URL referenced in that error message is apparently no longer valid. It also looks like it refers to an extension, SendLater. If you have that extension installed, disable or remove it and try again to send messages.

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 5th, 2020, 5:52 am

Yes, SendLater. OK, I will remove, it it not possible here to send messages delayed.

Thank you.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests