MozillaZine

MBOX files much smaller than indicated in TB

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
paul2801

Post Posted September 15th, 2020, 2:35 am

in order to make a backup of all my email I copied my whole profile folder on disk to an external drive. The online folders seemed to contain suspiciously little space compared to the local folders.
To investigate I studied the relation between what is shown in TB and what is stored on the file system. Now i think I know MBOX files, MSF and SBD files and the relation between them.

What I don't understand is the size of the online MBOX files. My Inbox contains 134 MB of messages (300 msgs) as shown in TB. Yet the corresponding MBOX file size is only 0.483 MB.
I tried to force a sync (File > Offline > Now download/sync) but the MBOX file stays much too small. Apparently most messages are not downloaded.

The same occurs with all other online folders I created. For instance, the folder 2020 (at same level as inbox) contains 32 MB of messages as shown in TB. Yet the mbox file only contains 67 kB while the MSF file (just headers!) contains 78 KB!

My account is a Gmail account. Don't know if this is relevant.

PS Last week I moved an online folder 2016 (43 MB) to Local folders. I would expect the original 2016 folder to be removed in TB. Instead, it still shows up but now the mbox file is empty!! The mbox file in local folders is OK.

It's all a mystery to me. I'm afraid I'm missing something. Any clarification more than welcome!

DanRaisch

Post Posted September 15th, 2020, 4:09 am

From your post iHow is the account set up, as POP or IMAP? Tools->Account Settings->Server Settings->Server Type at the top right of the dialogue.
If that is the case, check the setting under Tools->Account Settings->Synchronization & Storage->Is "Keep messages for all folders for this account on this computer" checked?

tanstaafl

Post Posted September 15th, 2020, 3:01 pm