MozillaZine

Developer Toolbox does not open

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Clued2it

User avatar
 
Posts: 223
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2020, 7:23 am

I noticed that the Developer Toolbox does not open on my Thunderbird v.78.5.0 on Windows 10 Pro. It doesn't open either with the shortcut or through the menu. Any ideas why this may be so?

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4515
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted November 20th, 2020, 8:22 am

It looks like it is not enabled in TB 78.5.0 on Linux if I'm looking at the correct Config Editor settings.

"devtools.application.enabled;false"
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Clued2it

User avatar
 
Posts: 223
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2020, 9:22 am

Thank you. I enabled it after what you wrote, but it still doesn't work.

morat
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2020, 9:53 am

It works here.

Thunderbird 78.5.0
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit

I set these preferences before using the developer toolbox.

Code: Select all
set devtools.chrome.enabled                    pref to true  (default true)
set devtools.debugger.remote-enabled           pref to true  (default true)
set devtools.debugger.prompt-connection        pref to false (default true)
set devtools.inspector.showAllAnonymousContent pref to true  (default false)

How to open the developer toolbox using the error console.

Code: Select all
BrowserToolboxLauncher.init();

Clued2it

User avatar
 
Posts: 223
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2020, 10:28 am

@morat
Thank you for your suggestion. I ensured that the preferences were set as per your list and now I get access to the Developer Toolbox. In fact my devtools.chrome.enabled and devtools.inspector.showAllAnonymousContent needed to be changed.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4515
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted November 21st, 2020, 7:29 am

Clued2it wrote:@morat
Thank you for your suggestion. I ensured that the preferences were set as per your list and now I get access to the Developer Toolbox. In fact my devtools.chrome.enabled and devtools.inspector.showAllAnonymousContent needed to be changed.


So can you do anything with it in Thunderbird?

I would think it is disabled for a reason.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests