MozillaZine

thunderbird port?

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
//BlacKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: June 20th, 2005, 7:26 am
Location: Preston, England

Post Posted September 27th, 2005, 10:57 am

Hi, just moved into halls, and the uni's firewall has thunderbirds port blocked. Please could anyone tell me what port thunderbird runs on so that i can tell them which port to open??

cheers :D
<a href="http://spaces.msn.com/members/tomblacknight">MSN Space</a> | <a href="http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/?t=archives&date=last">CtrlAltDel</a> | <a href="http://adagio.f2o.org/">AdagioWare</a> | Windows XP SP2, Firefox 1.0.4, Thunderbird 1.0 (20041206)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106530
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted September 27th, 2005, 11:34 am

The port Thunderbird will use will depend on the email server you need to connect to. What email will you be using? Do they have technical support that can identify the server name and port requirements for you?
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

//BlacKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: June 20th, 2005, 7:26 am
Location: Preston, England

Post Posted September 27th, 2005, 11:45 am

well im just connecting to gmail, which is on port 995. however i thought that didnt matter, because its connecting to gmails port 995, where as the port on my side needs opening..?
<a href="http://spaces.msn.com/members/tomblacknight">MSN Space</a> | <a href="http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/?t=archives&date=last">CtrlAltDel</a> | <a href="http://adagio.f2o.org/">AdagioWare</a> | Windows XP SP2, Firefox 1.0.4, Thunderbird 1.0 (20041206)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 106530
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted September 27th, 2005, 12:27 pm

Do you mean the outgoing (SMTP ) port? Your uni's IT types should provide that.
Vista Home Premium 64 - FX 37.0.1 & TB 31.6.0 Win 8.1 - FX 37.0.1 and TB 31.6.0

//BlacKnight

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: June 20th, 2005, 7:26 am
Location: Preston, England

Post Posted September 27th, 2005, 1:31 pm

well the SMTP port is 587 or something, they would of had that blocked, however, its thunderbird they need to unblock... outlook works. i imagine thunderbird operates OUT of the same port whatever, i dont think what port thunderbirds connects to at the other end matters?
<a href="http://spaces.msn.com/members/tomblacknight">MSN Space</a> | <a href="http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/?t=archives&date=last">CtrlAltDel</a> | <a href="http://adagio.f2o.org/">AdagioWare</a> | Windows XP SP2, Firefox 1.0.4, Thunderbird 1.0 (20041206)

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122729
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted September 27th, 2005, 1:53 pm

You only set the port in Thunderbird, not open or close it. It seems that the problem is with the University. Yes it does matter. ISPs also open and close ports. Gmail does not work with the standard SMTP port of 25 or POP port of 110. Their POP uses 995 and SMTP uses 587. If these ports are blocked on your University's server, there's not a whole lot you can do besides talk to them.
JE SUIS CHARLIE
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests