Thunderbird keeps getting invalid username and password msg

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
Posts: 2
Joined: May 31st, 2006, 5:19 am

Post Posted May 31st, 2006, 5:24 am

After I set up my account, TB prompted to enter password for the user name. I entered it. After about 30 seconds or so it came back saying password or username invalid. My mailbox is with Aliant and it works perfectly on their website. I've checked numerous times that my username and password is correct. I've even deleted the mailbox from Aliant numerous times and built a new one with different username/passwords, but I still get the same messages. I've done this with Thunderbird from both my home computer and my work computer and I get the exact same thing. Any ideas? Please? Thanks in advance :)


User avatar
Posts: 15833
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted May 31st, 2006, 5:29 am

Getting that message is actually a good thing. It means you are at least making contact with the mail server and exchanging information.

Some servers want you to identify yourself with your full email address, others only want your account name (the portion of your email address before the @). Try it both ways and see if one or the other works for you.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win7 Home Prem (64bit): FF 42.0, TB 38.3.0 ║ Android 4.2.2/4.4.2: FF 42.0, No Android TB available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

Posts: 2
Joined: May 31st, 2006, 5:19 am

Post Posted May 31st, 2006, 5:38 am

Thank-you so much, I entered the full email address and it worked!! :) :) :)

Posts: 6
Joined: May 25th, 2007, 11:09 am

Post Posted December 1st, 2009, 11:09 pm

I had this exact problem and this solution worked. Odd, on one computer running TB on OS 10.4.11, my POP server settings work with a user name WITHOUT the "@" etc.... and the same version of TB I just installed on a system running OS 10.6 required me to type in the "@" etc. in the settings in order to work. Well, all I care about is that the problem is solved. ;-)


User avatar
Posts: 35140
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 2nd, 2009, 6:43 am

That's good news.
Now locking this old thread.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-38.0.1/T-bird-
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Thunderbird Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests