MozillaZine

Does Seamonkey support Open text as hyperlink?

Discussion of features in Seamonkey
vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2012, 1:42 pm

I am not able to use Open text as hyperlink in Seamonkey
Is this feature available?
If available how can I enable it?
The features seems to readily available in Firefox and Opera browsers.
Firefox demo screenshot
Image
Opera demo screenshot
Image
No Support in Seamonkey
Image

-Px-

User avatar
 
Posts: 419
Joined: April 20th, 2011, 1:56 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2012, 1:45 pm

Afair, it doesn't supported now, and I even saw bug for implementing that but don't remember it's number...

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2012, 9:23 pm

too bad
when i tried to search for the bug i found this addon and though it said it was incompatible i force installed and it works well.i submitted the compatibility report too

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18693
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 3rd, 2012, 8:25 am

Fetch Text URL works. And is better then what is implemented in FF.


https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/447/presences/
Code: Select all
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/19517629/cuted.png
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19517629/cuted.png


KB: Text links
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted October 3rd, 2012, 9:04 am

therube wrote:Fetch Text URL works. And is better then what is implemented in FF.


https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/447/presences/
Code: Select all
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/19517629/cuted.png
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19517629/cuted.png


KB: Text links

Thanks for recommending Fetch Text URL. It is very cool in that it allows the user to configure the options like "new tab","same tab" etc.Would help save some real estate in context menu

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2013, 11:37 pm

I found that after selecting the text link if we press the "page scroller" on the mouse it opens the url in the same tab
if we do the same by clicking on ctrl button on keyboard it opens url in new tab
Regular usage of this may feature may destroy your mouse scroll :-)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18693
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 9th, 2013, 12:09 pm

I found that after selecting the text link if we press the "page scroller"...

I don't understand?
With which extension does this happen?
And it is not some other extension that is causing it to occur?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2013, 12:24 pm

No addons required
By selecting the link in the form of text and clicking on the scroller in a scroll mouse we can open the links :-)
Select and click using the red scroll in this image
Image

Ztruker

User avatar
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 1:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, Fl

Post Posted January 9th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Doesn't work that way for me.
Rich
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2013, 8:28 pm

rephrasing. Do normal select of the text urls and just click on the stroller instead of rotating it :-)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18693
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 10th, 2013, 8:00 am

> Doesn't work that way for me.

Ditto.

> Do normal select of the text urls and just click on the stroller instead of rotating it.

Thinking either you've got another extension that is causing it to happen for you, or there is some mouse setting that you have assigned that causes it.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2013, 8:53 am

I will try in a new profile(in linux) and report back whether an addon is causing it.
I don't see this behaviour on windows version :-(
Maybe it is OS dependant
Update1:-One user using Gentoo has reported this function in Firefox long time ago viewtopic.php?f=38&t=89117
Update2:- I checked in Linux and i confirm that the feature this(open text links as through clicking scroll button) exists and it seems to be a Linux only feature

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27314
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted January 10th, 2013, 4:47 pm

vazhavandan wrote:Update2:- I checked in Linux and i confirm that the feature this(open text links as through clicking scroll button) exists and it seems to be a Linux only feature

While the two clipboards on Linux is far more useful compared to Windows I do not get this feature on recent Firefox Nightly nor on SeaMonkey 2.15 or 2.11.

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 10th, 2013, 8:23 pm

I also confirm that "middlemouse.contentLoadURL" flag does indeed toggle this behaviour in SeaMonkey 2.15 on Linux atleast :-)
I found no changes in behaviour on a Windows machine

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted January 10th, 2013, 10:30 pm

It changed behavior on my Windows machine. But not how I would want. With the preference set to True, middle click no longer works to close a tab.
But then again, I may be wrong.

Return to SeaMonkey Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests