MozillaZine

Development Suggestion - Distsinct TABS

Discussion of features in Seamonkey
bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2013, 3:57 pm

I'm just putting this out there for what it is worth.

I like the integrated mail and browser of SeaMonkey, it has consistently been my browser of choice for MANY years. Generally I've been satisfied with the direction of development.

Just one small complaint. When I have multiple TABS open, it gets hard to determine which is the current Open TAB. I was looking through Theme to see if I could find one that emphasized the Open TAB more distinctly. The best I could find was "Foxfire-lightblue" in which the inactive TABS are semi-transparent, the active TAB is solid gray, but when lot of TAB are open it is still hard to determine the Active TAB. Frequently I find myself closing the wrong TAB.

So, for future development, if the Active TAB could be more distinct, or the inactive more subdued, that would be much appreciated.

Also, if someone knows of a simple, compact, uncluttered Theme that makes a bigger distinction between the open Active TAB and all the inactive TAB, please let me know, and I'll check it out.

I like a compact uncluttered Theme, I don't use Icons on the screen, just Text for Back, Forward, Reload, etc....

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and if you have any suggestions, please post them.

Steve/Bluewizard

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17768
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 7:42 am

In {ProfileDir}/chrome/userChrome.css ...
(create if it does not exist)
(change the [rgb(#,#,#)] to your desire)

Code: Select all
@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

/* Change color of active tab */
tab{
   -moz-appearance: none !important;
}
tab[selected="true"] {
   background-color: rgb(0,153,255) !important;
   color: black !important;
}


Edit: added closing '}'
Last edited by therube on May 15th, 2013, 9:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

rsx11m
Moderator
 
Posts: 14420
Joined: May 3rd, 2007, 7:40 am
Location: US

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 8:42 am

Aren't you missing a closing '}' for the second rule, or maybe even more was cut off?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17768
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 9:05 am

You're right, thanks.
(There was more & it was with that more where the close } had been.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 10:58 am

Curious, it is possible to add a 4th element to RGB for Alpha or Transparency, or does that not work here?

So, using your example -

rgb(0,153,255)

now becomes -

rgb(0,153,255,127)

Where 127 would make it about 50% transparent.

Also, is there anyway to examine the current Theme to find out what values they are using?

Thanks for the help.

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 11:12 am

Sorry to be a bother, but the script you gave me controls the color of the Active Tab, is there also a way to control the color of the Inactive Tabs?

The choices seem to be to lighten the Active, or darken the Inactive. I'd like to try both if possible, to see which produces the best result.

Thanks again for taking the time to help me out.

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 11:38 am

You can use rgba instead of rgb, where "a" is a value between 0 and 1, with 1 being fully opaque and 0 fully transparent.
rgb(0,0,0) = black
rgba(0,0,0,.5) = 50% transparent black

Put your color statements for inactive tabs in the "tab { }" section.
Code: Select all
@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

/* Change color of active tab */
tab {
   -moz-appearance: none !important;
    background-color: rgba(0,0,0,.5) !important;
    color: white;
}
tab[selected="true"] {
   background-color: rgba(256,256,256,1) !important;
   color: black !important;
}
But then again, I may be wrong.

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 12:48 pm

Sorry for being a little dense, but I don't see where it makes a distinction between the Active and Inactive TAB.

Likely if I just lighten the Active TAB background that will be enough. But if not, I would like to darken the Inactive TABs a bit.

Again, were is the sample scripts shown does it make a distinction between Active and Inactive TAB?

But I do see the part about the ALPHA or transparency. Not sure if I will have to use that, but good to know.

Again, thanks for taking the time to help.

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 2:03 pm

You don't really need to make a distinction between active and inactive tabs. The code is CSS, and it's applied in the order it's written. So what the code in my example is saying is: Make all tabs have a semitransparent black background with white text, then only for the active tab make the background opaque white with black text.

If you really want to address inactive tabs, you'd use
Code: Select all
tab[selected="false"] {
  some_css_directive;
}
But then again, I may be wrong.

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 5:52 pm

It can't really hurt to try can it?

I mean if the result is messed up, I just delete or rename the .CSS and everything is back to normal right?

Thanks again for your help.

rsx11m
Moderator
 
Posts: 14420
Joined: May 3rd, 2007, 7:40 am
Location: US

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 8:23 pm

Correct, the changes are only effective as long as the userChrome.css file exists. It is loaded on startup of the application, thus you'll have to restart SeaMonkey every time you make changes. If no userChrome.css file is found on the next restart, simply no rule of the default theme will be overridden.

Most importantly, use a simple text editor to create and modify that file (i.e., nothing more complex than Notepad).

bluewizard
 
Posts: 193
Joined: July 11th, 2006, 12:38 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2013, 10:56 pm

Thanks I'm going to give it a try.

Return to SeaMonkey Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest