MozillaZine


My SeaMonkey Wishlist

Discussion of features in Seamonkey
highlandsun

User avatar
 
Posts: 187
Joined: February 17th, 2004, 4:27 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post Posted March 4th, 2007, 9:00 pm

I've set up a short index page on http://www.highlandsun.com/hyc/mozilla/ and redirected all of the old direct links through the new index page.

By the way, if you downloaded an older version of my package, you may need to download it again. I accidentally omitted the ImportExport handlers from the previous XPIs so trying to import an ICS file would always fail. That's fixed with the current packages.
-- Howard Chu http://www.symas.com

Joe1962
 
Posts: 370
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 6:00 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Post Posted March 7th, 2007, 10:22 pm

Tried latest xpi and I get the same issue. This time I did type out the error message. It simply refuses to show up here properly using "code" or "quote", so here's a link:

http://pastebin.ca/385921
SM (usually latest stable) on Linux Mint 19 x86_64.

highlandsun

User avatar
 
Posts: 187
Joined: February 17th, 2004, 4:27 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post Posted March 7th, 2007, 11:53 pm

I just downloaded the Linux Seamonkey 1.1.1 tarball and installed my XPI and it works fine. (I had previously only tested the SM 1.1 install on Linux.)

Have you tried completely deleting the Seamonkey installation and reinstalling it all? Possibly the fixed files in the new XPI are not overwriting the older files.
-- Howard Chu http://www.symas.com

Joe1962
 
Posts: 370
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 6:00 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Post Posted March 8th, 2007, 6:27 am

highlandsun wrote:Have you tried completely deleting the Seamonkey installation and reinstalling it all? Possibly the fixed files in the new XPI are not overwriting the older files.
I did, but I did not try with a fresh profile, as this one is pretty recent. So I will try that as soon as I can.
SM (usually latest stable) on Linux Mint 19 x86_64.

Old Jaisen
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2007, 9:38 pm

I just discovered that the Calendar is leaking pretty badly, making my SM pretty slow. Anyway to resolve this? Here is the leak report:

Leaks in window 0x42ac7b8:
[+] [leaked object] (427c3f8) = [Object]
[+] notify (427c3f0, chrome://calendar/content/calendar-views.js, 263-264) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2494de0) = [Object]
[+] [leaked object] (42ace10) = [Object]
[+] QueryInterface (42ace08, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 53-59) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2894340) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarRegistered (42ace00, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 62-71) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2874c68) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarUnregistering (42acdf8, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 75-103) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2874c80) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarDeleting (42acdf0, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 108-109) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2874ca8) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarPrefSet (42acde8, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 112-123) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2855478) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarPrefDeleting (42acde0, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 128-134) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2494db8) = [Object]
[+] [leaked object] (42acdd8) = [Object]
[+] QueryInterface (42acdd0, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 140-147) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2fdcf10) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarAdded (42acdc8, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 151-155) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (28f5060) = [Object]
[+] onCalendarRemoved (42acdc0, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 159-163) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (28b8070) = [Object]
[+] onDefaultCalendarChanged (42acdb8, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 167-167) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (28b80f0) = [Object]
[+] onStartBatch (42acdb0, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 172-172) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (28b8100) = [Object]
[+] onEndBatch (42acda8, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 173-173) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2892fc8) = [Object]
[+] onLoad (42acda0, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 174-174) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2894020) = [Object]
[+] onAddItem (42acd98, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 175-175) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2894048) = [Object]
[+] onModifyItem (42acd90, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 176-176) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (2894098) = [Object]
[+] onDeleteItem (42acd88, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 177-177) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (28942b0) = [Object]
[+] onError (42acd80, chrome://calendar/content/calendarManagement.js, 178-178) = [Function]
[ ] prototype (28942f0) = [Object]
Joined: 18 Jun 2005

highlandsun

User avatar
 
Posts: 187
Joined: February 17th, 2004, 4:27 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post Posted March 13th, 2007, 4:59 am

That all looks like mainline Calendar code. You should start a topic for this in the Calendar forum, and someone will probably ask you to submit a bug report to Bugzilla for it.

Looks like I didn't include a datestamp for my builds in the About dialog. Most of the code is from the Calendar trunk, March 1, 2007.
-- Howard Chu http://www.symas.com

DJGM

User avatar
 
Posts: 711
Joined: November 9th, 2002, 10:28 am
Location: Manchester, England, UK.

Post Posted March 15th, 2007, 6:00 pm

I'd like to see proper installer available for the Mac OS X version of SeaMonkey, like the ones
made for Windows and Linux, instead of having to copy the latest SeaMonkey.app over to
the Applications folder That way, there's no need to re-install all my extensions again
unless any of them happen to be incompatible with the new version.
-----------------------------
SeaMonkey is like a Swiss Army knife: Versatile and dependable, with many useful tools.
Internet Explorer is like really, really, very old Swiss cheese: Full of holes, and it stinks!

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted March 16th, 2007, 8:56 am

DJGM wrote:I'd like to see proper installer available for the Mac OS X version of SeaMonkey, like the ones
made for Windows and Linux, instead of having to copy the latest SeaMonkey.app over to
the Applications folder That way, there's no need to re-install all my extensions again
unless any of them happen to be incompatible with the new version.
Here's some news for you: Even with a "proper" installer for the Win32 version, extensions installed in the global application directory will be deleted if SeaMonkey is reinstalled. What makes you think this will be any different for a Mac OS X "installer"? Secondly, Linux has an installer?

Phil

janesman2007

User avatar
 
Posts: 24
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 10:16 pm

Post Posted March 18th, 2007, 4:14 pm

The only thing I can think of in seamonkey I would like to see added is the ability to open bookmarks by right clicking the bookmark and open in new window/or new tab as I can with firefox. I always have to open a new tab or window then go to my bookmark and open it. Otherwise it replaces the tab I have open. I think it would be a nice addon for seamonkey.
So whats the big deal anyway?

BenoitRen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5927
Joined: April 11th, 2004, 10:20 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted March 18th, 2007, 5:45 pm

You can do this in SeaMonkey 1.1. At least in the Bookmarks menu.

janesman2007

User avatar
 
Posts: 24
Joined: February 27th, 2007, 10:16 pm

Post Posted March 18th, 2007, 6:07 pm

I had previously installed v1.1. before. But I uninstalled it because it screwed up when trying to open seamonkey from links in other programs like my gmail notifier, so I went back to v1.0.7. I will probably wait till things clear up, I have seen that other people in the forum had the same problems in 1.1 that I had. Waiting for a more stable version. I see that v1.1.1 is out, but release notes don't clarify for me that this problem was addressed. However it did appear that quicklaunch related problems were addressed.
So whats the big deal anyway?

woopie49
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2007, 2:22 am
Location: I'm in the land DownUnder

Post Posted March 22nd, 2007, 2:11 am

To me, the main thing lacking in SM is resume in the DL manager in-case you get timed out on a download, this has always been the case, even from early Navigator/Moz suite days - on Mac version anyway, don't know about the Widows version

As pause and resume have been part of the Mac O/S since OSX for system updates, I wish they would incorporated them into SeaMonkey's basic DL manager

Downloadstatusbar doesn't load into SM and I have to use an external DL manager.
Mac Pro 3.1 - OsX 10.10.5 and Asus N61JQ i7 laptop - Win10

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted March 22nd, 2007, 5:11 am

woopie49 wrote:To me, the main thing lacking in SM is resume in the DL manager in-case you get timed out on a download, this has always been the case, even from early Navigator/Moz suite days - on Mac version anyway, don't know about the Widows version
You could always install DownThemAll for SeaMonkey.

Phil

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20647
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 22nd, 2007, 8:04 am

Or the use of FlashGot in conjunction with an actual Download Manager would work in many situations.

Does FF support resume (without an extension)?
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

woopie49
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 21st, 2007, 2:22 am
Location: I'm in the land DownUnder

Post Posted March 22nd, 2007, 11:20 am

Thankyou both for the links, I'll try both and see which one is best for me

.... not sure if FF supports resume natively, only mucked around with it a bit, my pref is SM, actually since Nav 3.1 if I remember correctly.

Thax again - Ron
Mac Pro 3.1 - OsX 10.10.5 and Asus N61JQ i7 laptop - Win10

Return to SeaMonkey Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest