MozillaZine

Useragent string

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
fixit7
 
Posts: 150
Joined: May 19th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Post Posted February 21st, 2019, 3:37 pm

I have to spoof my useragent to use Yahoo mail.

I use this. I can read my mail but can not delete emails.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:64.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/64.0

Is there a fix other than using FF?

Is there a way I can see which useragent the my Firefox 65.0 is sending?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19892
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 22nd, 2019, 5:31 am

Are you using the "new" or "classic" Yahoo Mail?

Google knows all, https://www.google.com/search?q=what+is ... unofficial.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

fixit7
 
Posts: 150
Joined: May 19th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2019, 6:19 am

New mail.

Yahoo won't even let me use the old mail when I click on it?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19892
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 22nd, 2019, 6:28 am

Try spoofing your UA to something "odd".
I think it was an old Pale Moon UA that allowed my brother to go back to "classic".

So maybe something like: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:4.1) Goanna/20170101 PaleMoon/28.4.0


Disabling JavaScript may help too.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

fixit7
 
Posts: 150
Joined: May 19th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2019, 7:47 am

I tried it. No luck.
It's frustrating when sites only allow certain browsers to work.

Seamonkey is almost identical to Firefox with the same amount of security.

Disabling javascript did not help.

I just found out that SM does not work on my bank sites, so I have no choice but to just use Firefox.

Ztruker

User avatar
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 1:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, Fl

Post Posted March 9th, 2019, 7:52 pm

This is what I use for Yahoo and it works for me (so far):

general.useragent.override.yahoo.com;Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0
Rich
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19892
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 10th, 2019, 5:49 am

On my brothers end, so far, he's been able to successfully change between Classic & New - using YT's own settings.

He hates New - unable to open individual emails into their own tab.
But needs to use it when forwarding html emails (where Classic breaks formatting).


Thinking about it, he also is probably spoofing his UA too, & maybe that helps facilitate that change being allowed & being effected.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

fixit7
 
Posts: 150
Joined: May 19th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Post Posted March 10th, 2019, 2:22 pm

Ztruker wrote:This is what I use for Yahoo and it works for me (so far):

general.useragent.override.yahoo.com;Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0


Did not work for me. What version of Seamonkey do you use?

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2470
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted March 11th, 2019, 7:38 am

fixit7 wrote:
Ztruker wrote:This is what I use for Yahoo and it works for me (so far):

general.useragent.override.yahoo.com;Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0


Did not work for me. What version of Seamonkey do you use?

    Image Are you blind or something?

    Code: Select all
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.4



    Image








    Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20190804 SeaMonkey/2.49.5
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20190817 SeaMonkey/2.53

fixit7
 
Posts: 150
Joined: May 19th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2019, 10:43 am

ElTxolo wrote:
fixit7 wrote:
Ztruker wrote:This is what I use for Yahoo and it works for me (so far):

general.useragent.override.yahoo.com;Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/60.0


Did not work for me. What version of Seamonkey do you use?

    Image Are you blind or something?

    Code: Select all
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/52.0 SeaMonkey/2.49.4



    Image

    No reason for being rude.

    You may be spoofing yours.






    Image

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20347
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 11th, 2019, 11:44 am

fixit7 wrote:No reason for being rude.

You may be spoofing yours.

Image Are you daft or something?



Code: Select all
Your reply is embedded within someone else's quote.






Image
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Ztruker

User avatar
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 1:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, Fl

Post Posted March 11th, 2019, 12:36 pm

No spoofing, the UA string shown is the real thing.
Rich
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest