MozillaZine


Address Book Hiccup

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted January 23rd, 2022, 10:43 am

Okay, I'll try that. How do know which of the individual address books is what I just imported and which were already there (I don't see any way to rename these)?
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125421
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 23rd, 2022, 10:54 am

Right click on the name of the address book (in the Address book window) and select "Properties" from the context menu, then change the names.

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted January 23rd, 2022, 12:06 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Delete the corrupted address books. That would leave you with just the imported address books.


Okay, Dan, I did that. And the problem still persists just as before.

I suspect that if something is corrupted, then it is the whole Address Book folder.

Any ideas, anyone?
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

Rob_S
 
Posts: 771
Joined: December 13th, 2007, 8:54 am
Location: Vancouver Island BC

Post Posted January 23rd, 2022, 2:43 pm

Address books are stored in the root of your profile folder, usually

- C:\Users\your name\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\SeaMonkey\Profiles\xxxxxxxxx.default

in separate files for each address book that you have, named:

- abook.mab, abook-1.mab, etc

The assumption is that one of these files is corrupted.

Once you have successfully exported your address book(s), you could close seamonkey, and go in and "move" those "abook-*.mab" files someplace else, keeping them for backup.

Then re-open seamonkey, which should now have no address books remaining. Then try to re-import your exported files.

If that fails, you can always copy your old "abook-*.mab" files back in.

Bear in mind this advice may well be worth exactly what you paid for it. :D
-

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted January 23rd, 2022, 6:19 pm

Rob_S wrote: this advice may well be worth exactly what you paid for it.


Rob, thanks but that is more involved (and too scary) for me to try.

Maybe someone else will have a more simplified solution -- tje problem can't be that unique!?!

[EDITED TO ADD] I tried a Windows Restore to a prior restore point (before the problem occurred) and the Restore corrupted/ruined my system so it would not boot. It had to be reimaged and re-updated and miraculously appears to be functional again. So, I'm a bit gun-shy.
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest