MozillaZine

What does 'This site does not support your browser' mean

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
irwell
Guest
 

Post Posted July 21st, 2010, 12:39 pm

Is there a way around this?

amrad
 
Posts: 2037
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted July 21st, 2010, 3:02 pm

It means that the site's owner has decided not to support the browser you are using in the (usually mistaken) belief that it won't display the site correctly.

However, if you are using Firefox 3.6.7, I'm surprised that you are getting that message! Firefox is supported by the majority of sites. It may be that the site owner hasn't updated the site to support Firefox 3.6.7 yet, as it has only just been released.

irwell wrote:Is there a way around this?

There is, by changing the User Agent string to fool the site into thinking that you are using a browser that it does support, but that is normally only necessary if you are using SeaMonkey, or one of the other browsers that are not supported by some sites!

Can you provide the URL to a site where this happens?

Regards,

Dave.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 23rd, 2010, 12:35 pm

amrad wrote:It means that the site's owner has decided not to support the browser you are using in the (usually mistaken) belief that it won't display the site correctly.

However, if you are using Firefox 3.6.7, I'm surprised that you are getting that message! Firefox is supported by the majority of sites. It may be that the site owner hasn't updated the site to support Firefox 3.6.7 yet, as it has only just been released.

irwell wrote:Is there a way around this?

There is, by changing the User Agent string to fool the site into thinking that you are using a browser that it does support, but that is normally only necessary if you are using SeaMonkey, or one of the other browsers that are not supported by some sites!

Can you provide the URL to a site where this happens?

Regards,

Dave.

Thanks Dave, it is OK with Firefox, just with Seamonkey it will not
update or show the Forum's images.
http://www.dpreview.com/
Last edited by LoudNoise on July 23rd, 2010, 1:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Replaced a link that had looked like spam.

amrad
 
Posts: 2037
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted July 23rd, 2010, 3:15 pm

Guest wrote:Thanks Dave, it is OK with Firefox, just with Seamonkey it will not
update or show the Forum's images.
http://www.dpreview.com/

Works OK for me, and I didn't get the: This site does not support your browser message even with the normal User Agent string!

Go to: Edit | Preferences | Privacy & Security | Images

and ensure that Do not load any images is unchecked.

Regards,

Dave.

irwell
Guest
 

Post Posted July 23rd, 2010, 3:59 pm

amrad wrote:
Guest wrote:Thanks Dave, it is OK with Firefox, just with Seamonkey it will not
update or show the Forum's images.
http://www.dpreview.com/

Works OK for me, and I didn't get the: This site does not support your browser message even with the normal User Agent string!

Go to: Edit | Preferences | Privacy & Security | Images

and ensure that Do not load any images is unchecked.

Regards,

Dave.

I have done that Dave, another thing it will Update if I Press the Reload
button, but will not display My Personal Images in the Gallery like it will
on Firefox.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 23rd, 2010, 4:04 pm

irwell wrote:
amrad wrote:
Guest wrote:Thanks Dave, it is OK with Firefox, just with Seamonkey it will not
update or show the Forum's images.
http://www.dpreview.com/

Works OK for me, and I didn't get the: This site does not support your browser message even with the normal User Agent string!

Go to: Edit | Preferences | Privacy & Security | Images

and ensure that Do not load any images is unchecked.

Regards,

Dave.

I have done that Dave, another thing it will Update if I Press the Reload
button, but will not display My Personal Images in the Gallery like it will
on Firefox.


Another question Dave. My Seamonkey is version 2.0.6
and my Firefox is version 3.6.7, how show I make the useragent string read
in the about:config?

amrad
 
Posts: 2037
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted July 24th, 2010, 4:41 am

Guest wrote:Another question Dave. My Seamonkey is version 2.0.6
and my Firefox is version 3.6.7, how show I make the useragent string read
in the about:config?

I use Firefox 3.5 with Seamonkey 2.0.6 which seem to work OK. I'm not sure if that's the correct 'equivalent' version, though. I did a search to try to find out but without any luck.

In about:config, enter general.useragent in the Filter box, then, in the preferences pane, right click anywhere and select New String. In the box that opens type general.useragent.extra.seamonkey2 and click OK. In the second box type Like Firefox/3.5 (you can substitute any other word(s) for 'Like' if you wish) and click OK. You won't see the change in about:config until you refresh it.

I hope that helps.

Regards,

Dave.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest