MozillaZine

UserAgent Site Specific Overrides

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
TPR75
 
Posts: 767
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted January 23rd, 2013, 2:01 pm

I don't like Firefox so I don't want to send info about such browser to the world (in "useragent" string).

Unfortunately some pages I must use are set to cooperate with "firefox" and IE only. I've managed with this:
1) by setting "general.useragent.site_specific_overrides" to TRUE (AFAIR it was default),
2) and adding "general.useragent.override.[site_address]" with value "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:18.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/18.0 SeaMonkey/2.15.1".

Simple but effective... but it "should" be changed with every new version of SeaMonkey.
Is it possible to input some "variable" that will set current/present "useragent" string with "Firefox" entry?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19951
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 23rd, 2013, 5:43 pm

1) yes, true is default. (if it were not, it would be displayed in bold)

So you're saying what? You want to use variables, or have it variable, such that SeaMonkey 2.16 would show:

> "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:19.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/19.0 SeaMonkey/2.16

Don't know if there's a way to do that or not?
Only recently became aware of site specific & have only tried it at vk where I've been having issues downloading of late (but thinking now it is to do with my download manager & not the browser).

> general.useragent.override.vk.com;Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/5.0)

Suppose something like that could work, if the back-end support for it is or where there.

Examples that do similar:

> extensions.blocklist.detailsURL;https://www.mozilla.com/%LOCALE%/blocklist/
> copyurlplus.menus.1.copy;[url=%URL%]%SEL%[/url]

In the latter case, I'm sure Mozilla doesn't know what %URL% or %SEL% are, but the copyurlplus extension was programed to use those variables. If a %geckoversion% existed, then it would be a simple matter of just using that.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TPR75
 
Posts: 767
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted January 24th, 2013, 1:37 pm

I don't want to install additional extensions so I'll stick to good old "copy/paste" with every update... and maybe with every "migration" between my computers with different systems... ;-)

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2013, 9:50 am

TPR75 wrote:I don't like Firefox so I don't want to send info about such browser to the world (in "useragent" string).

Unfortunately some pages I must use are set to cooperate with "firefox" and IE only. I've managed with this:
1) by setting "general.useragent.site_specific_overrides" to TRUE (AFAIR it was default),
2) and adding "general.useragent.override.[site_address]" with value "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:18.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/18.0 SeaMonkey/2.15.1".

Simple but effective... but it "should" be changed with every new version of SeaMonkey.
Is it possible to input some "variable" that will set current/present "useragent" string with "Firefox" entry?

I have turned ON "advertise as firefox" permanently as many sites simply refuse to allow SeaMonkey through

Diamanti
 
Posts: 707
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2013, 2:30 pm

I tried with FF18:
user_pref("general.useragent.site_specific_overrides",true)
user_pref("general.useragent.override.whatsmyip.org","Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/5.0")

but not work, why?

vazhavandan
 
Posts: 739
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 8:27 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2013, 7:14 pm

Your string seems to be wrong. you can get full list here http://techpatterns.com/forums/about304.html
consider using http://chrispederick.com/work/user-agent-switcher/

TPR75
 
Posts: 767
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted January 27th, 2013, 3:10 am

Diamanti wrote:I tried with FF18:
user_pref("general.useragent.site_specific_overrides",true)
user_pref("general.useragent.override.whatsmyip.org","Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/5.0")

but not work, why?


What do you mean by "not work"? Can you see default Firefox useragent only? Actually site with "information about you" should display any string you input.

Try here:
http://www.useragentstring.com/
List of useragents here:
http://www.useragentstring.com/pages/us ... string.php
For Internet Explorer:
http://www.useragentstring.com/pages/In ... 0Explorer/

BTW If it's not typo in your post then you should have:
Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/5.0)
instead of:
Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/5.0")
But it still should be displayed on e.g.:
http://www.whatsmyip.org/more-info-about-you/

EDIT: Close Firefox and edit "prefs.js" file only (if you can't run "about:config").

Diamanti
 
Posts: 707
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted January 27th, 2013, 4:47 am

I have solved.
I have missing ";" in the end line.

again:
i have, f.e.:
general.useragent.override
setted to
"Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/5.0)"

to it is possible to set:
general.useragent.override.whatsmyip.org
to default user agent?

TPR75
 
Posts: 767
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted January 28th, 2013, 1:40 am

Diamanti wrote:to it is possible to set:
general.useragent.override.whatsmyip.org
to default user agent?


Delete string for "general.useragent.override.whatsmyip.org" and it will use default UA... or delete whole line in "prefs.js".

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests