MozillaZine

Firefox & Thunderbird Add-on Converter for SeaMonkey

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
DN123ABC
 
Posts: 251
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2017, 12:05 pm

ndebord wrote:Lightning 5.1b1 refused to load in SeaMonkey 2.46, however when I downloaded it and ran it through the extension converter, it loaded and runs just fine. Not a clue why the dif.



tonymec wrote:
ndebord wrote:Lightning 5.1b1 refused to load in SeaMonkey 2.46, however when I downloaded it and ran it through the extension converter, it loaded and runs just fine. Not a clue why the dif.

Lightning is a binary extension, you should use only the Lightning version built from the exact same Gecko (and XPCOM) version as the mailer. If you can lay hands on a SeaMonkey built "with Calendar" (as the current trunk builds are), you should use it together with the Lightning that came with it (and which installs as APPDIR/extensions/{e2fda1a4-762b-4020-b5ad-a41df1933103}/, next to the built-in themes), not with any older — or newer — Lightning version in your profile.



Wait, isn't Lightning automatically installed in Seamonkey now?

Bug 516026 - Integrate Lightning Into SeaMonkey by Default and Ship SeaMonkey with Lightning Enabled (edit)

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=516026

Tracking Flags: (edit)
status-seamonkey2.44: fixed
status-seamonkey2.45: fixed
status-seamonkey2.46: fixed

tonymec

User avatar
 
Posts: 703
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 2:58 am
Location: Schaerbeek (near Brussels, Belgium)

Post Posted January 25th, 2017, 1:33 pm

I didn't check the tracking flags. I know it is fixed for 2.50 a1/a2 and the new 2.51a1 (the latter not yet available for other than Windows as of this writing AFAICT). I didn't know the fix had been backported to other branches.
Best regards,
Tony

frg
 
Posts: 381
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted January 26th, 2017, 11:21 am

>> Wait, isn't Lightning automatically installed in Seamonkey now?

In theory yes and it is in the nightly and aurora versions. But because of a different bug with l10n building and add-ons we were unable to do so for 2.46. The bug will likely also not be fixed for the upcoming 2.48.

FRG

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 251
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2017, 12:39 pm

Yet it says: status-seamonkey2.46: fixed right in the bug!

??

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19310
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted January 26th, 2017, 1:15 pm

DN123ABC wrote:Yet it says: status-seamonkey2.46: fixed right in the bug!

Wait, try reading what people write in reply to you. Wait -

But because of a different bug with l10n building and add-ons we were unable to do so for 2.46.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 251
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2017, 1:50 pm

Frank Lion wrote:
DN123ABC wrote:Yet it says: status-seamonkey2.46: fixed right in the bug!

Wait, try reading what people write in reply to you. Wait -

But because of a different bug with l10n building and add-ons we were unable to do so for 2.46.


So, shouldn't they have taken that out of the bug then? What am I missing?

barbaz
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted January 26th, 2017, 2:17 pm

DN123ABC wrote:What am I missing?

You're missing that the reason Lightning isn't included is because of a DIFFERENT bug.

The bug you linked is fixed in 2.46. I do my own SeaMonkey builds, and I now use a special build time switch to not build Lightning.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 251
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2017, 8:04 am

So, you are saying Lightning is included and installed as default for 2.46, but that is actually broken because of a different bug? Should Bug 516026 be reopened then, with a dependency on fixing your bug? What is that bug number?

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19310
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 1st, 2017, 8:23 am

barbaz wrote:You're missing that the reason Lightning isn't included is because of a DIFFERENT bug.

DN123ABC wrote:So, you are saying Lightning is included and installed as default for 2.46
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 200
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2017, 9:51 am

Lightning was supposed to be included, but they had to leave it out, along with DOM Inspector and Chatzilla. But all 3 can be installed from AMO, I think.

Pixel789
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 25th, 2017, 8:27 am

Post Posted February 25th, 2017, 10:49 am

I used this to convert a couple of extensions.

these extensions just worked after conversion.
(not listed in the official list)


firefox2bash
google privacy
hack the web
menu wizard
request policy continued
smart referrer
tamper data
tamper data icon redux
umatrix
vlc youtube shortcut

Special conversion option

Characterizer (When converting, uncheck "replace shortcuts for Components" or the conversion will actually brake it. With that option off, the extension works fine)

alternatives

menu icon plus (better use CuteButtons, better compatibility with SM menus)
google pop up translators (the pop up translation didn't work in all the translators i tested, but that's the killer usage for me, so i installed this greasemonkey script instead)
Google Translator Tooltip Expanded Fork
https://greasyfork.org/scripts/16204/

Hacky

japanizer
The UI is totally broken, but you can still use it. It's option still work in about:config . After you changed an option, you need to disable then re enable japanizer, in the addon manager, for the changes to take effect.
You can further test how it works in firefox, don't click preferences there, it's buggy, then some clicks will be blocked.

The relevant options

extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.show_romaji
(obvious)
extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.show_kanji
(obvious)
extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.show_kana
(obvious)

extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.selected_dicts
(to add dictionaries, you save them in "extensions/addon@japanizer.firefox/data"
In the value field: use the names of the dictionaries you want, replace "_" with a space, and separate the entries with a coma ",".
For example "Genki II Vocab,default")

extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.sdk.load.reason
(when it starts, haven't played with it to see other options)

extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.limit
(the max limit of how many words it will process)

extensions.addon@japanizer.firefox.exceptions
(where it shouldn't work, entries separetaed by ";"
Example: "*.jp;forums.mozillazine.org")

These are not listed, but don't work

random agent spoofer (jetpack)
personal menu (australis)
perapera (no toolbar button)
more tools menu (empty menu)

These are listed in the official list, but have some small issues.

disconnect (the picture of the toolbar button is missing)
cookie monster (show cookies doesn't work, but not important)

4td8s
 
Posts: 569
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 11:48 am

Here's a Firefox addon that I may try to convert with the SM extension converter:

Click to Play per-element (visit this page with Firefox browser only)-
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/click-to-play-per-element/

this outta be a nice replacement for Flashblock

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8443
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Why do you need Click to Play per-element with SeaMonkey? Does it no longer treat plugin items individually? I changed the settings in about:config which control the activate and activate-and-remember anyway just to be safe, since that is what that extension does in Firefox.

plugin.persistentPermissionAlways.intervalInDays - set to 0
plugin.sessionPermissionNow.intervalInMinutes - set to 0

barbaz
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted March 28th, 2017, 7:36 am

Anonymosity wrote:Why do you need Click to Play per-element with SeaMonkey? Does it no longer treat plugin items individually?

It still does, at least in 2.49. The addon is not needed.
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

LewS
 
Posts: 122
Joined: January 28th, 2014, 2:18 pm

Post Posted April 2nd, 2017, 8:51 am

Close All Tabs (Reloaded) Version 2.3.1.1 works when converted.

It has options which allow closing all tabs and then opening the
home page.

Tested with SM 2.46 and 2.49 beta with macOS El Capitan 10.11.6

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest