MozillaZine

Firefox & Thunderbird Add-on Converter for SeaMonkey

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Lemon Juice
 
Posts: 784
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 9:41 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2014, 1:00 pm

patrickjdempsey wrote:No, 2.* is not accepted because it is not a valid version format.
[...]
However for local installs you can use whatever version you want.

This last sentence is the crucial one, AMO is irrelevant, local install is the only thing that matters here.
*** SeaMonkey — weird name, sane interface, modern bowels ***
Mouse Gestures for SeaMonkey/Firefox
Convert Fx and TB extensions to SeaMonkey

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted November 29th, 2014, 1:07 pm

TMK local installs have to follow the same format, but are just not limited on an upper bounds for versions.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Lemon Juice
 
Posts: 784
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 9:41 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2014, 1:20 pm

Yes, and 2.* is a version number that follows the same format - just like 5.*, 6.*, 31.*, etc. are valid formats for Fx even on AMO. And the docs don't say that * has to follow two literal numbers, it can follow one number just fine. It just happens that SM has a more conservative versioning than Fx and the format 2.* is not listed on the AMO acceptable versions page because it would include too much. The only important thing is that SM accepts it and I think it's very unlikely this will ever change.
*** SeaMonkey — weird name, sane interface, modern bowels ***
Mouse Gestures for SeaMonkey/Firefox
Convert Fx and TB extensions to SeaMonkey

hawk-lord
 
Posts: 17
Joined: November 28th, 2014, 5:00 am

Post Posted December 1st, 2014, 11:43 am

My own use case was that I ran the converted file through the AMO validator to check for errors and warnings, but I had to give it a valid version number to have it checked.
Per Johansson
Johanssons Informationsteknik

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted December 1st, 2014, 6:29 pm

Yes, because the AMO Validator is for extensions being uploaded to AMO which have to meet AMO's almost ridiculous standards. 99.999% of the things the Validator catches is stuff that really doesn't matter for local installs anyway. Like if you speak English does it matter to you if the extension doesn't have any localization files?
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Rollo_Tommasi

User avatar
 
Posts: 28
Joined: June 14th, 2014, 10:21 am

Post Posted December 6th, 2014, 5:54 pm

Another add-on successfully converted: Page Zoom Button
https://addons.mozilla.org/it/firefox/a ... m-buttons/

After conversion seem work fine in SeaMonkey 2.31, Debian GNU/Linux X86_64.

Also, as you can see in the add-on's page on AMO, the developer apologize for an odd behavior: "For some odd reason, this add-on currently requires an additional Firefox restart in order for the scroll zoom function (scrolling over the button) to work.
I have no idea why this is, I am looking into it, and I sincerely apologize."
Indeed after installing the add-on on Iceweasel 31.3.0 I had to restart the browser a second time in order to get the scroll zoom function available, but in SeaMonkey it wasn't necessary...
Maybe we can rename this thread as "add-on's fixer"? :D
Just joking.

Thank you very much, really.

:)

Lemon Juice
 
Posts: 784
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 9:41 am

Post Posted December 7th, 2014, 5:33 am

Good find! Most of the Fx zoom extensions I tried have problems working with SM but this one is perfect. And indeed there is some Fx peculiarity that a double restart is needed - maybe Fx is overdoing some caching mechanisms... I think the author should know that his extension actually works better in SM than in Fx :D
*** SeaMonkey — weird name, sane interface, modern bowels ***
Mouse Gestures for SeaMonkey/Firefox
Convert Fx and TB extensions to SeaMonkey

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted December 7th, 2014, 6:13 am

Yeah, think it's an XUL caching issue. They removed the pref to disable XUL caching when they built a new system for it, and it's a real pain sometimes to get changes in extensions to appear. I thought I was having a problem with that in SM yesterday but it turns out I was editing files from a different directory than I was installing from (I keep old versions in separate folders so I can go back and see my changes in case I break something).
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Rollo_Tommasi

User avatar
 
Posts: 28
Joined: June 14th, 2014, 10:21 am

Post Posted December 7th, 2014, 6:29 am

Lemon Juice wrote: [...] I think the author should know that his extension actually works better in SM than in Fx :D

Done.
I have just now sent to him an email, in my sloppy english...
Have a nice sunday.
:)

Diamanti
 
Posts: 707
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted December 7th, 2014, 8:03 am

When i trye console to bottom addon the copy menu item in the context menu is disabled.
Also if i open "chrome://global/content/console.xul]console.xul" in tab is disabled.
Do it is possible to renable it?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20006
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 7th, 2014, 10:25 am

> Most of the Fx zoom extensions I tried have problems working with SM

Zoomr also works.

(I don't actually run it through Add-on Converter for SeaMonkey but simply added a SeaMonkey section to install.rdf. Its 300ms delay was too quick for me, so I changed it to 900ms [in boostrap.js -> s/var holdTime = 300;/var holdTime = 900;/].)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Rollo_Tommasi

User avatar
 
Posts: 28
Joined: June 14th, 2014, 10:21 am

Post Posted December 16th, 2014, 6:53 am

Navigate Up 2.6 working after conversion.
https://addons.mozilla.org/it/firefox/a ... vigate-up/

I noticed just a small problem with the address bar and icons dimension.
Comparison: https://i.imgur.com/SUZorxf.png

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted December 16th, 2014, 12:22 pm

That's a default theme bug.... for some reason the SeaMonkey default theme is very very picky about the height of elements in the urlbar.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 18th, 2014, 7:43 am

patrickjdempsey wrote:That's a default theme bug.... for some reason the SeaMonkey default theme is very very picky about the height of elements in the urlbar.
Suggestion: Try squishing the Navigate Up button/image down to 16x16px?

Phil

Rollo_Tommasi

User avatar
 
Posts: 28
Joined: June 14th, 2014, 10:21 am

Post Posted December 19th, 2014, 9:13 am

Philip Chee wrote:Suggestion: Try squishing the Navigate Up button/image down to 16x16px?
Phil


Not working, at least for me.
I did try squishing the "navigateup-icon.png" from 32x32 to 16x16 and also stretching it to 32x16 but in both cases the address bar remains like this:
https://i.imgur.com/PhykPFi.png
Taller.
Don't know if I'm doing something wrong. :?

:)

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests