MozillaZine

SeaMonkey not recognized

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
lollarz
 
Posts: 10
Joined: July 18th, 2014, 4:05 pm

Post Posted May 28th, 2015, 5:10 pm

Some sites do not recognize SeaMonkey as a legitimate browser, or think cookies are not turned on when they are.

However, these sites do recognize FireFox. Can't the Mozilla people add a chingozzle or two to trick these sites into thinking it's FireFox?

Frank

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118030
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 28th, 2015, 5:47 pm

Moving to SeaMonkey Support as no bug has been identified here.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27116
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 28th, 2015, 6:29 pm

lollarz wrote:Some sites do not recognize SeaMonkey as a legitimate browser, or think cookies are not turned on when they are.

However, these sites do recognize FireFox. Can't the Mozilla people add a chingozzle or two to trick these sites into thinking it's FireFox?

Frank

Already does with the Firefox in useragent enabled in Preferences as your SM UA shows.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/36.0 SeaMonkey/2.33.1

Also SeaMonkey is not a Mozilla product but done by SeaMonkey community.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18016
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 28th, 2015, 11:20 pm

> Some sites

URLs ?

Have you contacted them?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TPR75
 
Posts: 601
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 12:05 am

lollarz wrote:Some sites do not recognize SeaMonkey as a legitimate browser, or think cookies are not turned on when they are.

However, these sites do recognize FireFox. Can't the Mozilla people add a chingozzle or two to trick these sites into thinking it's FireFox?


If default compatibility mode (you have it running) doesn't work then you can tune SM a little:
1) type "about:config" (without quote marks) in address bar and hit Enter key,
2) click Right Mouse Button anywhere and choose "New" and then "String"
3) type "general.useragent.override.[domain_name]" (e.g. general.useragent.override.adobe.com)
4) as a value enter User Agent of latest Firefox: "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:38.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/38.0"

Maybe it'll help a little.

therube wrote:URLs ?

Have you contacted them?


Please, don't be silly! They do not care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey. They don't want to have any problems so they're ignoring everything but most popular browsers (IE, Chrome, Fx).

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118030
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 4:28 am

They do not care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey.


On the other hand they can't care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey if they don't know that folks using that browser are having problems. Tell them about it but don't expect an immediate and positive response.

TPR75
 
Posts: 601
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 5:19 am

DanRaisch wrote:
TPR75 wrote:They do not care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey.


On the other hand they can't care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey if they don't know that folks using that browser are having problems. Tell them about it but don't expect an immediate and positive response.


I did it several times (for polish and other sites; including Google and Adobe.com). There where almost no response. Almost because once I've received reply with information: "We're supporting major browsers only. Sorry."

And I'm not expecting they'll made changes on their websites. I was hopping for lack of blockades: like e.g. "If it's not IE/Firefox then GTFO". If SeaMonkey can handle with such website using different User Agent only then for me it's some kind of blockade.

Why they doing this? IMO it's "support/help desk" thing. In their "Help/FAQ" section they don't want that many entires. It's matter of time and money too.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 5:27 am

TPR75-
You have an odd user agent
"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.33.1"
It should read "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101Firefox/36.0 SeaMonkey/2.33.1["

I am not certain how to fix that (someone here will), but it might solve the problem.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

-Px-

User avatar
 
Posts: 415
Joined: April 20th, 2011, 1:56 am

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 7:32 am

Edit - Preferences - Advanced - HTTP Networking - Advertise Firefox compatibility

TPR75
 
Posts: 601
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 8:12 am

LoudNoise wrote:TPR75-
You have an odd user agent
"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.33.1"
It should read "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101Firefox/36.0 SeaMonkey/2.33.1["

I am not certain how to fix that (someone here will), but it might solve the problem.


I've got CORRECT user agent for SeaMonkey. I'm not using "compatibility mode" to let them (webmasters) know what browser I'm using... ](*,)

For some websites with "stubborn/lazy" webmasters I'm using "override" option.
Last edited by TPR75 on May 29th, 2015, 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2755
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 8:15 am

DanRaisch wrote:
They do not care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey.


On the other hand they can't care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey if they don't know that folks using that browser are having problems. Tell them about it but don't expect an immediate and positive response.

It might also help to contact website owners and point out that Gecko is the rendering engine used by a whole family of Web browsers. If they sniff for Gecko rather than Firefox, they'll expand their browser support. There's information at Gecko is Gecko, though some of it is a bit dated.
But then again, I may be wrong.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18016
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 9:38 am

3) type "general.useragent.override.[domain_name]" (e.g. general.useragent.override.adobe.com)

That [.domain_name] does not work anymore, removed due to performance issues.

"general.useragent.override" (no .domain) does remain & can still be used.


They do not care about "small" browsers like SeaMonkey.

While they may not care, & I'm sure they do not, just by virtue of the that they are singling out SeaMonkey tells me that their sniffing, which they probably shouldn't be doing anyhow, is being done incorrectly. So if they can't even sniff correctly, what do you expect them to get right?

(BTW, Bank of America, Online Billpay, throws up a message - that you can just ignore, but does allow you to proceed.)
Last edited by therube on May 29th, 2015, 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 9:41 am

TPR75 wrote:
LoudNoise wrote:TPR75-
You have an odd user agent
"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101 SeaMonkey/2.33.1"
It should read "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:36.0) Gecko/20100101Firefox/36.0 SeaMonkey/2.33.1["

I am not certain how to fix that (someone here will), but it might solve the problem.


I've got CORRECT user agent for SeaMonkey. I'm not using "compatibility mode" to let them (webmasters) know what browser I'm using... ](*,)

For some websites with "stubborn/lazy" webmasters I'm using "override" option.


Fine. However, you problem likely does not have anything to do with OPs.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18016
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 10:43 am

That [.domain_name] does not work anymore, removed due to performance issues.
"general.useragent.override" (no .domain) does remain & can still be used.

Not entirely correct.

<barbaz> er, you actually can use "general.useragent.override.[domain]" in SeaMonkey and it'll work
<barbaz> i do it for {thissite} and {thatsite}
<therube> wonder if it is in later builds (2.37a) then where it no longer works?
<therube> perhaps still working in 2.33.1.
<barbaz> well, i know it works in 2.37a1 but maybe it doesn't in current Nightly. i'll go check.
<therube> no, that would be it then.
<barbaz> unless you're thinking of bug 1084475 ?
<therube> https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=933959
<therube> maybe only FF affected & not SeaMonkey?
<barbaz> that's what i thought, but i haven't yet loaded nightly into my dev/testing VM to verify this though.
<therube> OK, it does work in SeaMonkey, 2.33.1, general.useragent.override.useragentstring.com;abc123 gecko lives, this site: http://www.useragentstring.com/
<therube> don't have .37 to test on this machine.
<barbaz> well dang, it is broken in 2.38a1 :(
<therube> does not work in FF 38.
<barbaz> firefox turned it off since v 25, it still works in seamonkey 2.35 (and 2.37a1 too) but it's not working in 2.38a1 anymore.
<barbaz> i'm filing a bug.
<therube> i like that idea. but do note, that FF did remove it for the reasons i mentioned.
<barbaz> yeah, but seamonkey went out of the way to keep it... if they wontfix it then i know i'm on my own to implement an extension to revive it.


And the (SeaMonkey) bug, Bug 1169709 - Site-specific user agent overrides are not applied at all in SeaMonkey 2.38a1
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TPR75
 
Posts: 601
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted May 29th, 2015, 11:58 am

therube wrote:
That [.domain_name] does not work anymore, removed due to performance issues.
"general.useragent.override" (no .domain) does remain & can still be used.

Not entirely correct.

And the (SeaMonkey) bug, Bug 1169709 - Site-specific user agent overrides are not applied at all in SeaMonkey 2.38a1


So far works with SM 2.33.1:
http://whatsmyuseragent.com/

... but we're waiting for version 2.35 and bugs in 2.38 alpha (Linux version) should be fixed before release. Right?

EDIT:
Works for your site too:
http://vader.joemonster.org/upload/rqb/ ... 5_29_0.png

I hope it will be fixed. Some "my" sites needs IE UA. And I can't explain to government dudes that Gecko engine is far more common...
Last edited by trolly on May 29th, 2015, 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Images too large.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest