MozillaZine

SM loses DNS...

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
jeffw_00
 
Posts: 450
Joined: August 23rd, 2003, 3:23 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2016, 8:50 am

Hi - Since 2.39 I have a problem with SM: Every so often, in the middle of browsing the internet, SM suddenly says it can't find any webpages any more. (No pattern - iI could even be googling and then my next google search fails) If I exit it and restart it, everything's fine. Has anyone else seen this? Is there a fix?

Thanks!
/j

TPR75
 
Posts: 608
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted March 27th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Yeah, I've seen something like this... but I thought it was my slow internet connection...

jeffw_00
 
Posts: 450
Joined: August 23rd, 2003, 3:23 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2016, 2:05 pm

mine isn't slow

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 28th, 2016, 10:07 am

When it happens, does IE work?
Last edited by therube on March 28th, 2016, 10:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

jeffw_00
 
Posts: 450
Joined: August 23rd, 2003, 3:23 pm

Post Posted March 28th, 2016, 10:07 am

hmmm - good question - I -think- answer is yes - will double check and write back

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 28th, 2016, 10:09 am

Or does: PING http://www.google.com work?
If IE works (or in any case), check your settings; Edit | Preferences | Advanced -> Proxies.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

jeffw_00
 
Posts: 450
Joined: August 23rd, 2003, 3:23 pm

Post Posted March 28th, 2016, 10:10 am

"use system proxy settings"

TPR75
 
Posts: 608
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted March 28th, 2016, 11:29 am

therube wrote:Or does: PING http://www.google.com work?
If IE works (or in any case), check your settings; Edit | Preferences | Advanced -> Proxies.


"Direct connection". I've seen such behavior when several tabs were opened at once. Some tabs didn't load but after retry (sometimes more than once) it connected. OS's "ipconfig /flushdns" didn't helped much.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 29th, 2016, 10:27 am

network.proxy.type

Use system proxy is default.
Can't hurt to try Direct. (My current Profile is set that way, though either setting works fine for me.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 741
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted March 30th, 2016, 6:20 pm

jeffw_00 wrote:Hi - Since 2.39 I have a problem with SM: Every so often, in the middle of browsing the internet, SM suddenly says it can't find any webpages any more. (No pattern - iI could even be googling and then my next google search fails) If I exit it and restart it, everything's fine. Has anyone else seen this? Is there a fix?

Jeffw

Had similar, thought it was my wifi dongle... used IE 11 instead with no problems.

This with SM 2.40.



Thanks!
/j
-N-
Dell Venue Pro 8 5830, Windows 10 Home, AvastFree and Scotty is on Patrol
Dulce bellum inexpertis

jeffw_00
 
Posts: 450
Joined: August 23rd, 2003, 3:23 pm

Post Posted March 30th, 2016, 6:25 pm

ummm - thanks, but I'd prefer SM

TPR75
 
Posts: 608
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted March 31st, 2016, 10:32 am

False alarm (in my case) I think. It looks like obsolete/outdated Venkman did all troubles:
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=2997407&p=14560109#p14560109

jeffw_00
 
Posts: 450
Joined: August 23rd, 2003, 3:23 pm

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 11:59 am

Ok - it happened again, and all my other network services and browsers were still able to access the internet. This is really annoying and I hope it can be fixed soon.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118374
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 10th, 2016, 12:19 pm

Moving to SeaMonkey Support.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18177
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 11th, 2016, 7:40 am

What extensions are you running?
What antivirus (or similar) are you running that could interfere?

(Can't say I've run into DNS related issues in ages.)

Error loading websites
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest