MozillaZine

emails

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
mtwine
 
Posts: 73
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 11:21 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 6:44 am

For some reason I can't download any new messages. I've turned computer off and on, open and closed SeaMonkey several times with no luck. tx.

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16308
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 9:04 am

What, exactly, does or does not happen when you try to download new messages?

If you receive any error messages, what is the full text of the message? (You should edit out your email address if it shows in the error message.)
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10: FF 52.0 (32bit), TB 45.8.0║ Android 6.0.1: FF 52.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

mtwine
 
Posts: 73
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 11:21 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 9:16 am

when I click on "get messages" the line along the bottom reads "downloading 1 of 6 messages" and then nothing else happens. Then if I click on Get Messages again, nothing happens at all. tx.

TPR75
 
Posts: 549
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 9:23 am

mtwine wrote:when I click on "get messages" the line along the bottom reads "downloading 1 of 6 messages" and then nothing else happens. Then if I click on Get Messages again, nothing happens at all. tx.


Heh. Recently I had situation when I saw "Received 0 new messages" instead of "No new messages" (or what it is in English). Maybe it's just "echo" or "false ghost" of previous receive. Did you tried to login via browser to you e-mail account? Were there new messages on server?
Last edited by TPR75 on November 1st, 2016, 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

mtwine
 
Posts: 73
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 11:21 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 9:38 am

Yes, I logged in to my ISP and there were emails, no prob. I know I can get them there, but much prefer SeaMonkey. And I tried just again to Get Messages. It says it is, then stops. tx.

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16308
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 11:34 am

You may have a message on your server that is corrupted and/or malformed and won't download properly. If so, the TBird/SeaMonkey download fails when it tries to download that message and you get stuck there, as the program is not smart enough to then just jump ahead to the next message.

If you have web access to your mail account, try going in via your browser. Many times you can delete the problem message that way. The message may display okay there, but the headers could still be malformed. It should be the oldest message on the server that you have not downloaded to your system.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10: FF 52.0 (32bit), TB 45.8.0║ Android 6.0.1: FF 52.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

TPR75
 
Posts: 549
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 11:37 am

mtwine wrote:Yes, I logged in to my ISP and there were emails, no prob. I know I can get them there, but much prefer SeaMonkey. And I tried just again to Get Messages. It says it is, then stops. tx.


When you check every option (anti-virus blocking, new profile for test etc.) then ask your provider of e-mail service about problems with POP/IMAP (because web interface is working).

mtwine
 
Posts: 73
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 11:21 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 2:10 pm

That worked - thanks!

TPR75
 
Posts: 549
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 2:59 pm

mtwine wrote:That worked - thanks!


Great! But what?

Eakamai

User avatar
 
Posts: 166
Joined: April 17th, 2004, 12:18 pm
Location: Kingdom of Hawai'i

Post Posted November 1st, 2016, 5:57 pm

Aloha! :)
I agree... what worked?
We had this problem a few times and makaiguy method had worked but it took dealing with the web UI until we got it.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest