MozillaZine

Can't Get Browser Screen

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
murrysdad
 
Posts: 26
Joined: October 13th, 2011, 6:45 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2016, 10:07 am

My wife has an old XP laptop. Suddenly, Seamonkey seems to be loading but we never get a screen page to open. The hard drive keeps being accessed and the "task manager" shows Seamonkey is running and the CPU use is at 50%. If I stop Seamonkey from running the CPU usage goes down to 2%. Internet Explorer runs fine. I tried go back to an older version (2.25) it's the same.
Any thought would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks...

barbaz
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2016, 11:34 am

Does this problem happen in Safe Mode?

If that doesn't make any difference, what about a new, clean profile with all defaults?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

murrysdad
 
Posts: 26
Joined: October 13th, 2011, 6:45 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2016, 1:38 pm

Tried to start in "safe" nothing happened. So, I ran a full virus check. About an hour into the virus check suddenly SeaMonkey appeared in safe mode. I checked to see if there were any active plug-ins, only Java debugger and DOM inspector. I deleted adblocker one other.

I just shut SeaMonkey down, double-clicked and it it came right back in normal mode? I don't know if I did anything or it healed itself?
Thanks for the help. See what happens tomorrow...

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests