MozillaZine

Add-ons Manager - Window Instead of Tab ?

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
wpr
 
Posts: 132
Joined: April 19th, 2004, 5:24 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2017, 4:34 am

Is there any way to get the Add-ons Manager to open in a new window instead of a new tab? I haven't been able to find a setting for this.

Thanks for any help.

Andy Boze

User avatar
 
Posts: 2754
Joined: June 30th, 2005, 9:53 pm
Location: South Bend, IN

Post Posted February 14th, 2017, 7:04 am

Maybe this would be an acceptable work-around.

Create a bookmark for the Add-ons Manager. (Drag the AM favicon wherever you want in your bookmarks.) Then right click on the bookmark and select "Open in a New Tab".
But then again, I may be wrong.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2195
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted February 14th, 2017, 9:16 am

wpr wrote:Is there any way to get the Add-ons Manager to open in a new window instead of a new tab? I haven't been able to find a setting for this.
....

    :-k

  • Type about:config in the Address Bar and press Enter to display the list of preferences.
  • Ignore the warning message.
  • In the Search Bar, type:
    suite.manager.addons.openAsDialog
  • Right click on that value (suite.manager.addons.openAsDialog) and choose Toogle.
  • Now the right value should be TRUE (suite.manager.addons.openAsDialog;true)
  • Done!



    Image





    Cheers! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20170313 SeaMonkey/2.49
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20170323 SeaMonkey/2.51a2

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8384
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2017, 1:42 pm

I found that with the MR Tech Toolkit's themes toolbar button, the add-ons do open in a window. Since Toolkit has other buttons and does other things that are useful, it is a great extension.

wpr
 
Posts: 132
Joined: April 19th, 2004, 5:24 pm

Post Posted February 15th, 2017, 4:01 am

Thank you for your replies.

To ElTxolo:
The suite.manager.addons.openAsDialog change does open the Add-ons Manager in a new window, but I can't get it to remember to open maximized. If I click on the maximize button, close it, then reselect it, the screen reverts back to its original format, which is the width of the widest extension description (the descriptions are only one line); the action buttons are way to the right, requiring me to move the screen left many times; which is unacceptable. Does your Add-ons Manager also open this way?

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2195
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted February 15th, 2017, 8:51 am

wpr wrote:Thank you for your replies.

    You're welcome! :wink:
wpr wrote:... Does your Add-ons Manager also open this way?

    Yes. 1041x656 px :-"
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20170313 SeaMonkey/2.49
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20170323 SeaMonkey/2.51a2

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests