MozillaZine

Continuous Scrolling Document Crash

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2017, 10:07 am

Stop me if I've asked this before:

I just got a new computer and the SeaMonkey program crashes while scrolling through FaceBook, Tumblr, various blogs with continuous content.
It never did that with the old computer and now it does it often.
I was told it's not a RAM problem and I doubt ReadyBoost would help either.
Is it a coincidence that I got a new machine just in time for some buggy webpage coding and/or SeaMonkey iteration?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17188
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 7:36 am

about:crashes, last few related crash report URLs?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

frg
 
Posts: 340
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 10:46 am

Check if you new PC laptop or whatever has an Intel Graphics chip. Problems with these and like yours are reported regularly. Mostly Windows 10 but older systems are also affected. The Intel drivers there are just as bad :)

viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3024193

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2017, 11:52 am

Intel i7 chip with integrated graphics. Windows 7, special order. May have to get a graphics card?

Bummer!

I want my AMD!

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 9:47 am

HP has an updated driver for the HD 530, which I downloaded and installed.
I left the hardware acceleration on and got the black-out screens after a few minutes of continuous scrolling, as before.
The processor is the latest and greatest Intel i7, so why would they pair it with such a lame graphics card?
I'm going to shut off the hardware acceleration to put more duty on the CPU and less stress on the poor little 530.
And that did little if anything. The window for each tab goes solid black as well as the mail window.
I have to go to the icons on the bottom and shut the Seamonkey down and restart to return functionality.
Internet Explorer works fine...I tried to watch Saturday Night Live off the NBC site and got a black screen with sound.
I finally switched to Internet Exxplorer and had no issues, other than mandatory commercials.
I've never seen so many solid black screens...

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17188
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 10:20 am

About how much RAM are you using at these times?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

frg
 
Posts: 340
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 10:53 am

Latest driver is from May 3. Usually the vendor provided drivers are ages old.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downlo ... ows-15-45-

>> The processor is the latest and greatest Intel i7, so why would they pair it with such a lame graphics card?

Because it would cost money to even put a cheap dedicated Graphics card in. I bet the new low cost RX550 or GTX1030 will run rings around the Intel one.

FRG

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 11:28 am

[quote="frg"]Latest driver is from May 3. Usually the vendor provided drivers are ages old.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/downlo ... ows-15-45-

That's the one, newly offered on HP's update utility as well.
I can't find any info on it yet, but it did little for this issue...

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 11:33 am

therube wrote:About how much RAM are you using at these times?

How do I determine that?
It only has 4 Gb while my old one had 6...

frg
 
Posts: 340
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 11:36 am

Can you check the installed ram? Dual or single channel? If only 1 ram is installed its single channel and the old intel drivers didn't like this very much. My business laptop has occasionally white streaks in the picture that I bet are also caused by this.

Maybe also backup your profile and try Adrians latest 2.49.1. Should run much better than 2.46. Unless you run into the crash on mail compose bug but this one should be fixed soon :)

https://l10n.mozilla-community.org/~aka ... windows32/

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17188
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 11:41 am

> About how much RAM are you using at these times?

How do I determine that?

Windows Task Manager, Mem Usage & VM Size, or whatever Win7's TM may show.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 12:07 pm

I have 4 gigs RAM, where my defunct HP had 6GB.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17188
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 1:31 pm

(I wasn't looking for how much RAM your computer has, but how much RAM SeaMonkey was using when it went black.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 1:49 pm

I understand and was anticipating in lieu of being at that machine just now.
I'll follow your instruction, monitor and report back ASAP.

Johnfull
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 5:18 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2017, 11:58 pm

therube wrote:About how much RAM are you using at these times?


67% physical memory

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests