MozillaZine

back button popups

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted August 11th, 2017, 6:29 am

Hi all,
There seem to be a lot of sites out there that cause some sort of advertisement to pop up when I move my cursor to the back button (even before I click on it). Does anyone know of a way of stopping this?
Thanks,
........ john

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17518
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 11th, 2017, 10:01 am

URLs?
Might see if this has any effect on it, viewtopic.php?p=14753638#p14753638?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted August 11th, 2017, 4:42 pm

Hi therube,
Alright. I'll give that a try.
I'll let you know.
Thanks,
..... john

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted August 18th, 2017, 3:14 pm

Hi,
Well, removing the values from dom.popup_allowed_events did not resolve the problem. Any other thoughts?
.... john

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17518
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 9:37 am

URLs?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript


TPR75
 
Posts: 588
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted August 30th, 2017, 8:14 am


shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted August 30th, 2017, 8:55 am

Hi TPR75,
Thanks. I added ADB+. Are there any particular customizations that I should make?
...... john

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted August 31st, 2017, 1:30 pm

Hi,
I'm still getting popups. Is there a way of adding sites to the list, so I don't get them again?
Thanks,
...... john

TPR75
 
Posts: 588
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted August 31st, 2017, 2:14 pm

shakushinnen wrote:Are there any particular customizations that I should make?


I'm using custom set of filters (only!). Here are lists of filters triggered on mentioned five websites:

Code: Select all

||fonts.googleapis.com^$domain=~gog.com|~robertsspaceindustries.com
||googletagmanager.com^
||googletagservices.com^
||gravatar.com^


*adserver*$domain=~rapidshare.com|~signs.pl|~wabcradio.com
||rubiconproject.com^
*as.casalemedia.com/*
*scorecardresearch.com*$domain=~linkedin.com|~wikia.com
||optimizely.com^
||cloudflare.com^$domain=~mercedes-benz.pl|~marinetraffic.com
||openx.net^$domain=~photobucket.com|~wikia.com
||adnxs.com^$domain=~photobucket.com|~wikia.com
||criteo.net^
||googletagmanager.com
||googletagservices.com^
*google-analytics.com*


||jsdelivr.net^$domain=~wabcradio.com
||fonts.googleapis.com^$domain=~gog.com|~robertsspaceindustries.com
||gravatar.com^
*google-analytics.com*


||brightcove.com^$domain=~canon.pl|~gamesradar.com
||rubiconproject.com^
||amazon-adsystem.com^
||krxd.net^
||2mdn.net^
*google-analytics.com*
||googletagmanager.com
||googletagservices.com^
||cloudfront.net^$domain=~kickstarter.com
||fonts.googleapis.com^$domain=~gog.com|~robertsspaceindustries.com
*google-analytics.com*
*.gstatic.com*$domain=~google.pl|~google.com
[this one is required for Google Maps so you must enable exception for particular site if you want to see maps there]


||facebook.net^
||cloudfront.net^$domain=~kickstarter.com
||newrelic.com^$domain=~lexus-polska.pl
||sumome.com^
*ads.*.com*
*google-analytics.com*
||criteo.net^
||googletagmanager.com


I left some examples for sites where I don't want to use these filters. Some filters are older (from old ADB) and have different syntax (with * as wildcard) but are still working.

If you didn't installed some "google toolbar crapware" then it should help.

TPR75
 
Posts: 588
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 4:54 am

shakushinnen wrote:Any other thoughts?


... and check "Sript & Plugins" settings:

Image

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests