MozillaZine

Composer adds blank lines between </title> and <met

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
LynnInTX
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 9:41 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2017, 9:48 am

Hi!
I'm getting blank lines when I do the html edit / save in composer.
If I uncheck the " Preserve original source formatting" I get rid of the extra lines between the <meta> tags, but then composer re-formats my html. all my nice indenting disappears.
paragraphs get put on multiple lines so what used to be a two line paragraph becomes five.
<a href="xxxx etc" > tags get split into
<a
href="xxxx etc">
and blank lines get added into the link text.
Is there any way to get composer to leave the html alone entirely?
Last edited by DanRaisch on October 23rd, 2017, 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Posts split from a thread that died 9 yeasrs ago.

LynnInTX
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 9:41 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2017, 10:28 am

this answer may have provided a solution in the past but currently it does not.

Checking "Preserve Original Source Formatting" puts extra lines in <meta> area.
Unchecking "Preserve Original Source Formatting" puts extra lines in the html area. (also, reflows a href tags, link text, and paragraph content)
what can be done so that composer leaves the markup language and the content alone entirely?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17831
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 23rd, 2017, 4:46 pm

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

LynnInTX
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 9:41 am

Post Posted October 26th, 2017, 8:47 am

well, with the 'preserve original source formatting' checked, I am noticing random multiplying blank lines in the code (usually in the middle of the text for an a href link) and then there's random not formatting -- where I copy and paste in the html version of composer and all the blanks and tabs get stripped out.

as part of a workaround, would it be possible to simply call notepad as the editor? and if so, how? (from w/in seamonkey as opposed to opening it up outside SeaMonkey)

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 232
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted October 26th, 2017, 9:21 am

This extension I made might help (although you have to open the file in Composer first, then use the toolbar button.)
https://addons.mozilla.org/seamonkey/addon/composer-open-in/

LynnInTX
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 23rd, 2017, 9:41 am

Post Posted October 26th, 2017, 10:16 am

That will do! Thank you! (I did do a search just ... apparently stopped too soon!) thank you.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests