MozillaZine

IMAGES NOT SHOWING FROM EBAY

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted November 13th, 2017, 11:38 pm

This has nothing to do at all with SM 2.49 as it has been happening for a few years! It concerns Ebay images!

I have a Mac - SIERRA 10.12.6. When I get an e mail from Ebay and try to open it it won't show the photo from the listing so I usually copy the link and open it in SAFARI. However I wish I didn't have to take that extra step.

Does anyone know why this occurs and is their a way to fix the problem? I find it only happens in Ebay as when I get an e mail from another company like GNC, MACY'S, HOME DEPOT, WALMART, etc, etc, etc the opened e mail always shows the photo of the item.

On another note thank God they finally fixed the crash when an e mail is opened! This works fine now!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20459
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 1:12 pm

Are you blocking "dom storage" or anything like that?

Try Safe Mode.

As a test, create a new, clean Profile & see if you see images there.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted November 14th, 2017, 8:56 pm

Many thanks. I'll try this.

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 10:53 am

I've had this same problem with SM before but somehow I fixed it something like 3 years ago but for some reason today it has come back.

I use a Mac CATALALINA 10.15.6

For example, When I get an e mail from Ebay and try to open it it won't show the photo from the listing so I usually copy the link and open it in SAFARI. However I wish I didn't have to take that extra step.

Does anyone know why this occurs and is there a way to fix the problem? It usually happens in Ebay.

Thanks.

TPR75
 
Posts: 973
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 11:44 am

wwe wrote:I've had this same problem with SM before but somehow I fixed it something like 3 years ago but for some reason today it has come back.


Well. Update to latest SeaMonkey 2.53.3:
https://www.seamonkey-project.org/releases/
... and check eBay again.

If it will not work then try fix it again:
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3054792

If it's not the same problem then it could be ads blocker work with some script. If you're using such extension then check its filters.

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 12:59 pm

Hi

Thanks. Well I did download SM 2.53.3 and still the same. I went to that link you added

The crazy thing is that it's been working fine for years now!!

Under TOOLS. and under COOKIES / POPUP and IMAGE MANAGER what should I have checked? I have USE DEFAULT on all three!

What am doing wrong or not doing?

Thanks

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 1:45 pm

Hi again

Actually I also am having problems opening sites like tis:

https://www.discogs.com/es/Elvis-Presle ... se/6353663

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted July 29th, 2020, 7:16 am

wwe wrote:Hi again

Actually I also am having problems opening sites like tis:

https://www.discogs.com/es/Elvis-Presle ... se/6353663

    Image SeaMonkey 2.53.3 on GNU/Linux debian testing.
    Custom user agent Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20200628 SeaMonkey/2.53.3

    NO problem at all:


    Image










    Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20200628 SeaMonkey/2.53.3
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20200811 SeaMonkey/2.53.5

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 29th, 2020, 7:38 am

I can open DISCOGS when I copy the link and use SAFARI but NOT on SM. And still when I go here I can't open it on SM

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_sop=10 ... noapp=true

Again somehow the problem was solved a few years ago but just came back.

HELP!!

TPR75
 
Posts: 973
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 6:39 am

wwe wrote:I can open DISCOGS when I copy the link and use SAFARI but NOT on SM. And still when I go here I can't open it on SM

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_sop=10 ... noapp=true

Again somehow the problem was solved a few years ago but just came back.

HELP!!


"Few years ago" was in September 2019. But I understand this time dilatation caused by COVID-19... :wink:

Some people here (especially developers) can be mistaken with magicians but we're not wizard class engineers. User requesting help must provide more information at first and then cooperate. It's not our job - we're trying to help in our spare time. We have some knowledge and experience but we need more information.

Frank Lion prepared some "hints" for users who needs help:
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3062904

WWE, you're not rookie you've been here you did find solution for your problems:
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3054792
Did you tried to use that "old" solution? Yes/No? There is step-by-step what to do and last time it worked for you.

"Page doesn't load" can be many things:
1) nothing -> blank page
2) something missing -> e.g. pictures (like last year)
3) something doesn't work -> you're trying to click but there is no (positive) response
4) other...

This is what I can see (with scrolling, of course):
https://vader.joemonster.org/upload/rjz ... llpage.jpg

But we don't know what you can see (or not).

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 7:04 am

Thanks

Yes a few years ago was Sept 2019!! True

And yes I have tried everything you suggested FIRST before I posted this question again. I always do this as I always try to fix the problem myself before asking this site but when I can't do so I have to ask for your help

I have no idea why this has happened again. I have tried everything I have seen on your site but nothing works. This is what it looks like when I click on the link:

https://imgur.com/Uh36xsZ

Again I have no problem opening in SAFARI or CHROME but not in SM

Thanks.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 7:28 am

wwe wrote:.... I have no idea why this has happened again. I have tried everything I have seen on your site but nothing works. This is what it looks like when I click on the link:

https://imgur.com/Uh36xsZ

    Image

  • You may have blocked the images on the eBay page:

    Image
  • To view the images again, go to Tools > Image Manager >> Allow Images from This Website (.... or use Manage Image Permissions) Image

    Image













    Cheers!! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20200628 SeaMonkey/2.53.3
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20200811 SeaMonkey/2.53.5

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 8:19 am

Thanks but I already tried that the other day and it didn't work and I just did it again and still no images!

I went to MANAGE IMAGE PERMISSIONS but not sure what to do next. I did click on eBay.com and made sure it said ALLOW and added it but still no change. I even quite SM and opened it again and the ALLOW IMAGES I had clicked on before went back to the USE DEFAULT

I found this:

https://fruttenboel.verhoeven272.nl/linux/unresp.html

But that doesn't seem to help although maybe I'm not doing something right
Last edited by wwe on July 30th, 2020, 8:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

TPR75
 
Posts: 973
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 8:30 am

ElTxolo wrote:
You may have blocked the images on the eBay page:
https://imgbox.com/TBg7l89j

To view the images again, go to Tools > Image Manager >> Allow Images from This Website (.... or use Manage Image Permissions)


As you can read last year solution:
viewtopic.php?p=14845111#p14845111
... it is not obvious because eBay has images on different domain ("ebayimg.com").

@WWE
The same problem like last year. It can happen when user is too fast with right click and left click and instead of "View Image" you can block it:

Image

I did similar thing too but I realized pretty quickly and it was in the same domain.

Search Data Managed for "ebayimg" and check permissions for images.

wwe
 
Posts: 206
Joined: July 6th, 2015, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 8:43 am

TPR75

Damn! THANK YOU! This worked perfectly! I guess I was on the right track but I never ever thought of clicking on "eBaying".

Very weird but it works. I don't think that solution's ever been mentioned here (but I could be wrong!)

Thanks again!

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests