text doesn't appear immedately when typed

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
brynn

text doesn't appear immedately when typed

Post by brynn »

Hi Friends,
I've just had a problem where I when I type, like into a new forum message, but nothing is showing up. I look at the blank field, and I see the cursor is in there (not flashing). I click the mouse again, just to be sure, and then the text starts showing up. And it's showing up exactly as I typed it. Hesitation in the same places, if I backspaced and retyped, everything, just like I typed, except that it doesn't show up until after I click the mouse.

I was going to try restarting the whole computer. But since I'm new to SM, I thought I'd try just restarting the browser first. After restarting SM, everyting is working as expected. Seems to me like the problem is with the browser. But I have no idea what kind of info to provide for you, about this. It was happening in both SMF and phpBB forums. (Haven't opened my email yet today.)

My SM version is 2.49.1. Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit, Dell 15" Lattitude, Intel Core i7, 16 gb RAM, using external touchpad mouse. Actually the first thing I tried was reinstalling the mouse. But that didn't fix it.

Would you like a formal bug report? Or only if I can find a way to reproduce it? I have no idea what caused it - only that restarting the browser fixed it.

All best,
brynn
frg

Re: text doesn't appear immedately when typed

Post by frg »

SeaMonkey 2.49.2 was just released so you may want to upgrade.

If you can't reproduce it a bug report won't help. My bet would be a problem with the video driver. Intel s*cks and I have seen similiar problems with transparent text and corrupted fonts using older chips and drivers. Check if you find a new driver on the Intel website. OEM drivers from Dell and the others are usually outdated and the generic driver works better in most cases if later revision.
therube

Post by therube »

Theme issue?
Colors issue?
Zoom level issue?