MozillaZine

Homepage problem at seamonkey startup

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 5th, 2019, 3:09 pm

I'm using seamonkey 2.49.4 with Win 10.

I have a group of several pages for seamonkey to load at startup. The first page never loads (It's always about:blank). The rest of the pages load in tabs as expected.

I must have messed up a setting or something, but haven't been able to figure this out :)

Much appreciate it if anyone has any ideas.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19915
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 6th, 2019, 5:49 am

What does the value of the Pref, browser.startup.homepage, show?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2019, 11:23 am

therube wrote:What does the value of the Pref, browser.startup.homepage, show?


Thanks, here are the settings.

browser.startup.homepage;http://google.com/
browser.startup.homepage.1;https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
browser.startup.homepage.2;http://webmail.wildblue.net/
browser.startup.homepage.3;http://mail.google.com/
browser.startup.homepage.count;4
browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone;ignore

I have another older machine with seamonkey 2.40, using the same startup pages which works fine, so I'm thinking I screwed up a setting somehow. Also that mstone setting doesn't seem to matter whether it's default or ignore ... that's just how I left it after trying to get things working.

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2019, 11:26 am

Also, it doesn't seem to matter what I put as the first homepage, it just happens to be google from the last time I tried different web pages.

The first tab is always untitled "about.blank", and the rest work fine.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19915
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 6th, 2019, 1:31 pm

On my end, starting with a new Profile, I'm not able to make it fail.

File PREFS.JS:
Code: Select all
user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.google.com/");
user_pref("browser.startup.homepage.1", "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page");
user_pref("browser.startup.homepage.2", "https://webmail.wildblue.net/");
user_pref("browser.startup.homepage.3", "http://mail.google.com/");
user_pref("browser.startup.homepage.count", 4);
user_pref("browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone", "ignore");

user_pref("pref.browser.homepage.disable_button.current_group", false);
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2019, 2:04 pm

Thanks. I may just have to put up with it. I could try a new profile, but I don't know how to migrate all the bookmarks and settings to it.

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 7th, 2019, 1:13 pm

Hi again guys. Here's what I tried if anyone is still interested:

I tried making a new profile, and it worked fine! So, I copied the old profile folder content (except for the prefs.js file because I thought it was likely the culprit). I pasted it on the new profile folder and overwrote everything except prefs.js.

The problem is still here, so It must be some other file in the profile that's bad. I don't know where to look next unless someone has a guess.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19915
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 11:31 am

If you restart in Safe Mode?


Also note that you've managed to post here with two different SeaMonkey versions.
2.40, quite old, & 2.49.4.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 12:01 pm

therube wrote:If you restart in Safe Mode?

Also note that you've managed to post here with two different SeaMonkey versions.
2.40, quite old, & 2.49.4.


Safe mode was the first thing I tried ... didn't work.

I have SM 2.40 on an older machine and 2.49 on a newer one. The latter version is the one that's giving trouble.

Since my attempt at copying old profile stuff into a new one (except prefs) didn't help, I thought ; Why not use seamonkey sync to move one category at a time? But from reading, It seems the sync feature never worked in any version of SM.

It's a real puzzle.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19915
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 12:18 pm

Maybe sessionstore is affecting things?

(Assuming you don't need your Session Restore files...)
Exit SeaMonkey.
Rename sessionstore.bak & sessionstore.json to .bak.NOT & .json.NOT.

Start SeaMonkey & ... ?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

rdtom
 
Posts: 18
Joined: February 26th, 2016, 3:48 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 12:54 pm

Do you need a ".0" before the semicolon after homepage?

browser.startup.homepage;http://google.com/

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 1:40 pm

rdtom wrote:Do you need a ".0" before the semicolon after homepage?

browser.startup.homepage;http://google.com/


Dunno Tom. Config doesn't have a .0 in my older SM 2 .40 (which worked for many years), but it's something I'll put on the puzzle solving list. Thanks, and I'll definitely post back if it works.

@ The Rube ... I'll try altering the session store files later today after I finish some farm chores and post back. I'm just taking a break right now, but gotta get back to it :(

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19915
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 1:46 pm

No.
At least when I tried, what I posted (above) is what SeaMonkey set up when I told it to save the group of tabs as my home page. (Now, if there is a bug in SeaMonkey's code, that is something different.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 2:44 pm

therube wrote:No.
At least when I tried, what I posted (above) is what SeaMonkey set up when I told it to save the group of tabs as my home page. (Now, if there is a bug in SeaMonkey's code, that is something different.)


Rube, It is probably *not* a SeaMonkey bug. It's probably something I screwed up while trying to learn how to use Microsoft's new childish operating system (which tries to emulate a young person's apple telephone). Gawd, I wish they could get over apple and go back to making operating systems.

In SM Prefs, I had SM put the cache on a different drive. My 'new' computer is an aging dell 790 tower refurb, so I figured to keep extra stress off the aging SSD drive, until I can find a new one.

I did notice that SM put all the profile stuff in that cache folder on the E: drive, and that's fine, but does make it harder to figure out what is what.

Anyway, I don't think it is a SM bug at this point, but I am not much of an expert either.

Thanks for your help, and I'll definitely post when/if we find the solution to the crazy puzzle.

donm4599
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 5th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2019, 9:00 pm

therube wrote:Maybe sessionstore is affecting things?

(Assuming you don't need your Session Restore files...)
Exit SeaMonkey.
Rename sessionstore.bak & sessionstore.json to .bak.NOT & .json.NOT.

Start SeaMonkey & ... ?


I tried that, and it made no difference.

I notice that SM just made new session store files. Should I delete the old ones I renamed?

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests