MozillaZine

hyperlinks missing in Google search results

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Stereodoc
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 23rd, 2011, 12:34 pm

Post Posted October 27th, 2019, 6:36 am

When doing a Google search the results page comes up with the various search items minus the green hyperlinks. I'm running 2.49.5 with 2 profiles. This only occurs in one profile yet the links appear in the other profile. They also appear in Firefox. I don't know what I did to make them go away but would like them back.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122154
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 27th, 2019, 9:35 am

This only occurs in one profile

That points to a problem in that profile, possibly due to an installed extension. Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode using that profile? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Stereodoc
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 23rd, 2011, 12:34 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 3:05 pm

Dan,
Yes, same thing in Safe Mode. Also tried it with Add-ons disabled. No change.

kerft
 
Posts: 503
Joined: January 30th, 2019, 9:38 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 3:57 pm

Sometimes google sites work if you use a spoofed user agent. Perhaps the profile that works better is doing that? See here: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3056289

Stereodoc
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 23rd, 2011, 12:34 pm

Post Posted November 1st, 2019, 1:35 pm

Hi kerft,
I experimented with a couple of UAs as suggested in the link you provided but no change. I also used a couple of different UAs from a similar problem I experienced as some users had with the cursor being outside the google text box but again, no change.

It's no big deal if I don't see the links but it would be nice if they could be restored.

Thanks.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20475
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 8:46 am

Stereodoc wrote:It's no big deal if I don't see the links but it would be nice if they could be restored.

Might be unrelated, but I seem to remember that an IE UA string messed up those links. They were there but nothing happened when clicked. It goes way back when I was sorting out the Google searchbox using various UA strings.

Check in about:config for any existing general and site specific overrides?
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Stereodoc
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 23rd, 2011, 12:34 pm

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 6:33 am

I reset all the overrides for Google including the search box UA. Links still invisible. Of course the search box issue reappeared but I returned that to previous. There were several other strings in about:config for Google, I had no idea which to choose and modify.

I don't know what I could have done to make them disappear on this one profile. Usually if I make a change to anything it gets propagated to other profiles and PCs. Stumped.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122154
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 6:45 am

Are you referring to multiple profiles on one computer or multiple computers? If multiple, are all running the same extensions and security software?

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20475
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 12:35 pm

Stereodoc wrote:Stumped.

No idea now.

In your position, I'd be doing the following -

about:profiles > into profile and then exit SM. Rename the profile's prefs.js to prefsGOOD.js and then restart SM and a blank prefs.js is autocreated.

If the problem is still there? - if you really have eliminated all extension/theme possible problems, then do a new profile and transfer only the good stuff over, including * below.

If problem is not there? - *copy over mail account settings from old prefsGOOD.js to new prefs.js and forget about it. Then just add any prefs needed over a period (there are never as many as you think there would be.)

Not bother trying to fix the old prefsGOOD.js - I've done bi-section and all sorts and it takes ages. Quicker just to do above.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests