MozillaZine

'Allow' button doesn't do anything on version 2.53.1

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 800
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 8:49 am

Hi,
This is not a big issue, but it seems to be the case, at least for me. It lights up, when I put my pointer on it, but nothing happens when I click.
...... john

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122244
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 9:36 am

To what "Allow" button are you referring?

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 800
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 3:43 pm

Hi Dan,
Just below the Tabs bar there's a bar that says, "SeaMonkey prevented this page from automatically redirecting to another page." the 'Allow' button on the right side of the bar is the one to which I refer. I can dismiss the bar by hitting the 'X' but the Allow button does nothing, even though it lights up when I move the cursor over it.
.... john

frg
 
Posts: 805
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2019, 6:20 pm

Looks like fallout from backporting https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1414425

Timestamp: 10/31/2019, 2:13:12 AM
Error: NS_ERROR_XPC_NOT_ENOUGH_ARGS: Not enough arguments [nsIRefreshURI.forceRefreshURI]
Source File: chrome://communicator/content/bindings/notification.xml
Line: 288

A parameter is missing. I will try to fix it for Bills next build. Too late for the current one.

FRG

frg
 
Posts: 805
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted October 31st, 2019, 5:18 am

Tested and checked in for Bills next build today. Will file a bug in bugzilla later.

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 800
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted October 31st, 2019, 7:58 am

Good. I wasn't sure if it was a glitch in my system or ???
....... john

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 800
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted November 13th, 2019, 3:01 pm

Hi again,
Is there a way that I can disable this feature, i.e. the 'Allow' button?
...... john

TPR75
 
Posts: 807
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted November 13th, 2019, 4:04 pm

shakushinnen wrote:Is there a way that I can disable this feature, i.e. the 'Allow' button?


"Allow" for mentioned above redirecting?
Menu -> Edit -> Preferences -> Appearance -> Content -> unmark/uncheck "Warn me when websites try to redirect or reload the page"

Image

BTW Do you remember to check every day for latest SeaMonkey 2.53.1?
https://www.wg9s.com/comm-253/

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 800
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted November 13th, 2019, 4:21 pm

Hi TPR75
The one section I didn't look in 'Content'. That will teach me.
Thanks,
........ john

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20499
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 13th, 2019, 10:43 pm

shakushinnen wrote:The one section I didn't look in 'Content'

I wouldn't have thought to look there either.

For those who don't seem (like me) to have that line below that one in Content, about showing zoom controls in status bar - about:config > browser.zoom.showZoomStatusPanel > Toggle to true.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

frg
 
Posts: 805
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted November 14th, 2019, 1:22 am

Reminds men that I/we need to move browser.zoom.showZoomStatusPanel into the zoom options box.

Defdault off because we didn't know how older themes would take this. The pref is vaild for SeaMonkey 2.49.5 already but not exposed in the ui. Need to be set via about:config.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20499
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 14th, 2019, 5:33 am

frg wrote:Reminds men that I/we need to move browser.zoom.showZoomStatusPanel into the zoom options box.

...or, on by default and drag off to Customize Toolbar, if required. People are generally more comfortable doing that, instead of wading through Options.

I would suggest the zoom controls UI be extended to the Email and Composer statusbars as well...on the theory that a user's visibility problems are not going to change, depending on what part of SM they are looking at.

On the zoom UI, I think I would scrub the brackets and increase the font-size of the - and +.

frg wrote:Defdault off because we didn't know how older themes would take this.

Try them?

Old themes have trouble with new icons for new features. Here, it is just text.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 800
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted November 14th, 2019, 4:54 pm

I hadn't noticed that ..... zoom control in the status bar. Very convenient. I like it!
Thanks,
.... john

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests