MozillaZine

SeaMonkey not longer logging into hotmail... Windows XP

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 830
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 20th, 2020, 8:05 am

Hi,
This is not a call for help, only information. I just want to let the tech people know.
This morning I tried logging into Outlook (outlook.office365.com) and received the following notice ...
Something went wrong
We can't get that information right now. Please try again later.

I cleared my private data, all of it, and still recieved the message.
Then I tried Firefox and it got on without trouble. However, Outlook looks much different from how it looked a week ago, obviously they've changed the format of their page.
Oddly though, SeaMonkey mail has NO problem getting my mail from Outlook.
..... john

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122683
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 20th, 2020, 8:57 am

I have no problem using SeaMonkey to log into that site using a "work" email address but it rejects my personal Hotmail address. The error message is "You can't sign in here with a personal account. Use your work or school account instead."

Have you tried logging into www dot hotmail dot com?

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 830
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 21st, 2020, 7:59 am

Hi Dan,
Thanks for replying. Logging in via hotmail dot com did not work. I still get the same notice .....
"Something went wrong
We can't get that information right now. Please try again later."
By the way, why did you write the address 'dot' as opposed to '.'?
"a "work" email address" Please explain.
..... john

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122683
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 21st, 2020, 11:10 am

The “dot” was just to avoid making the URL a live link. As for the “work” reference, that’s from Microsoft so we’d have to ask them to be sure but I guess they mean a corporate account as opposed to a home/private account. How (and why) they distinguish between the two types I don't know. What type of account are you dealing with?

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 830
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 22nd, 2020, 10:01 am

Hi Dan,
It's an IMAP account, if that's what you're asking.
I tried it again this morning, with the same result; however, SeaMonkey mail and Firefox still log into it.
Thanks,
..... john

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122683
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 22nd, 2020, 1:00 pm

No, not POP vs IMAP. The question is Personal or Corporate.

I wonder if it’s just Hotmail not recognizing that version of SeaMonkey as valid.. You might want to update to 2.49.5 (if it works under XP) and try again.

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 830
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 22nd, 2020, 5:53 pm

Ah ..... personal
Well Dan .... you da man!! Updating to 2.49.5 did it. Thanks.
It also fixed my Kijiji icons not showing. Double thanks.
I wonder if the problem is my addiing change to the configuration settings (about:config) to speed up Seamonkey. Now that I recall, I think the problems with Kijiji might have shown, shortly after making those changes. Does the update inherit the same configurations as the version it replaces?
..... john
Interestingly, the Firefox page for Hotmail looks quite different than the SeaMonkey page.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122683
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 22nd, 2020, 6:08 pm

Does the update inherit the same configurations as the version it replaces?


Yes, it does.

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 830
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 23rd, 2020, 7:32 am

OK. Well then, the disappearance of my Kijiji icons is not due to the changes I made there. But I do suspect it's something I'm doiing. I never have that problem on an update. Only after a day or two. Of course, it could be changes that Kijiji makes. It's not a big deal anyway. I'll let you know if I figure it out.
Thanks again,
..... john

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest