MozillaZine

Lightning for Seamonkey 2.53.4

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
bhurter
 
Posts: 42
Joined: November 9th, 2007, 2:38 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2020, 9:09 am

I have two laptops both with Win 10 x64 and both with Seamonkey 2.53.4.

On one laptop, Lightning is working but it is not on the other.

I checked the latest release notes for Seamonkey 2.53.4 at https://www.seamonkey-project.org/relea ... key2.53.4/ and it says that the Lightning extension is included.

I downloaded the Windows x64 build from https://www.seamonkey-project.org/releases/2.53.4, uninstalled Seamonkey from the laptop where Lightning was not working and reinstalled Seamonkey. Lightning still does not work.

Can anyone tell me what I can try next.

Bob
Last edited by DanRaisch on October 8th, 2020, 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Move to SeaMonkey Support forum by moderator.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted October 8th, 2020, 10:17 am

bhurter wrote:... Can anyone tell me what I can try next.

    Check the SeaMonkey 2.53.4 release notes Image
    SeaMonkey 2.53.4 Release Notes: Known Issues wrote:
      • Lightning or one of the distributed extensions is not showing up or is disabled under Add-ons.
      If the extension is disabled and can not be enabled deinstall it. If it does not show up after restart do the following:

    • Enter "about:config" in the location bar.
    • Enter "extensions.installedDistroAddon" in the search field.
    • Reset the key of the extension not showing up using the popup menu with the mouse. If in doubt just reset all keys, but this might bring back previously uninstalled distributed Add-ons.
      Restart SeaMonkey.










    Cheers!! Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201115 SeaMonkey/2.53.5.1
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201120 SeaMonkey/2.53.6

bhurter
 
Posts: 42
Joined: November 9th, 2007, 2:38 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Thank you. Lightning now showing as an extension and is working okay.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted October 9th, 2020, 2:39 am

bhurter wrote:Thank you. Lightning now showing as an extension and is working okay.

    You're welcome!! Image


How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201115 SeaMonkey/2.53.5.1
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201120 SeaMonkey/2.53.6

jazei-AR
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 12:59 am
Location: Pcia. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted November 17th, 2020, 2:45 am

@bhurter please, could you explain step by step how to get lightning?
my sm is SeaMonkey versión 2.53.5 32 bits
lightning is not showing in menu bar>tools> add-ons manager menu (Ctrl+blockCaps+A) and in aboutconfig is:
Image
Thanks,
José
From Argentine, using Win 7 pro (pirated) 64 bit, 4Gb RAM, Browsers: mypal 32 bits, slimjet 32 bits, seamonkey 32 bits .
Chromiun Browsers uses a lot of RAM... (except sj) and my RAM is always going up to the clouds... closing tabs very often even the browser too to up RAM again.

hardys
 
Posts: 181
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2020, 6:32 am

{e2fda1a4-762b-4020-b5ad-a41df1933103} is the key for lightning

bhurter
 
Posts: 42
Joined: November 9th, 2007, 2:38 pm

Post Posted November 17th, 2020, 8:17 am

Hi Jose,

I did the following:

- Enter "about:config" in the location bar.

- Enter "extensions.installedDistroAddon" in the search field.

- Reset the key of the extension not showing up using the popup menu with the mouse. If in doubt just reset all keys, but this might bring back previously uninstalled distributed Add-ons.

To do this, right click on the file to get the popup menu and you will see a reset option. Click on reset. I did this for all of the "extensions.installedDistroAddon" files.

- Restart SeaMonkey.

Bob

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4506
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted November 17th, 2020, 8:21 am

jazei-AR wrote:@bhurter please, could you explain step by step how to get lightning?
my sm is SeaMonkey versión 2.53.5 32 bits

José


Sorry, not bhurter, but the instructions are here.

viewtopic.php?p=14874911#p14874911
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

bhurter
 
Posts: 42
Joined: November 9th, 2007, 2:38 pm

Post Posted November 17th, 2020, 8:36 am

WaltS48 - I believe that what Jose is missing is to right click on the key with the mouse to get to the popup menu to see the Reset option - this is not in the instructions at the link you gave which is what I followed. But, it took me a while to find out that I needed to right click.

jazei-AR
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 12:59 am
Location: Pcia. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted November 17th, 2020, 9:50 am

thank you all 3 helpers.
I didn't know what the key was (there are pure numbers, see my screenshot above), the key was given to me by hardys,
I reset it.... OK
I imported calendars
now, anyone colud sync. with Google calendar (holydays).... me find an error.
rEgards, José
From Argentine, using Win 7 pro (pirated) 64 bit, 4Gb RAM, Browsers: mypal 32 bits, slimjet 32 bits, seamonkey 32 bits .
Chromiun Browsers uses a lot of RAM... (except sj) and my RAM is always going up to the clouds... closing tabs very often even the browser too to up RAM again.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests