MozillaZine

Safeway stores(Safewy.com) does not support Seamonkey

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
write_again
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 2nd, 2015, 3:06 pm

Post Posted November 1st, 2020, 1:31 am

If I visit safeway.com with seamonkey and try to do a search:
Memory use climbs to over 1.1 gigs.
Seamonkey shows "not responding"
CPU usage increases.

If I disable Javascript for browser and do a search:
I get the spinning sticks.

IF I switch to FireFox, it works.

Seamonkey does work with Nob Hill/Railey's.
I suppose the easiest fix is not to shop online for food.

RDaneel
 
Posts: 498
Joined: January 19th, 2004, 2:43 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted November 1st, 2020, 3:44 am

... or just use a different browser for these [still relatively infrequent] "problem" sites (that's what I do for safeway.com, anyway). ;)

And that is after either exhausting attempts with the UA string, or just not wanting to go down that rabbit hole.
Last edited by RDaneel on November 1st, 2020, 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 768
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted November 1st, 2020, 7:27 am

safeway.com works fine for me, including the search feature. I do disable the scripts when that popup appears, but this not a problem.
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 899
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2020, 7:29 am

write_again wrote:If I visit safeway.com with seamonkey and try to do a search:
Memory use climbs to over 1.1 gigs.
Seamonkey shows "not responding"
CPU usage increases.

If I disable Javascript for browser and do a search:
I get the spinning sticks.

IF I switch to FireFox, it works.

Seamonkey does work with Nob Hill/Railey's.
I suppose the easiest fix is not to shop online for food.


write_again,

Same here. The site stalls SeaMonkey... memory quickly jumps up to way over 1 gig. Have to use Task Manager to close out SM and reboot the browser.

Nick
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
SeaMonkey(32bit), Acer Spin, Windows 10 Pro (X64 v1909), WinPatrol, MalwarebytesPremium & Avira

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 768
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted November 2nd, 2020, 7:37 am

I wonder why the difference. My memory usage jumps about 50MB when launching safeway.com and stays at that level when launching a search. I do click to stop the scripts when the popup appears.
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 2nd, 2020, 10:58 am

Safeway stores(Safewy.com) does not support Seamonkey

True.
Report it to them! (Though you'll need to use a different browser to do so ;-).)

They send me "coupons".
I tell them I can't use their coupons because I can't load them in their browser.
Therefore - I won't make my purchases at Safeway.

So their site uses, whatever crap (Google related probably), & it blows up SeaMonkey (probably Pale Moon too?), so guess what, I don't use them.

Anyhow, if you don't tell them, they're likely not to know.


PM: Safeway market website fails to work in Pale Moon
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest