MozillaZine

how uses RAM SM!!!

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
jazei-AR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 12:59 am
Location: Pcia. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted November 15th, 2020, 8:02 am

SM 64 bits uses a lot of RAM... It is like an actual Chromiun Browser (any of them..... choose your like) what a pity!!! I could set up Ad block Latitude but now I should delete SM like I did with others Chomiun. SM 64 bits is a Chromiun.
Image
I have only 4Gb of RAM and SM 64 bits uses 25%, I start with 25%, them other 25 % is used by SM.... what a pity. I shall testing SM 32 bits!!!!!
testing 32 bits.... now
Bye!!!
From Argentine, using Win 7 pro (pirated) 64 bit, 4Gb RAM, Browsers: mypal 32 bits, slimjet 32 bits, seamonkey 32 bits .
Chromiun Browsers uses a lot of RAM... (except sj) and my RAM is always going up to the clouds... closing tabs very often even the browser too to up RAM again.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2564
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted November 15th, 2020, 12:34 pm

jazei-AR wrote:SM 64 bits uses a lot of RAM... It is like an actual Chromiun Browser (any of them..... choose your like) what a pity!!! I could set up Ad block Latitude but now I should delete SM like I did with others Chomiun. SM 64 bits is a Chromiun.

    Image
    Read some more, and stop talking nonsense ... Image

    SeaMonkey 2.53.5 - Release Notes wrote:
      - Extensions (Add-ons) and Themes:
    • Adblock Plus 2.9.1 may cause huge memory and CPU consumption and is not recommended or officially supported in this SeaMonkey version. Consider switching to uBlock.


    :-k You have been advised, to install uBlock Legacy.
    And you finally (under your own responsibility) have installed that ABL ...




    Image



    Image



    Image











    Image
Last edited by DanRaisch on November 15th, 2020, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Minor edit for language.
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201115 SeaMonkey/2.53.5.1
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201201 SeaMonkey/2.53.6

jazei-AR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 12:59 am
Location: Pcia. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted November 26th, 2020, 10:09 am

ElTxolo wrote: :-k You have been advised, to install uBlock Legacy.
And you finally (under your own responsibility) have installed that ABL ...

Image

Image

Image

Image[/list]

But I do not use ABP I use adblock latitude converted.... so I invite you to test it and tell us about how memory it use! It is an important data!!! "!!!! !"!!!!!!
ABLatitude: adblocklatitude@addons.palemoon.org.xpi
convert it and try and test

Image
jazei-AR wrote:I could install adblock latitude by your convert, Thank you developer
I searched .xpi in my PC (adblocklatitude@addons.palemoon.org.xpi) and then converted it fine!!!!
Image
From Argentine, using Win 7 pro (pirated) 64 bit, 4Gb RAM, Browsers: mypal 32 bits, slimjet 32 bits, seamonkey 32 bits .
Chromiun Browsers uses a lot of RAM... (except sj) and my RAM is always going up to the clouds... closing tabs very often even the browser too to up RAM again.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2564
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted November 26th, 2020, 2:23 pm

jazei-AR wrote:But I do not use ABP I use adblock latitude converted....

    Image uBlock Origin can block malware, spyware, trackers, analytics software, popups, scripts, iframes, CSS, and images ....

    • Adblock Latitude is a direct fork of Adblock Plus made specifically for the Pale Moon and Basilisk browsers.


    So, wtf am I going to waste my time, with that ABP bull ....?? Image











    Image
Last edited by LIMPET235 on November 29th, 2020, 6:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Some slight text editing....
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201115 SeaMonkey/2.53.5.1
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20201201 SeaMonkey/2.53.6

Rob_S
 
Posts: 707
Joined: December 13th, 2007, 8:54 am
Location: Vancouver Island BC

Post Posted November 27th, 2020, 11:42 am

I have also found that seamonkey 64bit uses lots of ram, more than previously.

It definitely depends on what web pages have been visited, and how many large mail accounts have been opened.

It does not always free up this memory unless it is closed and re-opened. Right now with a fresh open and just this site I am at 260mb

Opened a few mail boxes, up to 312. closed mail window, back down to 285. Open fox news website and it rapidly climbs over 1 GB.

Close fox news and it has come back down to 317. So watch what web-sites cause it to go way up....

jazei-AR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 12:59 am
Location: Pcia. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted November 27th, 2020, 3:25 pm

Rob_S wrote:I have also found that seamonkey 64bit uses lots of ram, more than previously.

It definitely depends on what web pages have been visited, So watch what web-sites cause it to go way up....
Thank you Rob_S it is the type of text that I like to read
yeahhhhhh Rob_S it is right!!!!! for ex. tumblr.com or flickr.com or newtumbl.com can spend 800Mb in 15 min. showing pics.
I too close and reopen browser for free mem.... think about slimjet 32 bits an Excelent browser.. it has a free memory built in. I setted free every 5 min. and it works so well. sm does not do that.
Last edited by jazei-AR on November 29th, 2020, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
From Argentine, using Win 7 pro (pirated) 64 bit, 4Gb RAM, Browsers: mypal 32 bits, slimjet 32 bits, seamonkey 32 bits .
Chromiun Browsers uses a lot of RAM... (except sj) and my RAM is always going up to the clouds... closing tabs very often even the browser too to up RAM again.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39315
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 29th, 2020, 2:43 am

jazei-AR...

Why are you introducing "religious references" into this thread, especially in regards to one particular person who has tried to assist you?

Please do not do that. If you persist in doing this...then you will get a warning.
After that....who knows!

For ref; > faq.php?mode=rules#f4r9

Thank you.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20856
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 29th, 2020, 5:47 am

Rob_S wrote:I have also found that seamonkey 64bit uses lots of ram, more than previously.

Don't use it and use the 32bit version instead?

Will not stop 'Fox News' type JS spikes, but it seems pretty good at avoiding the general RAM buildups.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Rob_S
 
Posts: 707
Joined: December 13th, 2007, 8:54 am
Location: Vancouver Island BC

Post Posted November 29th, 2020, 10:53 am

Thanks, Frank.

I did not actually say this was a big problem for me at this time. I hardly ever feel the urge to read fox news.

I was merely trying to confirm for the OP that what he was saying was true, but very much dependent on what sites one visits, and how long between restarts.

Admittedly I was wondering what brought about the unusually antagonistic tone in the responses above. Must be some history there.

By the way, do you happen to know a solution for the JS spikes, as you call them?

jazei-AR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: November 15th, 2020, 12:59 am
Location: Pcia. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted November 29th, 2020, 12:11 pm

LIMPET235 wrote:jazei-AR...

Why are you introducing "religious references" into this thread, especially in regards to one particular person who has tried to assist you?

Please do not do that. If you persist in doing this...then you will get a warning.
After that....who knows!

For ref; > faq.php?mode=rules#f4r9

Thank you.

fixed up!!! your censorship already acted! I already deleted what you censored for me.
From Argentine, using Win 7 pro (pirated) 64 bit, 4Gb RAM, Browsers: mypal 32 bits, slimjet 32 bits, seamonkey 32 bits .
Chromiun Browsers uses a lot of RAM... (except sj) and my RAM is always going up to the clouds... closing tabs very often even the browser too to up RAM again.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20856
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 29th, 2020, 2:04 pm

Rob_S wrote:By the way, do you happen to know a solution for the JS spikes, as you call them?

Easiest way is just to the Ublock Origin adblocking extension, as most of the RAM using JavaScript on sites like that is from unwanted adverts. It really does bring those spikes down a lot. Test it before and after on a site like this (a known mem use perp site ) -
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/index.html

Btw here's a pic of one SM user when he found out how much better browsing is with UBlock Origin - https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2020/11/29 ... 031616.jpg
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Rob_S
 
Posts: 707
Joined: December 13th, 2007, 8:54 am
Location: Vancouver Island BC

Post Posted December 1st, 2020, 7:04 pm

I'll be steering well clear of that, then! :)

I actually think he's so full of s__t, it couldn't come out fast enough, so it ended up overflowing from above.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests