SeaMonkey app cannot be used with this version of OS X.

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
condestavo

SeaMonkey app cannot be used with this version of OS X.

Post by condestavo »

Hello !!

Since the last upgrade seamonkey-2.53.15.es-AR.mac, I can't use Seamonkey on my MacBook Pro 2014, 2.6 GHz Intel Core i5, 64-bit, 8 Gb RAM, System Yosemite 10.10.5.
Nor can I go back to the previous version of Seamonkey seamonkey-2.53.14.es-AR.mac.dmg or seamonkey-2.53.11.1.es-AR.mac, since when I restart the computer, the same message appears again:
This version of the “SeaMonkey” app cannot be used with this version of OS X.
It is very strange that with previous versions it cannot either, since I have been using Seamonkey for more than 17 years without problems.
------
I can't find the Seamonkey Profile backup folder anywhere.
Any solution for both issues? Thanks
SelVieux

Re: SeaMonkey app cannot be used with this version of OS X.

Post by SelVieux »

on MaxOS 10.9 I can't open 53.15 neither; it gives this error when I do it from Terminal from the Contents directory:
Pat:MacOS paw$ ./seamonkey
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /Applications/SeaMonkey2.53.3.app/Contents/MacOS/XUL:
dlopen(/Applications/SeaMonkey2.53.3.app/Contents/MacOS/XUL, 265): Symbol not found: ___NSDictionary0__
Referenced from: /Applications/SeaMonkey2.53.3.app/Contents/MacOS/XUL
Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreFoundation.framework/Versions/A/CoreFoundation
in /Applications/SeaMonkey2.53.3.app/Contents/MacOS/XUL
Couldn't load XPCOM.
Pat:MacOS paw$

I downloaded 53.14 manually and turned off auto update in about.config, running from Finder holding the Control key.
condestavo

Post by condestavo »

Hello SelVieux:
Thanks for the info. I am not an expert and I would need a simple way to disable this problem. If you know any way, it will be welcome.