MozillaZine


Unable to make Seamonkey my default browser in Vista

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
adispan
Guest
 

Post Posted May 13th, 2008, 4:16 am

hello

i am facing exactly the "reverse" problem - i want seamonkey not to be default browser

any ideas on this issue?

and another issue: i can only start seamonkey under "run as administrator" ... why is that and what to do about it?

thx everyone

WyleySam
 
Posts: 110
Joined: October 15th, 2006, 3:54 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2008, 7:43 am

I've already changed the extensions.

jdunk
Guest
 

Post Posted September 6th, 2008, 3:07 pm

I am talking about Protocols not extensions. They are at the very bottom of the Set Associations window. Why didn't I think of a picture???
Image


I'm facing the exact same problem-- Vista does NOT provide a way to choose a custom program for a PROTOCOL. I'm actually not trying to make SeaMonkey my default browser, but rather I have 2 versions of Firefox installed (I'm a web developer and thus regularly need to check things on multiple browsers/versions). This is a big pain because I can no longer click a link in an IM, email, or anywhere else without it opening in the Firefox that I do NOT regularly/personally use.

Can anyone respond to what WyleySam so clearly pointed out? In the spirit of his picture, I created the equivalent version I see, pointing out the lack of a Browse button and "other" section. (It's still vista, just an XP skin)

Image

Googling this, I can only find this forum that points this out. Thanks!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20813
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 6th, 2008, 6:47 pm

I was trying to get an MPlayer GUI, MPUI, to become available in the Open With dialog. I would browse to the file, mpui.exe, select OK, but it never appeared in the menu as a program I could select.

I used a bunch of NirSoft utilities to try to figure out what was going on, why it was not working. OpenWithView, ShellMenuView, ShellExView, ... None were giving me any clues.

So then I searched the Registry for 'mpui.exe' (using RegScanner, of course), & that pointed out to me that the path in the Registry was different from the path to where the EXE was actually located. And for whatever reason, until & modified the registry entry, I could not use mpui.exe as an Open With item.

In this case the key was:
HKCU\Software\Classes\Applications\MPUI.exe\shell\open\command
with a value of:
"C:\WLIB\PLAYERS\MPlayer\MPUI\MPUI.exe" "%1"

I had long since placed mpui.exe directly into the MPlayer directory. So it was located here:
"C:\WLIB\PLAYERS\MPlayer\MPUI.exe" "%1"

Once I changed that registry key to point to the actual file location, I was then able to use mpui.exe as an Open With item.


Perhaps something like that is happening with SeaMonkey?


Another option might be to install a SeaMonkey 2.0a1 Trunk build. See if that will set itself to default browser. If so, then set IE to default, then retry SeaMonkey 1.1.11.

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... m-central/
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted September 8th, 2008, 7:45 pm

I haven't used it myself but you could try the "File Type Doctor" (from Creative Element Power Tools)
described here, with a Vista screenshot:
http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article02-500

I know it shows file extensions in the screenshot, but see if it also allows you to edit
HTTP and other protocol Open actions to show the path to seamonkey.exe
Alice Wyman

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted September 10th, 2008, 4:12 am

This has recently been fixed on trunk (SeaMonkey 2.0a1pre) Alpha One coming to a screen near you Real Soon Now.

Phil

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20813
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 10th, 2008, 7:08 am

(That's why I suggested trying the trunk build, & then trying 1.1.11 after that ;-). Thinking if the trunk set things "straight",
upon reinstalling 1.1.11, perhaps that too would work?)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

rgsam
Guest
 

Post Posted September 22nd, 2008, 5:36 pm

Uninstall Firefox and Seamonkey and then re-install Seamonkey. Firefox wants to take over your computer just like IE. Also Java will not work on a Vista machine unless you run it as administrator. I've given up on Seamonkey as the only way I can get Java to work is running it as administrator and when I do then my Keyboard Express, hot keys, will not work.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20813
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 22nd, 2008, 6:52 pm

Again I'll point to Nirsoft & URLProtocolView. Perhaps that may provide some insight.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Euchre

User avatar
 
Posts: 2804
Joined: April 16th, 2006, 12:48 pm

Post Posted September 22nd, 2008, 7:48 pm

In the dark recesses of the registry, you can find the keys and values relative to these handlers. With a little creativity and comparative anatomy, you can force Windows to use SeaMonkey (or anything else really) for the protocols. Most users are not comfortable nor advised to do such mucking around. If done wrong it'll break the functions of the protocols under a system level use - like anything trying to pass anything to the default protocol handler. I don't mind breaking some of these things on my systems, because I'd rather have it not work right trying to use SeaMonkey (or Firefox) than work with the default Microsoft products at all. ;)
Gecko
One Rendering Engine to rule them all.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20813
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 22nd, 2008, 9:01 pm

I did some dark recesses diving, starting here, AutoRuns Search Functionality with SeaMonkey & more here, Autoruns 9.01 with Alternative Browsers.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 19th, 2008, 11:43 pm

I agree. I'm having the same problem. I always get the pop up dialog box asking if I want to make SeaMonkey my default browser each time I open it up. I've tried changing the extensions as suggested above. I'm unable to change the protocols as there is no "browse" button in the protocols section. Has any new solution surfaced in getting Vista to recognize and keep SeaMonkey as a default when selected?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 20th, 2008, 1:22 am

Found the solution on another board(Thunderbird, by falcon5033 who posted it on Feb 18, 2007):

Open Start Menu --> default programs --> set program access and computer defaults (the 3rd choice). Don't open the first choice which is default programs (confusing and misleading).
In set program access and computer defaults, there are 3 sections listed: Microsoft Windows, Non-Microsoft, Custom. The correct choice is Customs because Non-Microsoft disables Microsoft programs. Click on Custom to see the choices. In this window, you can select SeaMonkey as the default for Mail and/or Browser. I did and I'm pleased with it.
:)

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2630
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2008, 10:55 am

Guest wrote:Found the solution on another board(Thunderbird, by falcon5033 who posted it on Feb 18, 2007):

Open Start Menu --> default programs --> set program access and computer defaults (the 3rd choice).
Don't open the first choice which is default programs (confusing and misleading). In set program access and computer defaults,
there are 3 sections listed: Microsoft Windows, Non-Microsoft, Custom. The correct choice is Customs because Non-Microsoft disables Microsoft programs.
Click on Custom to see the choices. In this window, you can select SeaMonkey as the default for Mail and/or Browser. I did and I'm pleased with it.
:)

That sounds exactly like what is written here:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Default_browser#Setting_default_browser_manually
Setting default browser manually

You can set the default browser in Windows 2000 (SP3+) Windows XP (SP1+) and Windows Vista using the
"Set Program Access and Defaults" feature (renamed "Set Program Access and Computer Defaults" in Windows Vista). [3]

* Windows 2000: "Start -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Set Program Access and Defaults"
* Windows XP: "Start -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Set Program Access and Defaults -> Custom"
* Windows Vista: "Start -> Default Programs -> Set Program Access and Computer Defaults -> Custom" [4]

(Windows XP/Vista: Click the icon to the right of "Custom", to expand the category.)

You will see Internet Explorer and other installed browsers listed under "Choose a default Web browser" .
Select "Mozilla" (Suite), "SeaMonkey" or "Mozilla Firefox" {snip}
Alice Wyman

wayney
 
Posts: 13
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 6:49 am

Post Posted November 13th, 2008, 5:31 pm

rgsam wrote:Uninstall Firefox and Seamonkey and then re-install Seamonkey. Firefox wants to take over your computer just like IE. Also Java will not work on a Vista machine unless you run it as administrator. I've given up on Seamonkey as the only way I can get Java to work is running it as administrator and when I do then my Keyboard Express, hot keys, will not work.


I too am having the issue with protocols being set to SeaMonkey while using Vista due to the lack of a browse button. But in reading this thread and seeing the quote above, you may have helped me solve another issue I was having and hadn't even thought to look into rgasm! Thank you. I was unable to open a chat I use daily since I'm the chat host. I found myself opening Firefox or another browser just to open the chat room and then using SeaMonkey for everything else. But this will hopefully solve that problem! Thanks again.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests