MozillaZine

[FX] PowerBook: 2005-07-16 [Trunk/OS X] (G4, O3, Altivec)

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
kodeen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: July 13th, 2005, 8:23 pm

Post Posted July 13th, 2005, 8:29 pm

hi powerbook, i've been using your 7450 aviary builds since i got my mac in the winter, and i definitely appreciate your work.

i wonder if you would know of any reason why middle clicking doesn't work in your 1.0.5 build (niether opening tabs by middle clicking on a link or closing a tab my middle clicking on it.) besides that, the build seems to be working fine (hey, the buttons within pages don't look like windows 3.1 anymore. they're not native yet, but at least they look okay.) keep up the good work!

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 14th, 2005, 12:27 am

kodeen. Check the answer in my 1.0.5 thread: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=1603459

Thanks for the heads up!

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 14th, 2005, 3:21 am

07/14

weerez
 
Posts: 118
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 11:11 pm

Post Posted July 14th, 2005, 10:33 am

powerbook, I dont know if you read the thread (http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=292096) about implementing auto update for third party builds. it looks like its possible (uses an xml file) and some people have already done this. i was just wondering if you were thinking about it.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 14th, 2005, 11:45 am

weerez. Auto update would be great, but I need to find some information about it before I can get started.
First of all I need to find out how to create the xpi incremental updater, then I need to get the builds to point to the correct server for updates.

It would help if you or someone else could point me to some documentation.
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=292096 dont tell much...

carboncopy
 
Posts: 263
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 9:43 pm
Location: Malaysia

Post Posted July 14th, 2005, 9:38 pm

Hi, I am having a bug which occurs only on powerbook build.

The bug occurs when I diable location bar autocomplete. By following the steps here: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_:_Tip ... tocomplete

This what happened:
1. type carboncopy.rubeus.org/blog and press the Enter key
results: browse to carboncopy.rubeus.org/blog

2. type carboncopy.rubeus.org and press the Enter key
results: browse to carboncopy.rubeus.org/blog

====

If I press the go arrow/button on the location bar. It will go to the location I keyed in.

Forgive me if this has been discussed. But I still find the bug in 1.0.5 and as well on the newest DeerPark release.

What could have cause this that it only effect powerbook's build? I have not tested other custom build yet.
cyber-dissenting @ http://salinankarbon.com
dashbrd - Dashboard start/stop control

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 12:42 am

carboncopy. I have no idea why you experience this problem.
The only change between my builds and the official builds are that I add the "Pretty form widgets", which I dont think is the cause to this malfunction.

But the page you linked to stated this:
Note that this is not a clean solution. It will cause some errors appear in the JavaScript Console if you have chrome errors enabled and may cause the browser to malfunction.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 6:18 am

07/15

Todays most important resolved bugs:
298677 - Vertical scrollbar draws over toolbar and tabs when location or search bar has focus during scrolling :)
300058 - Artifacts near bottom of scrollbars
299419 - Crash [@ nsEventStateManager::FireContextClick]

ahancock
 
Posts: 17
Joined: June 11th, 2004, 5:04 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 6:25 am

thanks for the extra note re: fixes

klassa
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:51 pm

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 6:49 am

The G4-specific build certainly seems faster... However, the controls look "odd". And at that, CSS styling isn't always taking effect. Is there a setting somewhere that enables the behavior of the standard Firefox build (in which these two issues don't occur)? For that matter, is this intentional :-), or have I run into a bug?

Thanks!

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 7:16 am

@ahancock. You're welcome!
When I see some resolved bugs that I think its really worth mentioning I list them up.

@klassa. When you refer to "controls", do you mean the form widgets?
If so, how could you possibly say that they look more odd than the default ones? :shock:

Anyway, they are an attempt by 'phiw13' to make the form widgets look better than the butt-ugly default ones. Since the fix involves CSS styling it might very well have other CSS side effects. I dont know!

You can disable them like this: Replace the "DeerPark.app/Contents/MacOS/res/forms.css" with the forms.css from the official nightly build.

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 8:38 am

klassa wrote:The G4-specific build certainly seems faster... However, the controls look "odd". And at that, CSS styling isn't always taking effect. Is there a setting somewhere that enables the behavior of the standard Firefox build (in which these two issues don't occur)? For that matter, is this intentional :-), or have I run into a bug?


Not a bug. As Powerbook already noted, this is an attempt at making the form widgets a little bit more pretty, while we wait for real 'cocoa' widgets.

It is true that css styling by page authors is a bit more limited (especially for submit elements). As far as author styling is concerned, they behave just the same as the form widgets in Safari 1.3/2.0, and very close to what Camino (0.9a1) does (you can use that browser to have an idea on how the cocoa widgets will look like in Firefox). It is a 'best compromise'.

If you prefer, you can try to recycle Kevin's old attempt, but don't copy that css file blindly, as it does not work with the latest nightly builds.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 15th, 2005, 9:03 am

Philippe, thanks for clearing out the CSS styling question.

While we are at it, I compiled a Firefox build with Cocoa widgets today.
Its broken in many ways, but it fun to see what coming in the not so distant future... :)

Here are the issues I have found so far:
* Pull-down menus (widgets) dont work.
* No taskbar (only a limited Deer Park menu).
* Keyboard shortcuts dont work.

It looks exactly the the picture Josh Aas posted here:
http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/josh/arc ... f_f_1.html
http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/josh/arc ... et_wo.html


PM me for a link if you really want a copy.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted July 16th, 2005, 3:50 am

07/16

carboncopy
 
Posts: 263
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 9:43 pm
Location: Malaysia

Post Posted July 16th, 2005, 4:13 am

powerbook wrote:carboncopy. I have no idea why you experience this problem.
The only change between my builds and the official builds are that I add the "Pretty form widgets", which I dont think is the cause to this malfunction.

But the page you linked to stated this:
Note that this is not a clean solution. It will cause some errors appear in the JavaScript Console if you have chrome errors enabled and may cause the browser to malfunction.


Thanks. It must be the location bar auto complete thing. Cause without it, it works fine.

And again, thanks for your builds. It performs much better then the official builds. Especially when handling many many tabs.

Another thing which I have noted. The memory usage has drop tremendously. Which is great. I think.
cyber-dissenting @ http://salinankarbon.com
dashbrd - Dashboard start/stop control

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests