MozillaZine

[FX] PowerBook: 2005-07-16 [Trunk/OS X] (G4, O3, Altivec)

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 10th, 2005, 12:01 pm

Strange!
I had no problems compiling todays build. I just noticed it compiled fast, only 14 min.

Something seems to be wrong with your prvrsion.o file.
I suggest you delete the file, then check out the source from CVS and try to build it again.

neilio
 
Posts: 235
Joined: November 16th, 2002, 8:42 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2005, 12:35 pm

Man, I'm having problems with today's build. I just deleted my build folder and pulled everything down from CVS fresh, and it started to build but failed after about 45 minutes:

NEXT_ROOT= /usr/bin/xcodebuild -target "Default Plugin" -buildstyle Deployment
2005-02-10 14:29:47.759 xcodebuild[28303] *** +[PBXTarget _loadSpecificationsIfNeeded]: selector not recognized
** INTERNAL ERROR: Uncaught Exception **
Exception: *** +[PBXTarget _loadSpecificationsIfNeeded]: selector not recognized
Stack:
0 0x94eb7cd0 -[TSException raise]
1 0x90a5c620 +[NSException raise:format:]
2 0x909fcee4 -[NSObject(NSForwardInvocation) forward::]
3 0x9083680c __objc_msgForward
4 0x0000924c
5 0x00006688
6 0x8fe1a554
make[5]: *** [build-plugin] Abort trap
make[4]: *** [libs] Error 2
make[3]: *** [tier_9] Error 2
make[2]: *** [default] Error 2
make[1]: *** [build] Error 2
make: *** [build] Error 2

I think I'll just wait for a day or so and see if this mysteriously rectifies itself...

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 10th, 2005, 1:29 pm

Have you updated to Mac OS 10.3.8?
Hope its not related to the update, or else I will probably get problems tomorrow. [-o<

neilio
 
Posts: 235
Joined: November 16th, 2002, 8:42 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2005, 1:42 pm

I did, but I've been building under 10.3.8 for a while (I have an ADC account and run developer OS builds). It's possible that my developer tools might have gotten screwed up somehow, but I have no idea how to do a "clean install" of just the Dev tools without blowing away the whole system...

Any ideas?

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 10th, 2005, 2:00 pm

OK, then its most likely not caused by the 10.3.8 update. Puh!

Found this: http://forums.macosxhints.com/showthread.php?t=31062
Removing the "/Developer" folder will get rid of some but not all of the developer tools.

Instead, there's an uninstall perl script that comes with the dev tools that removes all the stuff that's installed. It's called "uninstall-devtools.pl" and you can find it in "/Developer/Tools". There are instructions for running it in one of the ReadMe files on the the disk image. And, I believe you need to run it using "sudo".

So, basically, you woud do something like this in Terminal:
Code: Select all
sudo /Developer/Tools/uninstall-devtools.pl

You'll be prompted for your administrator password.

Then reinstall Xcode. Lets hope that fix it! :D

Edit:
This link says:
sudo perl /Developer/Tools/uninstall-devtools.pl
One of them should work.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 11th, 2005, 10:18 am

02/11

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 12th, 2005, 4:09 am

02/12 build out.

This build use updated icons & graphics by MacGeneral. Thank you! :)
Simular to the "old" icons, but with the new Fox and smoother edges...

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 12th, 2005, 5:06 am

@theNonsuch.
Have you been able to reinstall Xcode and get the FX build process to complete successfully? :?

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 13th, 2005, 6:25 am

02/13

carboncopy
 
Posts: 263
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 9:43 pm
Location: Malaysia

Post Posted February 13th, 2005, 8:43 pm

There seems to be a problem with the Trunk version since 4 Febuary or so. (can't remember).

The problem is, Firefox will cause spinning wheel:
1. if the page is not yet fully loaded yet.
2. When you save a file, it will also go into spinning wheel until it has download quite substantial portion of the file.

Any idea what is causing this?

The problem is not there if I use Firefox 1.0 offical release.

May I get a clarification that Firefox [Aviary/OS X] optimized for PowerPC 7450 (newer G4) is the Official release version but build with optimization for PPC 7450 family?

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 14th, 2005, 11:57 am

02/14

Lost User 1016
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2005, 12:07 pm

I have the Firefox [Trunk/OS X] optimized for PowerPC 7400 (older G4) version and there is a problem with drag-and-drop of the bookmarks from the address field to the bookmarks sidebar. In fact it is impossible to move a an adress directly in the sidebar. It is possible with the official version and also in the G5 optimized version.

I have tried both the 28/01/2005 and 08/11/2004 versions.

neilio
 
Posts: 235
Joined: November 16th, 2002, 8:42 am

Post Posted February 14th, 2005, 2:09 pm

powerbook wrote:@theNonsuch.
Have you been able to reinstall Xcode and get the FX build process to complete successfully? :?

Yup, just posted a Valentine's Day special (mostly to get the preferences fix out to folks). Cleaning out the Dev tools and doing a complete reinstall did the trick.

Thanks, powerbook!
Slumming at the beatnikPad : http://www.beatnikpad.com/

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted February 14th, 2005, 5:00 pm

According to this <a href="http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=217138">thread</a>, the bug with the 'Go' menu (<a href="https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=260951">bug 260951</a>) was fixed a few days ago. However, I still need to click twice before fully activating the 'Go menu', and access recent history. That is apparently, that bug is not fixed on OS X builds. Tried both the PowerBook builds and the official 02/14 build.

Can anyone confirm this ?

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 15th, 2005, 3:17 am

@theNonsuch. You`re welcome. :)
Great to see you back building again!

@carboncopy. Can you reproduce the spinning wheel with the official nightly Trunk build?
If so, its not caused by my G4 optimization and there is nothing I can do about it.

Yes, the "Firefox [Aviary/OS X] optimized for PowerPC 7450 (newer G4)" equals Firefox 1.0. It only have some extra days of bugfixing, and the G4 optimization.

@M-Rick. Does drag-and-drop work with the official nightly trunk build?

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest