Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
Post Reply
User avatar
Santa_Fe
Posts: 42
Joined: August 28th, 2013, 8:15 am

Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by Santa_Fe »

Downloaded the latest beta build and for some reason it errors out. Example:

Code: Select all

OMNIJAR_NAME=omni.ja \
   /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/_virtualenv/bin/python /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/toolkit/mozapps/installer/packager.py -DMOZ_GLUE_IN_PROGRAM -DNO_NSPR_10_SUPPORT -DAB_CD=en-US -DMOZ_APP_NAME=firefox -DPREF_DIR=defaults/preferences -DMOZ_ENABLE_GNOME_COMPONENT=1 -DMOZ_GTK=1 -DJAREXT= -DMOZ_CHILD_PROCESS_NAME=plugin-container -DMOZ_JSDEBUGGER -DNECKO_WIFI -DDLL_PREFIX=lib -DDLL_SUFFIX=.so -DBIN_SUFFIX= -DBINPATH=bin -DMOZ_ICU_VERSION=52 -DMOZ_ICU_DBG_SUFFIX= \
      --format omni \
      --removals /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/browser/installer/removed-files.in \
       \
       \
       \
       \
      --optimizejars \
       \
      package-manifest ../../dist ../../dist/firefox \
      
Executing /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/dist/bin/xpcshell -g /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/dist/bin/ -a /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/dist/bin/ -f /home/santafe/mozilla-beta/toolkit/mozapps/installer/precompile_cache.js -e precompile_startupcache("resource://gre/");
resource://gre/components/ActivityMessageConfigurator.js
resource://gre/components/ActivityProxy.js
resource://gre/components/ActivityRequestHandler.js
resource://gre/components/ActivityWrapper.js
resource://gre/components/AlarmsManager.js
resource://gre/components/AppsService.js
resource://gre/components/AutofillController.js
resource://gre/components/BrowserElementParent.js
resource://gre/components/ChromeNotifications.js
resource://gre/components/ColorAnalyzer.js
resource://gre/components/ConsoleAPIStorage.js
resource://gre/components/ContactManager.js
resource://gre/components/CrashService.js
resource://gre/components/DataReportingService.js
resource://gre/components/DataStoreImpl.js
resource://gre/components/DownloadLegacy.js
resource://gre/components/FeedProcessor.js
resource://gre/components/FormHistoryStartup.js
resource://gre/components/InterAppCommService.js
resource://gre/components/InterAppConnection.js
resource://gre/components/InterAppMessagePort.js
resource://gre/components/MozKeyboard.js
resource://gre/components/NetworkGeolocationProvider.js
resource://gre/components/NotificationStorage.js
resource://gre/components/PageThumbsProtocol.js
resource://gre/components/Payment.js
resource://gre/components/PaymentFlowInfo.js
resource://gre/components/PeerConnection.js
resource://gre/components/PermissionPromptService.js
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/toolkit/mozapps/installer/packager.py", line 402, in <module>
    main()
  File "/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/toolkit/mozapps/installer/packager.py", line 394, in main
    args.source, gre_path, base)
  File "/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/toolkit/mozapps/installer/packager.py", line 158, in precompile_cache
    errors.fatal('Error while running startup cache precompilation')
  File "/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/python/mozbuild/mozpack/errors.py", line 101, in fatal
    self._handle(self.FATAL, msg)
  File "/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/python/mozbuild/mozpack/errors.py", line 96, in _handle
    raise ErrorMessage(msg)
mozpack.errors.ErrorMessage: Error: Error while running startup cache precompilation
make[3]: *** [stage-package] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/browser/installer'
make[2]: *** [make-package] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/browser/installer'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/santafe/mozilla-beta/XfceFox-release/browser/installer'
make: *** [package] Error 2


I downloaded the source for Firefox 31 final next, and it compiled fine. Heres the mozconfig file I use:

Code: Select all

. $topsrcdir/browser/config/mozconfig
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=@TOPSRCDIR@/XfceFox-release
ac_add_options --enable-optimize=-O3
mk_add_options MOZ_MAKE_FLAGS="-j8"
ac_add_options --enable-update-channel=release
ac_add_options --enable-update-packaging
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-updater
ac_add_options --disable-webspeech
ac_add_options --enable-webrtc
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --enable-debug-symbols=-gdwarf-2
ac_add_options --enable-xft
ac_add_options --enable-pango
ac_add_options --enable-svg

Beta mozconfig's the same except for beta instead of release.

Even tried compiling the previous Beta 31.0b9 and it compiles fine. Any idea if this is a local problem or is the source code to blame?

I goofed, it happens in the package building part, not the compiling part
Last edited by Santa_Fe on July 29th, 2014, 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
LoudNoise
New Member
Posts: 39900
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by LoudNoise »

Have you been able to download this quick after a release? I was under the impression that there was usually a two to three day pause before the source code was moved to to their respective new places.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."
User avatar
Santa_Fe
Posts: 42
Joined: August 28th, 2013, 8:15 am

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by Santa_Fe »

I followed the instructions here: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... efox_build & went here: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... al/Bundles to get the beta code.

Of course, it might still have been 31.0 b9 since it was only a day after 31 final was released. As for the error, I have to use the crappy apartment complex Wi-Fi, and I heard from a neighbor that it blinked out for a sec while I was gone shopping. so that might explain the error?
User avatar
Santa_Fe
Posts: 42
Joined: August 28th, 2013, 8:15 am

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by Santa_Fe »

I'm about ready to give up for awhile. it still wont work. I've tried leaving out the mozconfig file. using one with just the first 2 lines in it, which crashed after 6 minutes. I even ran this:

Code: Select all

Ubuntu

You can download and install all the prerequisites with the following command:

sudo apt-get install zip unzip mercurial g++ make autoconf2.13 yasm libgtk2.0-dev libglib2.0-dev libdbus-1-dev libdbus-glib-1-dev libasound2-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libiw-dev libxt-dev mesa-common-dev libgstreamer0.10-dev libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-dev libpulse-dev

to see if maybe something needed to be updated. Everything came up that I had the latest version except for Mercurial, which said it was version 2.8.2. So I added the PPA to my Xubuntu to get the current version & got 3.0.1. Tried again with same error message.

Saw in another post something that in Ubuntu it needed Python 2 to compile so I tried adding "mk_add_options PYTHON=/usr/bin/python2" to the mozconfig like it said. Still nothing.

For fun, I used the original mozconfig & compiled Firefox 31 Final Release. Worked fine, no error message like I get for the Beta.

If this is a super secret compiling club, can someone sneak me the password, please??? :D

Maybe it'll pass. I was having problems when Firefox 24- 26 came out & couldn't compile the release code but could the beta code, now it seems to have switched back. ;)
balducci
Posts: 2
Joined: July 30th, 2014, 7:47 am

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by balducci »

hello there

I'm getting exactly the same error with xulrunner 32.0b1 and 32.0b2
(<=31.0* built absolutely fine)

I can add the following 5 cents:
=> the problem seems to be for 32 bit machines only. On a multilib box build fails for ABI32, but completes absolutely fine for ABI64
Build fails with the same error on another pure 32bit box
=> I find a segmentation fault message in /var/log/messages from xpcshell
Jul 30 00:12:16 myhost kernel: xpcshell[26130]: segfault at 5a5a5a5a ip 41eaae0e sp bfe84930 error libxul.so[40063000+3fb0000]

just curious to know if you or someone else has made some progress on this
(I couldn't find any report on bugzilla)
User avatar
Santa_Fe
Posts: 42
Joined: August 28th, 2013, 8:15 am

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by Santa_Fe »

balducci wrote:hello there

I'm getting exactly the same error with xulrunner 32.0b1 and 32.0b2
(<=31.0* built absolutely fine)

I can add the following 5 cents:
=> the problem seems to be for 32 bit machines only. On a multilib box build fails for ABI32, but completes absolutely fine for ABI64
Build fails with the same error on another pure 32bit box
=> I find a segmentation fault message in /var/log/messages from xpcshell
Jul 30 00:12:16 myhost kernel: xpcshell[26130]: segfault at 5a5a5a5a ip 41eaae0e sp bfe84930 error libxul.so[40063000+3fb0000]

just curious to know if you or someone else has made some progress on this
(I couldn't find any report on bugzilla)

Not yet. Interesting though, as my Linux is 32 bit since I installed Xubuntu 8.04,mainly because at the time there was a problem with flash & 64 bit O/S & have been too lazy to do a full install. ;) Guess it's time to start fresh with a clean install. :D

Thanks for the info. Hopefully this will be fixed soon. :)
User avatar
Santa_Fe
Posts: 42
Joined: August 28th, 2013, 8:15 am

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by Santa_Fe »

This is just weird. Tried compiling beta 4, figuring maybe I'd give it a chance. Same error result. So I went & untarred the latest Linux Beta release to check it out. It ran fine so I thought I'd look at about:buildconfig and see what it used. So I changed my mozconfig file yet again to this:

Code: Select all

. $topsrcdir/browser/config/mozconfig
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=@TOPSRCDIR@/XfceFox-release
ac_add_options --enable-optimize=-O3
mk_add_options MOZ_MAKE_FLAGS="-j8"
ac_add_options --enable-update-channel=beta
ac_add_options --enable-update-packaging
ac_add_options --enable-release

ac_add_options --x-libraries=/usr/lib
ac_add_options --target=i686-pc-linux
ac_add_options --host=i686-pc-linux
ac_add_options --enable-elf-hack
ac_add_options --enable-stdcxx-compat

ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-updater
ac_add_options --disable-webspeech
ac_add_options --enable-webrtc
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --enable-debug-symbols=-gdwarf-2
ac_add_options --enable-xft
ac_add_options --enable-pango
ac_add_options --enable-svg


The lines between the blank lines are the ones I added after looking at the Beta 4's about:buildconfig.

Tried one last time & it compiles fine. I'm using it as I type. But why did adding those extra 5 lines work? And why didn't I need it before when i compiled the beta versions prior to 32 ? :D

Think I figured it out. If I remove the ac_add_options --enable-release line, I get the error message. If I include it, it compiles. So I guess in the future, I gotta remember to include it when compiling.
balducci
Posts: 2
Joined: July 30th, 2014, 7:47 am

Re: Is there something wrong with Firefox 32.0 b1?

Post by balducci »

FTR: I seem to have solved my problem
Just run with --disable-optimize for ABI32
I remember I had the same problem (xpcshell segfaulting and being cured by the same workaround) quite long ago (firefox-5.0 (!))
I should have consulted my notes and tried this fix in the first place.
As to the reason why this happens now: no idea. Maybe using the latest version of gcc (4.9.1) or some other compiler related issue; did not go through
Post Reply