MozillaZine

Force firefox to remember windows deskbar positions..

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 9th, 2015, 3:22 pm

For some reasons, maybe an issue related to memory or crashes, my firefox windows position on the windows deskbar changes, unpurposely.
I actually need a way either through greasemonkey or stylish or an addon to make firefox detect where i put my windows on the taskbar manually.

Otherwise, what happens is that the session firefox or sessionstore keeps, will keep the position of windows after the incident happened
& a window moved to another place .. . so even if i move that window to the previous place & restart firefox, that window will reappear
where it was right after the incident & not when i moved it back to its place .. .

my actual stupid workaround:

restoring windows one by one using sessionstore..

because neither sessionstore or firefox session file detects where i reposition windows on the deskbar .. .

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17539
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 10th, 2015, 8:31 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 10th, 2015, 9:42 am

thanks, but i dont have those addons, & nevertheless, the reply's indirect .. .

my aim is to make sure when i move windows on the deskbar, firefox intercepts the position on the deskbar
with either a script, userstyle or addon

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17539
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 10th, 2015, 10:26 am

Oh.
So you're manually moving the windows around on the Windows taskbar (7+ Taskbar Tweaker ?) & wanting your manually rearranged positions to persist after a Session Restore start up.

AFAIK, FF maintains its window order internally (in sessionstore.js,I presume?) & so when it restores it would not take your manually moved window positions into account.

Don't know of anything that would do that?

Suppose you might be able to hack sessionstore.js, once, initially, & if done correctly, your windows should open in the correct order?
(I'd have no idea how to do that.)
And even then any newly opened windows would have to be opened in the correct order from there on out.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 10th, 2015, 11:06 am

you perfectly resumed the issue lol & even realized i was using 7+ tt ))

i'm hopeless ((

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17539
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 7:39 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43193
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 4:06 pm

Why is this our problem? The OP is using a third party build
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117385
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 4:13 pm

Moving to Third Party Builds.

delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 5:36 pm

as if firefox itself isn't directly concerned by the issue lol... .

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 8943
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 5:38 pm

You're not using Firefox..what's funny?
#KeepFightingMichael

delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 5:46 pm

malliz sounds funny & every new comment that follows, mighty, yours included ))

delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 5:48 pm

1. palemoon's based on firefox updates
2. firefox is affected by the issue .. .
3. malliz comment doesn't help at all & is wrong.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117385
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 6:04 pm

You're posting with Palemoon, not Firefox. We have no confirmation that Firefox has the same problem. Why are you not dealing with this with the Palemoon folks?

delicacy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: February 3rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 6:32 pm

confirmed.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted October 13th, 2015, 6:39 pm

According to the Palemood folks it isn't based on Firefox any more. They also get mad at us when we don't send you folks to them.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests