MozillaZine

[FX] Pu7o: 02-18 (1.8.0.x/OSX Unibin) - Native Aqua Widgets!

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
Pu7o
 
Posts: 72
Joined: April 16th, 2005, 8:00 am

Post Posted February 19th, 2006, 11:21 am

drumsticks wrote:Thanks, Pu7o. Keep up the good work. A few points

- Your UB version is HUGE! Why don't you package it in a dmg?
- Is this branch only? The nsComboboxControlFrame.cpp is different from your description on the trunk. It's as described on the branch though.
- It looks like the default forms.css is not bad for a first approximation. I don't know much about CSS, but I've started to make a few tweaks to my own version of forms.css and quite like the result. Can you post just your forms.css file?



1 - I can modify the .tgz on-server if I find an error without having to upload the whole thing again. No such luck with DMG. Don't blame me for hugeness, you can remove the other architecture with ditto if you're that desperate for space.
2 - I don't know. I rarely touch trunk code.
3 - http://puto.mozfaq.org/misc/forms.css - You might want to remove the last rule, which provides a safari-style "input type='search'" (which I made for my custom firefox project, Firescape)

krmathis wrote:You're aware that the JEP plugin in your build are Intel only?


That'd be the fact that building a ppc build on x86 builds plugins as x86 (because it doesn't pass ARCHITECTURES to xcodebuild). I'll manually pass ARCHITECTURES="ppc" next time, or I might as well just use the official firefox 1.5.0.1's JEP and MRJ plugins.

drumsticks
 
Posts: 607
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 20th, 2006, 4:16 am

Pu7o: Is there a difference between the buttons you see on this page, say the search buttons on the right of this forum, compared to those listed in phillipe's site at http://dev.l-c-n.com/forms/forms4.php ? The buttons here are large and no matter what I do to my own forms.css, I can't seem to bring it down to the same size as phillipe's site. Your forms.css does the same. That is, it is large on this site, but smaller at others.

Pu7o
 
Posts: 72
Joined: April 16th, 2005, 8:00 am

Post Posted February 21st, 2006, 1:15 am

I'd say that they're a bit larger, but not very larger. maybe using an !important on everything would fix it?

Pu7o
 
Posts: 72
Joined: April 16th, 2005, 8:00 am

Post Posted February 21st, 2006, 1:17 am

Well, using an !important on everything does fix it, but breaks the firefox skin ^_^

Pu7o
 
Posts: 72
Joined: April 16th, 2005, 8:00 am

Post Posted February 21st, 2006, 1:55 am

Well, here's the version that forces button sizes and on...

it's twice as big, because it's the old forms.css, plus the same forms.css with "html" and "!important" in every rule.

http://puto.mozfaq.org/misc/forms.css-force

And to finish it all...

<a href="http://puto.mozfaq.org/misc/forms.css-force-da">forms.css with correct button alignment</a> :)

drumsticks
 
Posts: 607
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 21st, 2006, 4:58 pm

Thanks. I'll keep mucking around with my own forms.css for a while. Still don't know much about CSS.

sessamoid
 
Posts: 27
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 6:12 pm

Post Posted February 21st, 2006, 9:21 pm

Has anybody been able to get the UB version working on an Intel Mac? It fails to start on my MacBook Pro. I loved this build, so I'd love to see in working on the newest member of the Mac family.

Pu7o
 
Posts: 72
Joined: April 16th, 2005, 8:00 am

Post Posted February 22nd, 2006, 2:24 am

Uhm, <a href="http://puto.mozfaq.org/misc/questions.png">yeah</a>, it does work on an Intel Mac.

loadbang

User avatar
 
Posts: 874
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 12:18 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK.

Post Posted March 8th, 2006, 11:56 am


Pu7o
 
Posts: 72
Joined: April 16th, 2005, 8:00 am

Post Posted March 8th, 2006, 3:41 pm

howesey wrote:https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=328116 ??

Similar?


100% unrelated bug. Absolutely nothing to do with aqua widgets, that's a cairo-mac bug.

neilio
 
Posts: 235
Joined: November 16th, 2002, 8:42 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2006, 9:11 am

Resurrecting an old topic, but I could use some help getting this to work with trunk builds. I found the new location of nsNativeThemeMac.cpp (it's in widgets/src/mac) but when I try to make the changes listed here to nsComboboxControlFrame.cpp I get a curly brace missing error on build.

The code in the trunk in this area looks different, so I'm not sure what I should do to get this working. Any suggestions?

drumsticks
 
Posts: 607
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted April 22nd, 2006, 4:21 pm

The nsComboboxControlFrame.cpp change is branch only.

hakanw
 
Posts: 16
Joined: March 27th, 2006, 11:51 pm

Post Posted September 25th, 2006, 5:14 am

Soon, when Firefox starts using the cocoa backend (instead of the current carbon one), form widgets will look native, like in Camino.

/Håkan

Jm9760
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 2:58 pm

Post Posted March 21st, 2007, 2:58 pm

Sorry to revive an old topic, but is there any way to implement this hack in firefox 2? If so, could someone upload a version of firefox 2 with this hack in it. I have no experience with compiling source code, so I would have no idea how to do this myself. Thanks in advance.

drumsticks
 
Posts: 607
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted March 31st, 2007, 3:59 pm

My G5 builds have this hack on (see my thread), but they are G5 only.

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests