MozillaZine

[Ext] ImageShowHide 0.2.8.1 - simply turn on|off images

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 2nd, 2004, 9:49 am

I assume there should be an install.js file in the archive?

Yes....But...ImageShowHide for FireFox 0.9 - 1.0PR

mromarkhan

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: September 5th, 2004, 4:25 am

Post Posted September 5th, 2004, 3:03 pm

apachedude wrote:Great update, Mikki.
I don't want to sound ungrateful--as good as the extension is right now, there is a problem with the autoreload. When you turn images on, the page will reload with the images displayed. But if the images are already on, when you turn it off, it doesn't hide the images. Is there a workaround to this?
Thanks again!


I have a working copy that I use at
http://visuallinkindicator.mozdev.org/

See at the bottom
My Hack of ImageShowHide v0.1.3.0.1.1.1.1.1.1
I also modified it to shrink the icon to 24by24

I changed the version number (v0.1.3.0.1.1.1.1.1.1) to be compatible with any updates by the original author

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 6th, 2004, 9:35 am

mromarkhan ,
when you turn it off, it doesn't hide the images. Is there a workaround to this?
!
YES! I did it specially! Because, i think, that autoreload when you turn images off is NOT needed!

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 7th, 2004, 12:11 am

In version 0.1.3.2:
07/09/04: Added: Autoreload when images turns OFF (see screenshots on home page)
07/09/04: Removed: Updatelink in install.rdf
07/09/04: Fixed: Some small changes

mromarkhan

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: September 5th, 2004, 4:25 am

Post Posted September 7th, 2004, 5:10 am

Mikki wrote:In version 0.1.3.2:
07/09/04: Added: Autoreload when images turns OFF (see screenshots on home page)
07/09/04: Removed: Updatelink in install.rdf
07/09/04: Fixed: Some small changes


I made a quick hack
at http://visuallinkindicator.mozdev.org/
This is in response to a comment I saw on mozilla update site.

This adds a context menu item named Load Image like the old netscape(tm)
version I believe.
However, my implementation is poor,but it nevertheless works.

I got the idea of using the context menu from Spellbound - a spell checker extension - which is licensed under the
MPL or GPL or LGPL

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 7th, 2004, 9:26 am


Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 7th, 2004, 9:47 am

You simply enter the name in another's Extensions! So to do badly!
If you hack my extension, please use it yourself and do not publish it!

mromarkhan

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: September 5th, 2004, 4:25 am

Post Posted September 7th, 2004, 11:07 am

Mikki wrote:You simply enter the name in another's Extensions! So to do badly!
If you hack my extension, please use it yourself and do not publish it!


I did not know that extensions exists.
I removed links to the modification. Sorry about that...should have asked
I guess.

Have a good day.

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 7th, 2004, 11:48 pm

mromarkhan , BIG thanks for ImageLoader!! Because, ShowImage isn't working in Gecko/20040906 Firefox/1.0 PR (NOT FINAL) (ax).

But, please, correct this:
1) remove ALL "CVS" folders!
2) remove all folders from chrome dir. (only load.jar must be there!)

P.S. I can send to you already corrected ext. in archive.

BlurredVeg
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 14th, 2004, 1:08 am
Location: France

Post Posted September 14th, 2004, 1:12 am

Thanks for a great extension Mikki; as another fan of the feature in opera was pleased to see you'd produced it for Firefox - I've got one request for the 'to do' list... I've normally got the browser set to 'load images - from the originating site only' - for the majority of web pages this works fine and is a good image filter. Your button would be useful for sites like fark and ebay when I need the off-site images, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to work with the browser set like this? I could only get it to work when image loading was turned off. (I've also got adblocker installed but I don't think it's conflicting with this).

Thanks a lot!

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 14th, 2004, 7:44 pm

BlurredVeg , THANKS! I'll correct this soon...

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 15th, 2004, 1:44 am

In version 0.1.4.2:
15/09/04: Added: Support for "Load Images for the originating web site only" (see screenshots)

mromarkhan

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: September 5th, 2004, 4:25 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2004, 9:19 pm

Mikki wrote:mromarkhan , BIG thanks for ImageLoader!! Because, ShowImage isn't working in Gecko/20040906 Firefox/1.0 PR (NOT FINAL) (ax).

But, please, correct this:
1) remove ALL "CVS" folders!
2) remove all folders from chrome dir. (only load.jar must be there!)

P.S. I can send to you already corrected ext. in archive.


ImageLoader is broken, I decided to go in a new direction.

I incorporated my extension with yours, since it depends
on the functionality of yours.
See ImageShowHideLoad at http://visuallinkindicator.mozdev.org/index.html

You can do whatever you want with the source code.
Tell me if you like it, hate it, want me to rename it or delete it.

What it does is it
enables the loading of images (using your img switch function),
sets the src of the image (which loads the image),
the disables the loading of images (using your img switch function)

a very simple algorithm

it also creates a context menu called Load Image
that only activates when it is over a dom node
named img

Have a good night.

Mikki

User avatar
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Miass

Post Posted September 22nd, 2004, 8:14 am

mromarkhan, nice!! But not working for me! (I have uninstalled ImageShowHide and ImageLoader):
When I click on the "Load image" page reloads (and I see image) but when it finishs page-reload the image is hidding!

P.S. ImageLoad is working fine! And I using it... (but after "Load image" the popup menu on right-click hover image isn't showing!)

mromarkhan

User avatar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: September 5th, 2004, 4:25 am

Post Posted September 22nd, 2004, 2:20 pm

Mikki wrote:mromarkhan, nice!! But not working for me! (I have uninstalled ImageShowHide and ImageLoader):
When I click on the "Load image" page reloads (and I see image) but when it finishs page-reload the image is hidding!

P.S. ImageLoad is working fine! And I using it... (but after "Load image" the popup menu on right-click hover image isn't showing!)


ok reverting back to hack, until can find some way to monitor loading of image,

old hack was this
create a xul image element in the xul namespace
set the src to the original
and use dom replace child using the original node's parent

user interface bug: shows read... and the domain name in the status bar

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests