MozillaZine


[Ext] Tab Utilities 1.5 - light but featureful

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
roshambo
 
Posts: 39
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 4:53 am

Post Posted February 6th, 2010, 5:37 pm

Thanks for this extension. Would it be possible to extend selected tab color to outline favicon's like lock tab does?

Also http://bit.ly/dnFMZv resizes firefox in single window mode but other popout windows go into a tab without resizing. Is it a bug?

frvaddons

User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 10:21 pm
Location: France

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 12:31 am

Fixed code for tabs "faviconized" and red outline

Tab Utilities 0.9.5

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/59961


C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ABCD1234.default\extensions\tabutils@ithinc.cn\chrome\content\tabutils.js

Thank you to remove the 3 lines containing "aTab.minWidth = aTab.maxWidth = 0;" and then add the code below the line (new number) 608, 627, 648 and 707, 721, 739:

Code: Select all
            if (!aTab.hasAttribute("protected") && aTab.hasAttribute("faviconized")) {
            aTab.minWidth = aTab.maxWidth = 24;
            }
            else if (aTab.hasAttribute("protected") && aTab.hasAttribute("faviconized")) {
            aTab.minWidth = aTab.maxWidth = 38;
            }



C:\Documents and Settings\USER_NAME\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ABCD1234.default\extensions\tabutils@ithinc.cn\chrome\skin\tabutils.css

Change please (linked with others changes) the 2 lines of css code like this:

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tabs:not([highlightLocked="true"]) .tabbrowser-tab[locked="true"] {
    outline: solid red 2px !important;
    outline-offset: -2px !important;
    -moz-outline-radius: 4px !important;
}


Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab[faviconized="true"] .tab-icon-image {
  -moz-margin-start: 3px !important;
  -moz-margin-end: 3px !important;
}


EDIT: I also changed this code in file "tabutils.css" line 80 ; sorry for forgetting:
Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tabs:not([highlightProtected="true"]) .tabbrowser-tab[protected="true"] .tab-close-button {
  display: -moz-box !important;
   list-style-image: url(chrome://browser/skin/Secure.png) !important;
   -moz-image-region: rect(2px, auto, 2px, auto) !important;
}


Cliquez droit sur le lien ci-contre pour enregistrer le fichier : TabUtilities{0.9.5}modifie.zip (direct [-X )
Le lien à transmettre est http://www.cijoint.fr/cjlink.php?file=cj201002/cijDaHz1Zw.zip <<==OK FOR 'cijoint.fr'.
MD5:d8231843a9afac629924362553a1b327 (.zip)
SHA-1:b0a621a0facb0cb9dc76e7f24085069619f57cf7 (.zip)
MD5:38e949694ed80748b6202cb3299fdc60 (.xpi in .zip)
SHA-1:3ace5155a2f939c829d0d263a29ef6443a08e053 (.xpi in .zip)


EDIT: I deleted by mistake at line 608 in file "tabutils.js":
Code: Select all
    else {
      aTab.setAttribute("protected", true);ss.setTabValue(aTab, "protected", true);
    }

Without this line item "Protect Tab" could not be activated (except with "Freeze Tab") but can be unchecked. Sorry.

"(I use the theme Classic Compact for info! With Options...)"


****** :biggrin: :
Tab Utilities 0.9.1 or 0.9.5 with "Google Toolbar Version 7.0.20091216Wb1
Dictionary Compression Version 1.0.1204.20360 or previous version (5.0.20090324 on AMO)", no longer a problem to open a new blank tab (about:blank). Tanks have fixed the bug (Fix opening of bookmark groups with Tab Utilities 0.9??? version 0.9 not used or tested by myself)!
****** :( :
Pin Tab does not work with Tab Scope:: Add-ons for Firefox! Thank you for finding a solution for than "Tab Scope" feature works with the "Pin Tab" integrated in Tab Utilities.
****** :idea: :) :
Thank you add an item to delete the history of closed tabs in the button and the sub-menu in the Tab Menu.
Last edited by frvaddons on February 7th, 2010, 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry for my english, i'm french.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 12:36 am

roshambo wrote:Thanks for this extension. Would it be possible to extend selected tab color to outline favicon's like lock tab does?

Oh! That's too complicated to exhibit on the UI. Outline includes line style, width, color, four sides and four corners, etc. You may try with userChrome.css.

Also http://bit.ly/dnFMZv resizes firefox in single window mode but other popout windows go into a tab without resizing. Is it a bug?

It's not a bug. Javascript has the ability to do this.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 2:25 am

frvaddons wrote:Fixed code for tabs "faviconized" and red outline
Thank you to remove the 3 lines containing "aTab.minWidth = aTab.maxWidth = 0;" and then add the code below the line (new number) 608, 627, 648 and 707, 721, 739:

Please explain why it is needed.

frvaddons wrote:Pin Tab does not work with Tab Scope:: Add-ons for Firefox! Thank you for finding a solution for than "Tab Scope" feature works with the "Pin Tab" integrated in Tab Utilities.

To make "Tab Scope" work with "Pined Tab", it needs to modify "Tab Scope" code. I don't plan to do so at present.

frvaddons wrote:Thank you add an item to delete the history of closed tabs in the button and the sub-menu in the Tab Menu.

Already added in 0.9.8, you'll see it.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

roshambo
 
Posts: 39
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 4:53 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 6:08 am

ithinc wrote:
roshambo wrote:Thanks for this extension. Would it be possible to extend selected tab color to outline favicon's like lock tab does?

Oh! That's too complicated to exhibit on the UI. Outline includes line style, width, color, four sides and four corners, etc. You may try with userChrome.css.


Thanks, I was sort of able to get it done with:

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"] {
   outline: solid black 2px !important;
}


but any ideas if I want to only outline selected faviconized tabs?

Selected full tabs are easy for me to see but favicon tabs aren't, hence the request.

Also http://bit.ly/dnFMZv resizes firefox in single window mode but other popout windows go into a tab without resizing. Is it a bug?

It's not a bug. Javascript has the ability to do this.


Thanks again, I needed to disable resizing in javascript settings.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 6:32 am

roshambo wrote:
ithinc wrote:
roshambo wrote:Thanks for this extension. Would it be possible to extend selected tab color to outline favicon's like lock tab does?

Oh! That's too complicated to exhibit on the UI. Outline includes line style, width, color, four sides and four corners, etc. You may try with userChrome.css.


Thanks, I was sort of able to get it done with:

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"] {
   outline: solid black 2px !important;
}


but any ideas if I want to only outline selected faviconized tabs?

Selected full tabs are easy for me to see but favicon tabs aren't, hence the request.

I see. Then I can add an option to simply show a "solid 1px" outline or not.
Selected faviconized tabs could use the selector [selected="true"][faviconized="true"].
Last edited by ithinc on February 7th, 2010, 6:56 am, edited 3 times in total.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

frvaddons

User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 10:21 pm
Location: France

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 6:38 am

Hello everybody and a big thank you for ithinc which we propose an interface for our tabs

I deleted by mistake at line 608 in file "tabutils.js":
Code: Select all
    else {
      aTab.setAttribute("protected", true);ss.setTabValue(aTab, "protected", true);
    }

Without this line item "Protect Tab" could not be activated (except with "Freeze Tab") but can be unchecked. Sorry.

"Freeze Tab" is not completely operational. Thank you to verify the extent of blockage. Reloading the page is not blocked. Close 'n forget:: Add-ons for Firefox is not blocked by this feature. Thank you improve the function and by providing options.

EDIT: I also changed this code in "tabutils.css" line 80 ; sorry for forgetting:
Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tabs:not([highlightProtected="true"]) .tabbrowser-tab[protected="true"] .tab-close-button {
  display: -moz-box !important;
   list-style-image: url(chrome://browser/skin/Secure.png) !important;
   -moz-image-region: rect(2px, auto, 2px, auto) !important;
}


"(I use the theme Classic Compact for info! With Options...)" ; if you want test the new code (see my preview message 't=1702465&p=8648215' in this topic ; first here with account).


ithinc wrote:
frvaddons wrote:Fixed code for tabs "faviconized" and red outline
Thank you to remove the 3 lines containing "aTab.minWidth = aTab.maxWidth = 0;" and then add the code below the line (new number) 608, 627, 648 and 707, 721, 739:

Please explain why it is needed.


8-[ The display with the code as you put it does not work correctly. The tabs are telescoping on each other when they are "faviconized". I managed to find a solution by successive tests to correct some defect. The protection options tabs will appear much better. The modified code that i propose greatly improves the display tabs "faviconized". I do not like that the tabs move to the left of the tabs bar when i reduce a tab with "Pin Tab", but i really enjoy the style display reduced. I'd be very happy if you could consider the modified code that i propose. You program better than me because you can do without a model, so that me i need a basic example with code (here, i have been able to improve your code).

"Pin Tab": You can not edit a little the code for than "Tab Scope:: Add-ons for Firefox" can see the tabs? Why not move the tabs and then reducing them (as with faviconized tab)?

[-o< ! The appearance of the tabs with "faviconized" must be the same with "Pin Tab", but the tabs are not displaced. As i managed to do (except 1 or 2 pixel to right).

I would also be very happy if you could add a menu function to close similar tabs (with options).
Code: Select all
Close similar tab: gBrowser.closeGroupTabs(gBrowser.mCurrentTab);
Sorry for my english, i'm french.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2010, 11:52 pm

frvaddons wrote:"Freeze Tab" is not completely operational. Thank you to verify the extent of blockage. Reloading the page is not blocked. Close 'n forget:: Add-ons for Firefox is not blocked by this feature. Thank you improve the function and by providing options.

In Tab Utilities:
"Freeze Tab" ::= "Protect Tab" + "Lock Tab"
"Protect Tab" ::= disallowed to Remove Tab
"Lock Tab" ::= disallowed to Load URI (via UI)
New suggestions could be discussed, but I don't plan to modify these features at present. Reload? Back or Forward? Form submission? AJAX application?
Close 'n forget does do what it supposes to do. I cannot predict what other extensions would do.

frvaddons wrote:8-[ The display with the code as you put it does not work correctly. The tabs are telescoping on each other when they are "faviconized". I managed to find a solution by successive tests to correct some defect. The protection options tabs will appear much better. The modified code that i propose greatly improves the display tabs "faviconized". I do not like that the tabs move to the left of the tabs bar when i reduce a tab with "Pin Tab", but i really enjoy the style display reduced. I'd be very happy if you could consider the modified code that i propose. You program better than me because you can do without a model, so that me i need a basic example with code (here, i have been able to improve your code).

My code works quite well here, no telescoping. If you find any defect, you may try do disable Tab Utilities or other add-ons to find any potential conflicts, then tell me which add-on TU maybe conflicts with and I will test it.

frvaddons wrote:"Pin Tab": You can not edit a little the code for than "Tab Scope:: Add-ons for Firefox" can see the tabs?

I do know how to make "Tab Scope" work on pinned tabs, but I don't plan to add such codes to cooperate with other extensions. I'll try to find a solution to avoid modifying "Tab Scope".

frvaddons wrote:Why not move the tabs and then reducing them (as with faviconized tab)?

That's exactly what App Tabs does. The disadvantage is that the pinned tabs will disapper from the screen when you have many tabs opened and scroll to right.

frvaddons wrote:I would also be very happy if you could add a menu function to close similar tabs (with options).
Code: Select all
Close similar tab: gBrowser.closeGroupTabs(gBrowser.mCurrentTab);

gBrowser.closeGroupTabs is a function provided by other extensions.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

loppie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: May 16th, 2009, 10:27 pm

Post Posted February 8th, 2010, 3:22 am

I want to create a URL shortcut on the desktop from tab context menu. next version,please

roshambo
 
Posts: 39
Joined: February 6th, 2010, 4:53 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2010, 12:07 am

ithinc wrote:I see. Then I can add an option to simply show a "solid 1px" outline or not.
Selected faviconized tabs could use the selector [selected="true"][faviconized="true"].


Thanks that works. Also I found changing the background of selected tabs affects favicons too which also helps.

Is it possible to automatically favicon a tab when it's opened?
If so. Is there any chance for an option to do this along with a status bar button to toggle?

Also is it possible to go to last selected tab if move right after close is selected and there isn't a tab to the right instead of moving to left/last tab?
Last edited by roshambo on February 10th, 2010, 12:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

fire.Man
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 6th, 2009, 7:13 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2010, 6:43 pm

sorry if this has been reported - i didn't go through the forum

win xp
ff 3.6
tu 0.9.5

options > tabs > tab opening > focus tabs from > links

this works backwards for me - if selected, links opened to new tabs (middle click) are not focused. if de-selected, tabs are focused.

and THANKS for building this ext! it's great to see a feature rich alternative to the bloated TMP!

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2010, 3:12 am

loppie wrote:I want to create a URL shortcut on the desktop from tab context menu. next version,please

@loppie,
This feature seems more link-related than tab-related. People may need to send URLs to more places than the desktop, and an item in the main context menu may also be desired. So it may be better implemented by another extension.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2010, 3:26 am

roshambo wrote:Is it possible to automatically favicon a tab when it's opened?
If so. Is there any chance for an option to do this along with a status bar button to toggle?

Not planned yet. Auto-faviconize list? Auto-protect list? Auto-lock list? Auto-pin list? Auto new-tab and/or background or foreground list?

roshambo wrote:Also is it possible to go to last selected tab if move right after close is selected and there isn't a tab to the right instead of moving to left/last tab?

Are you sure you need right first then last selected, not unread first then last selected?
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2010, 3:30 am

fire.Man wrote:sorry if this has been reported - i didn't go through the forum

win xp
ff 3.6
tu 0.9.5

options > tabs > tab opening > focus tabs from > links

this works backwards for me - if selected, links opened to new tabs (middle click) are not focused. if de-selected, tabs are focused.

There is a hidden option extensions.tabutils.inverseMiddleFocus which inverse the tab focus of middle-click than ctrl/left-click. You may set it to false.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2010, 5:03 am

roshambo wrote:Would it be possible to extend selected tab color to outline favicon's like lock tab does?

frvaddons wrote:Thank you add an item to delete the history of closed tabs in the button and the sub-menu in the Tab Menu.

Added in version 0.9.9.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests