MozillaZine

[ext] Private Tab (no restart)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted April 24th, 2013, 11:33 am

Xetmes wrote:I can translate this to Polish, just need some instruction, I've already changed strings inside addon but not working properly for me, I've also edit chrome.manifest but still no luck :D

Someone was faster for a few minutes. :D
https://github.com/Infocatcher/Private_Tab/issues/43

About instructions. Should be something like this:
1) Add in chrome.manifest:
locale privatetab pl locale/pl/
2) New file (and directory):
locale/pl/pt.properties
3) New "<em:localized>" block in install.rdf

And all files should be encoded in UTF-8 without BOM.
This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Xetmes

User avatar
 
Posts: 632
Joined: December 7th, 2011, 8:54 am
Location: Poland/Germany

Post Posted April 24th, 2013, 11:40 am

Infocatcher wrote:
Xetmes wrote:I can translate this to Polish, just need some instruction, I've already changed strings inside addon but not working properly for me, I've also edit chrome.manifest but still no luck :D

Someone was faster for a few minutes. :D
.

NP, always better to have some alternatives for future, thanks for instructions ;)

Ryo

User avatar
 
Posts: 18
Joined: October 18th, 2009, 12:53 am
Location: JPN

Post Posted April 25th, 2013, 2:48 am



This Add-on is wonderful !!

However, there is a little problem.
It is used in the Macintosh environment, but the display of the Window is freaking.
Line enters the bottom of the title bar.
See 1 in the following figure.
Image
( Note : Hue has changed slightly in relation to the image processing of the image posting site. )

Next.
Display position of the icon of PrivateWindow is set too low than the original.
See 2 in the figure above.


The following is a Private Window on Mac OS X original.
Image
MacBook Air(Mid 2013) 13" 1.7GHz Core i7 8GB ; OS X El Capitan : 10.11.2

Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted April 25th, 2013, 9:25 am

Ryo, thanks for screenshots. I checked the source and found one possible reason:
http://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/file/55f750590259/browser/base/content/browser.js#l6734
I will try to do the same:
https://github.com/Infocatcher/Private_Tab/commit/dd2fd378f032ec2d0cd468a8d07362bb9d46d3bb
But I don't have Mac OS to test.

You can try test version with this patch: private_tab-0.1.2pre1-fx-sm.xpi
This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Ryo

User avatar
 
Posts: 18
Joined: October 18th, 2009, 12:53 am
Location: JPN

Post Posted April 25th, 2013, 5:02 pm

Infocatcher wrote:You can try test version with this patch: private_tab-0.1.2pre1-fx-sm.xpi

The quick response of you, I am pleased.
Immediately, I tried.
The result is OK. It is thanks.
MacBook Air(Mid 2013) 13" 1.7GHz Core i7 8GB ; OS X El Capitan : 10.11.2

mdr.ksk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 26th, 2013, 5:07 pm

Post Posted April 26th, 2013, 5:58 pm

Estonian translation of Private Tab v0.1.1. Hopefully there isn't much changes of text in the next version, so my translation should be OK for now :D.

Download here.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted April 26th, 2013, 6:42 pm

Infocatcher-

Did you know you can get free translations for your extension here? http://www.babelzilla.org/forum/index.php There are quite a few benefits to doing it this way. First, AMO will ofter the translation needed via the User-agent. Second, you don't have to solicit for specific languages (usually). Third, why I know these folks are cool, sooner or later you are going to get a joker who will think it is fun to translate using dirty words or someone who decides to do something worse.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted April 27th, 2013, 5:47 am

mdr.ksk wrote:Estonian translation of Private Tab v0.1.1. Hopefully there isn't much changes of text in the next version, so my translation should be OK for now :D.
Thanks! There are no changes for now. :)
Updated: https://github.com/Infocatcher/Private_Tab/commit/604fe1b7b6555690fadaba49bd7b9c760f4ad834

LoudNoise wrote:Did you know you can get free translations for your extension here? http://www.babelzilla.org/forum/index.php
Oh, I'm know, but I'm a bit lazy...
But this should be better, I agree.
This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Globe199
 
Posts: 88
Joined: November 13th, 2008, 5:38 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2013, 7:57 am

"New Private Tab" disappears from my File menu when I close or kill Firefox, along with the ability to do a private tab. I have to reinstall the extension from the web page. This happens with 0.1.1.

Also, and this is a minor issue and I know you probably put some work into it, but I would like the ability to disable that purple mask icon. The underlined title in a private tab is enough for me. Thanks.

Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted April 29th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Globe199 wrote:"New Private Tab" disappears from my File menu when I close or kill Firefox, along with the ability to do a private tab. I have to reinstall the extension from the web page. This happens with 0.1.1.
Can't reproduce.
What you see about "privateTab" in the Error Console (Ctrl+Shift+J) at startup?

And can you install other extensions?
Can you reproduce this on a new Firefox profile?

Globe199 wrote:Also, and this is a minor issue and I know you probably put some work into it, but I would like the ability to disable that purple mask icon. The underlined title in a private tab is enough for me. Thanks.
No option for this for now.
And this is built-in Firefox style for private windows. I'm just set privatebrowsingmode="temporary" attribute. :)
Anyway, you can add following style to userChrome.css/Stylish:
Code: Select all
#appmenu-button {
  -moz-appearance: none !important;
  background-clip: padding-box !important;
  border-radius: 0 0 4px 4px !important;
  border: 1px solid !important;
  border-top: none !important;
  color: white !important;
  text-shadow: 0 0 1px rgba(0,0,0,.7),
               0 1px 1.5px rgba(0,0,0,.5) !important;
  font-weight: bold !important;
}

#appmenu-button {
  background-image: linear-gradient(rgb(247,182,82), rgb(215,98,10) 95%) !important;
  border-color: rgba(83,42,6,.9) !important;
  box-shadow: 0 1px 0 rgba(255,255,255,.25) inset,
              0 0 0 1px rgba(255,255,255,.25) inset !important;
}
#appmenu-button:hover:not(:active):not([open]) {
  background-image: radial-gradient(farthest-side at bottom, rgba(252,240,89,.5) 10%, rgba(252,240,89,0) 70%),
                    radial-gradient(farthest-side at bottom, rgb(236,133,0), rgba(255,229,172,0)),
                    linear-gradient(rgb(246,170,69), rgb(209,74,0) 95%) !important;
  border-color: rgba(83,42,6,.9) !important;
  box-shadow: 0 1px 0 rgba(255,255,255,.1) inset,
              0 0 2px 1px rgba(250,234,169,.7) inset,
              0 -1px 0 rgba(250,234,169,.5) inset !important;
}
#appmenu-button:hover:active,
#appmenu-button[open] {
  background-image: linear-gradient(rgb(246,170,69), rgb(209,74,0) 95%) !important;
  box-shadow: 0 2px 3px rgba(0,0,0,.4) inset,
              0 1px 1px rgba(0,0,0,.2) inset !important;
}

#main-window[privatebrowsingmode=temporary] #appmenu-button > .button-box > .box-inherit > .button-icon {
  display: none !important;
}

#main-window[privatebrowsingmode=temporary] #toolbar-menubar {
  background-image: none !important;
}

This is styles from chrome://browser/skin/browser.css for #appmenu-button (without margins and paddings) with added "!important" for higher priority + some special overrides for #main-window[privatebrowsingmode=temporary].
But styles are system-specific...
This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted May 1st, 2013, 1:04 pm

This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Grg68

User avatar
 
Posts: 39
Joined: January 21st, 2011, 12:36 pm
Location: Greece, island of Crete, Chania

Post Posted May 9th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Hello all here,

I have updated my locale (Hellenic) and you can get it from here:
https://www.box.com/s/3nyiaar4bxq1tw3spdpe

However, should be a way for the translators to be notified in case
of new/changed strings, before you publish the new version on AMO.
Babelzilla is a good place in my opinion and my experience there as
a translator.
So, why not to register your extension there? Think about ;-)

Some suggestions:

1. For a better quality of dialogs in case of disable/uninstall, if it's possible,
you should handle separately singular/plural, based on how many private
tabs are open (one or more than one).
This is important in some languages.

2. In case of disable/uninstall while there are open private tabs, the
confirmation dialog appears.
Extension manager should wait for this dialog to close, before change
extension's status and the dialog should give the user the chance to cancel it
(with a cancel button).
Currently, if the user has some private tabs open and accidentally disable
the extension, there is no way to go back. All private tabs will be converted
to normal tabs (just closing the dialog does not help because this action is the
same as "Make them non-private").

Thanks
Grg

Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted May 10th, 2013, 8:35 am

Grg68 wrote:I have updated my locale (Hellenic) and you can get it from here:
https://www.box.com/s/3nyiaar4bxq1tw3spdpe
Thanks, updated.


Grg68 wrote:However, should be a way for the translators to be notified in case
of new/changed strings, before you publish the new version on AMO.
Babelzilla is a good place in my opinion and my experience there as
a translator.
So, why not to register your extension there? Think about ;-)
Oh, looks like time to finally do this. :)


Grg68 wrote:1. For a better quality of dialogs in case of disable/uninstall, if it's possible,
you should handle separately singular/plural, based on how many private
tabs are open (one or more than one).
This is important in some languages.
May be... But I don't like to improve not so important feature.

Grg68 wrote:2. In case of disable/uninstall while there are open private tabs, the
confirmation dialog appears.
Extension manager should wait for this dialog to close, before change
extension's status and the dialog should give the user the chance to cancel it
(with a cancel button).
Currently, if the user has some private tabs open and accidentally disable
the extension, there is no way to go back. All private tabs will be converted
to normal tabs (just closing the dialog does not help because this action is the
same as "Make them non-private").
Unfortunately there is no public API to prevent disabling/uninstalling.
I can only re-enable extension or copy it's file and install it again (d'oh!). And yes, currently I can create undeletable extension... I think, this may be forbidden later. Also I don't like to make public some (potentially) really bad code.

And I can leave tabs private, but this may confuse users. :?
This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Globe199
 
Posts: 88
Joined: November 13th, 2008, 5:38 pm

Post Posted May 14th, 2013, 8:14 am

If I'm in a private tab and open a new tab, that new tab inherits the "privacy." By default I'd rather have a normal tab. Could this be changed? Thanks.

Infocatcher

User avatar
 
Posts: 254
Joined: July 1st, 2007, 3:45 am

Post Posted May 14th, 2013, 8:27 am

Globe199 wrote:If I'm in a private tab and open a new tab, that new tab inherits the "privacy." By default I'd rather have a normal tab. Could this be changed? Thanks.

For now this can't be changed, see https://github.com/Infocatcher/Private_Tab/issues/41 (especially this).
This game has no name. It will never be the same. ©

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests