MozillaZine

[Ext] Duplicate Tabs Closer (2.2.5)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
stevek123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 21st, 2017, 8:12 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 8:15 pm

Now that the app is a WebExtension, is there any chance to put up a compatible version to the Chrome webstore? I would love to use it there as well. There is no real alternative for this awesome extension :)

sabret00the

User avatar
 
Posts: 1396
Joined: June 29th, 2004, 8:24 am
Location: London (UK)

Post Posted September 27th, 2017, 5:15 am

I filed a bug to fix the issue on Android: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1402640

Peuj
 
Posts: 115
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted September 27th, 2017, 6:49 am

sabret00the wrote:I filed a bug to fix the issue on Android: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1402640

Thanks. I've read that I need to make some changes to support Android (mostly for UI reason). I'll look at it just after the next release.

TitanNano wrote:Two things:

1. can you add a scope for Tab containers? I don't want the addon to close tabs from a different container.

2. did you consider putting the source on something like GitHub? I would be happy to contribute and I think bug tracking would be more structured.

1 - No problem. I've found how to do it. I'll look at it after the next release.
2 - Yes sure, after the next release.

stevek123 wrote:Now that the app is a WebExtension, is there any chance to put up a compatible version to the Chrome webstore? I would love to use it there as well. There is no real alternative for this awesome extension :)

It should work on chrome wihout too much modifications. I'll look at it just after the next release.


I'm working on a new version (as you may have noticed :)) because I'm not really happy with the webextension performance and so I try another way to catch the duplicate tabs.
I keep you informed.

andrew13
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 1st, 2017, 4:35 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2017, 4:43 am

addons.mozilla.org comment:
Shows the wrong number of duplicates.
More than really, even if real quantity of duplicates = 0
Perhaps it's conflict with "Tree Style Tab" or "BarTab Plus".
my FF version - 55.0.3 (x64)

UPD:
Also, "Duplicate Tabs Closer" close some NOT-duplicate tabs.
I found how this conflict appears - when I use the "Unload" option of "BarTab Plus",
"Duplicate Tabs Closer" defines the unloaded tabs as duplicates for some reason.

Tree Style Tab
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addo ... 2017090601

BarTab Plus
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/bartab-plus/

Peuj
 
Posts: 115
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted October 2nd, 2017, 6:56 am

andrew13 wrote:addons.mozilla.org comment:
Shows the wrong number of duplicates.
More than really, even if real quantity of duplicates = 0
Perhaps it's conflict with "Tree Style Tab" or "BarTab Plus".
my FF version - 55.0.3 (x64)

UPD:
Also, "Duplicate Tabs Closer" close some NOT-duplicate tabs.
I found how this conflict appears - when I use the "Unload" option of "BarTab Plus",
"Duplicate Tabs Closer" defines the unloaded tabs as duplicates for some reason.

Tree Style Tab
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addo ... 2017090601

BarTab Plus
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/bartab-plus/


Thanks for the feedback. I'll look at the problem.

shibasareanonymos
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 3rd, 2017, 10:05 pm

Post Posted October 3rd, 2017, 10:18 pm

Hello peuj, your extension was working perfectly until recently. I'm experiencing an identical issue to andrew13, and I have concluded that BarTab https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/bartab/ is causing the conflict. When I "unload" a tab using BarTab the duplicate tabs counter instantly increases, despite there not being duplicate tabs. Going to filters, checking " ignore hash part of url " temporarily resets the duplicate tab counter, but once more tabs are "unloaded" the issue persists.

Something very important I noticed, is the bug only happens when you have multiple tabs from the same website, no matter if they are a duplicate or not, if I have two different tabs from the same site, the extension believes it is a duplicate. I could not fix this issue permanently with any of the filter options as such I believe it is simply some sort of conflict with how BarTab names "unloaded" tabs.


Thank you for your continuous support on this incredibly useful extension thus far, and I look forward to having my duplicate tabs automatically closed once again.

sabret00the

User avatar
 
Posts: 1396
Joined: June 29th, 2004, 8:24 am
Location: London (UK)

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 1:54 am

Peuj wrote:I'm working on a new version (as you may have noticed :)) because I'm not really happy with the webextension performance and so I try another way to catch the duplicate tabs.
I keep you informed.

I had no idea the performance wasn't up to scratch. DTC has been working fabulously for me.

BorgInvasionReturns
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 20th, 2015, 6:27 pm

Post Posted October 11th, 2017, 5:45 am

Does anyone have an issue where the Duplicate Tabs Closer 3.0.0 icon does not show the tabs that can be closed? I am on Firefox ESR 52.4.0 64b because other addons I need like Tab Kit 2 and Form Filler do not work on Firefox 56.0 (and because of a mistake, I had to type all this again since I can not use my form filler on that Firefox where I am posting from).
For me, the icon shows the number of tabs duplicated, but when I click it only the OPTIONS is clickable. Not the DUPLICATE TABS button to view the tabs, nor the CLOSE ALL DUPLICATED TABS (not that I want to) because hovering over it the cursor turns into a stop sign.
Thanks.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests