MozillaZine

[Ext] Duplicate Tabs Closer (3.1.10)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted September 29th, 2015, 5:42 am

yfdyh000 wrote:Change the view_source.tab to true, and turn on the "Close duplicate tabs automatically" of the add-on, then click "View Source" in an page context menu.
The new tab be closed immediately, and an error in Browser Console: "TypeError: content is null viewSource-content.js:72:9".
Non-automatic mode to work properly.


Ok I reproduce the problem.

Thanks for the report.

Noitidart
 
Posts: 1168
Joined: September 16th, 2007, 8:01 am

Post Posted November 3rd, 2015, 8:22 pm

Hi there Peuj, this comment is in reply to your comment on my review: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ws/761452/

Thanks very much for taking the time to reply! And especially on making them a reality!! :)

ovnis31
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 30th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Post Posted December 14th, 2015, 10:20 am

Hello,

Great add, but when i remove Duplicate Tabs closer's button, soon after it reapers. How to fix this ?

Thanks you.

Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2015, 2:52 am

Hi,

A new version using the addon sdk button will be available soon and should fixed this kind of issue.

Thanks

ovnis31
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 30th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Post Posted December 15th, 2015, 10:01 am

Thx you.

donny2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 17th, 2015, 1:23 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Hello, is it possible not to ignore pinned tabs?

Example:
I have Facebook opened in pinned tab. When I open new tab with Facebook, it stays opened, it doesn't activate the facebook pinned tab. So now I have opened two tabs with the same url.

Thanks

Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Hi,

It will not be fixed in the new coming version but I will look at your problem for the next one.

I cannot reproduce your problem in the coming version so, good news, it should be already fixed.


Thanks for the report.

donny2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 17th, 2015, 1:23 pm

Post Posted December 23rd, 2015, 12:19 pm

Hello, today I noticed that it works well. Thanks.

Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2016, 9:54 am

Hi,

Version 2.0.1 released:

* Multiple bug fixes and optimizations
* New: panel to show the duplicate tabs
* e10s (electrolysis aka multi-process) is partially supported

Note: A new version is coming to fully support e10s

Stefan Fleiter

User avatar
 
Posts: 8
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 5:01 pm
Location: Germany

Post Posted January 13th, 2016, 11:19 am

Hi Peuj,
2 feature requests for this helpful addon from my side:
* Show name of tab group
** makes it easy to decide which tab to close
** probably best behind name of tab
** probably only if user has multiple of those open
** tab groups will stay alive with https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... -panorama/
* allow to close tab directly from panel
** maybe add a close (x) button next to tabs

Thx a lot for your work!

bkonia
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 20th, 2014, 10:33 am

Post Posted January 13th, 2016, 9:31 pm

Hi Peuj,

Would you consider adding a filter to ignore the entire URL path, and only allow one tab per domain? With certain web applications, it's more efficient to only work with one tab at a time. I find it frustrating when I end up with multiple tabs open to different pages within the same application.

However, for other sites, you may want to have more than one tab open, so ideally this feature could be implemented on a per-domain basis. In other words, be able to enter a list of domains, for which only one tab can be opened at a time.

sabret00the

User avatar
 
Posts: 1396
Joined: June 29th, 2004, 8:24 am
Location: London (UK)

Post Posted January 17th, 2016, 7:17 am

Hello Peuj, any chance you could make this available for mobile too? Duplicate tabs is a huge problem for me on Android.

Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2016, 4:01 am

Stefan Fleiter wrote:Hi Peuj,
2 feature requests for this helpful addon from my side:
* Show name of tab group
** makes it easy to decide which tab to close
** probably best behind name of tab
** probably only if user has multiple of those open
** tab groups will stay alive with https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/a ... -panorama/
* allow to close tab directly from panel
** maybe add a close (x) button next to tabs

Thx a lot for your work!


    Show name of tab group:
    I have 2 "problems" with this feature.
    - The panel needs to be larger to show the name of the tabs and the name of the group.
    - Currently you see a part of the tab name based on the size of the panel. If I add the group name behind the tab name I need decide where to truncate the tab name then add the group name which will also be truncated by the size panel. It may not be readable this way.
    So yes but I need to find a good way to display the group name. Maybe in front the tab name ?

    Allow to close tab directly from panel:
    - I will add it for the next release.

Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2016, 4:01 am

bkonia wrote:Hi Peuj,

Would you consider adding a filter to ignore the entire URL path, and only allow one tab per domain? With certain web applications, it's more efficient to only work with one tab at a time. I find it frustrating when I end up with multiple tabs open to different pages within the same application.

However, for other sites, you may want to have more than one tab open, so ideally this feature could be implemented on a per-domain basis. In other words, be able to enter a list of domains, for which only one tab can be opened at a time.

You want this feature to work in the automatic close mode?
- If not I can add an option to match tabs with same domain, this way you will be able to see the duplicate tabs in the panel and close them by yourself.
- If yes then I need to add a list for this.
This will not be in the next release I have other priority first.

Peuj
 
Posts: 142
Joined: January 30th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2016, 4:02 am

sabret00the wrote:Hello Peuj, any chance you could make this available for mobile too? Duplicate tabs is a huge problem for me on Android.

Yes I will work on it after the next release but it can take some times as the tab behavior is different and the UI will have to be different also.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests