MozillaZine

[Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
DinkumOil
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 5th, 2016, 1:49 am

Post Posted September 5th, 2016, 2:59 am

... would very much miss being able to toggle core browser features and clear cache with a single click. Needing to hunt down and evaluate separate addons for each one of these things doesn't sound attractive...


That's my opinion too. PrefBar is a great addon because it increases productivity in Firefox a lot. I use its features extensively, buttons as well as checkboxes and menulists.

I created some buttons and checkboxes by myself to toggle browser features or start external programs. That's only possible because of PrefBar's capabilities to easily create these UI controls. I would really, really miss that feature.

Also PrefBar displays its toolbar in a very compact maner so I can integrate the most used buttons/checkboxes/menulists in a way that they are accessible very quickly. Controls that doesn't fit into the window are automatically put in a menulist, a very comfortable behaviour too. I'm afraid that both of these can not be achieved after dividing PrefBar into a set of independent addons.

Please simply continue your very good work in the way you did in the past years. Don't try to modernize things that are already perfect. Of course there is some modernization required by newly introduced or abandoned technologies in Firefox but please don't change the basic concept of PrefBar.

M-Reimer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Post Posted September 7th, 2016, 3:59 am

DinkumOil wrote:I created some buttons and checkboxes by myself to toggle browser features or start external programs. That's only possible because of PrefBar's capabilities to easily create these UI controls. I would really, really miss that feature.


This already only is possible for "Pro users". The PrefBar builtin help system does not provide enough information to create own buttons. But if someone already understands how the Mozilla API works, it would be better if he directly creates his idea as new Addon to publish it to addons.mozilla.org.

Also PrefBar displays its toolbar in a very compact maner so I can integrate the most used buttons/checkboxes/menulists in a way that they are accessible very quickly. Controls that doesn't fit into the window are automatically put in a menulist, a very comfortable behaviour too. I'm afraid that both of these can not be achieved after dividing PrefBar into a set of independent addons.


Works. Just place some buttons in a Firefox toolbar and reduce the window width and you'll see that Firefox has a builtin feature to group buttons, that don't fit on the toolbar, to some "overflow menu".

Please simply continue your very good work in the way you did in the past years. Don't try to modernize things that are already perfect. Of course there is some modernization required by newly introduced or abandoned technologies in Firefox but please don't change the basic concept of PrefBar.


It won't work in the same way. For example there will be no longer something like a "Preferences system". All preferences will be managed using dedicated API functions for each setting.
https://wiki.mozilla.org/WebExtensions/FAQ has some info about access to preferences and about:config.

The new WebExtension API will most probably also contain some "privileges system". So each Addon will have to request the permissions, it needs, to do its work. I'm almost 100% sure that something like PrefBar, which would basically need all possible permissions to work, will a) not attract many users (why do you need all those permissions??) and b) most probably will not pass any review.

My current idea is to provide something like a "Preferences menu" which covers the settings, available to Addons. As I think that this API will be quite limited, I'll just cover 100% of all possible settings. So there will be no need for users to add own items. This will be to get somewhat quick access to some not-so-often needed settings. For more often needed settings, a dedicated Addon would be the better idea to get a new toolbarbutton for this specific setting.

As far as I see all this is pretty far in the future. The API does still miss many things and even the rules behind it may change until that. I just wanted all users to know that there will be changes in future and that I need feedback so I can decide how to create alternatives for required features.

Alfred001
 
Posts: 213
Joined: July 9th, 2011, 9:36 am

Post Posted February 20th, 2017, 5:05 pm

I posted this in another thread:

In about:preferences#content -> colors there is a dropdown menu titled "Override the colors specified by the page with my selection above" and you got three options: Never, Always, Only with High Contrast themes.

I'm wondering whether there's any way to toggle between Always and Only with High Contrast themes (or all 3 of the options if it isn't possible to limit it to those two) using a hotkey.


Someone suggested PrefBar might be able to do this. Now, I installed PrefBar and when I untick "colors" in the bar under the address bar nothing happens. I'm wondering is there some way to get it to do what I need?

Nimrod_189
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 14th, 2017, 11:23 am

Post Posted March 14th, 2017, 11:28 am

Hallo Folks,

I use the first time the Prefbar and have a question about this. Is it possible to add an icon to a button? This looks more professional.

Many Thanks.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51924
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2017, 10:04 am


Nimrod_189
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 14th, 2017, 11:23 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2017, 10:14 am



Thank you for your help.
I will test it once and if I do not go further, I will report again.

Nimrod_189
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 14th, 2017, 11:23 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2017, 10:56 am

It does not work.
I have done everything as it is described. It is with me but only the button text deleted and the icon is not displayed.

Must the PNG file have a specific format?

Path: C:\Users\Büro\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\s8c3byuk.default
\Chrome
Code: Select all
<userChrome.css>
#prefbar-buttons toolbarbutton[id$="idpasswort"] {
    color: rgba(0,0,0,0) !important;
    background: url('icons/passwort.png') center no-repeat;
}
</userChrome.css>


\Chrome\Icons
passwort.png


The userChrome.css is loading.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests