MozillaZine

[EXT] Download Manager (S3)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
ulli5
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 28th, 2018, 12:08 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2018, 12:15 pm

If I open a downloaded file with doubleklick on the statusbar entry I get a popup "klick here to open". That sucks. Is there a way to disable this dialog and open the file directly? If not, please implement such a setting.

megamanx
 
Posts: 107
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 8:35 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2018, 2:57 pm

Is there a way to make the add-on not open a new tab when it is updated, I dislike when it takes focus when I am doing something? At least not take focus, or disable the tab option completely. Using HoldTab add-on, new tabs rarely ever take focus and don't load, so if it can work with that it would be great.

tetomedina

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 22nd, 2008, 1:21 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2018, 8:03 am

Hi guys:

I am still using Firefox 56.0.2 but S3 updated itself and can't roll it back to version 4.13, which is not available on AMO. Does anyone have a download link for it?

Thanks in advance.

lasardo
 
Posts: 182
Joined: September 9th, 2018, 1:41 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2018, 9:19 am

If you install Classic Addons Archive from here https://github.com/JustOff/ca-archive/releases explained a bit more here https://github.com/JustOff/ca-archive and reviewed here https://www.trishtech.com/2018/10/use-o ... s-archive/ you can search classic addons archive, and old versions of Download Manager (S3) might be there. If you find extensions you want to keep you can save them to your computer instead of only installing them, often by right clicking. If you have backups of your old profiles, extensions installed in them often are in .xpi files in the profile. Many are named with the name of the extension, but some have a ID number which you can often google to see what extension it was. You can copy the xpi from the old profile and drag it into a running Firefox browser window to install it.

tetomedina

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: February 22nd, 2008, 1:21 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2018, 12:26 pm

lasardo wrote:If you install Classic Addons Archive from here https://github.com/JustOff/ca-archive/releases explained a bit more here https://github.com/JustOff/ca-archive and reviewed here https://www.trishtech.com/2018/10/use-o ... s-archive/ you can search classic addons archive, and old versions of Download Manager (S3) might be there. If you find extensions you want to keep you can save them to your computer instead of only installing them, often by right clicking. If you have backups of your old profiles, extensions installed in them often are in .xpi files in the profile. Many are named with the name of the extension, but some have a ID number which you can often google to see what extension it was. You can copy the xpi from the old profile and drag it into a running Firefox browser window to install it.
Thanks, indeed the S3 download manager is available on the Classic addons archive. As a side note, I was unable to install the classic addon archive straight forward, I had to download the xpi and install it as a temporary addon from about:debugging. Once there I could run the classic addon and install the addon I wanted to.

grahamperrin
 
Posts: 38
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 3:56 pm

Post Posted December 29th, 2018, 7:35 pm

At https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3download-statusbar/ the first two links in the About section are redundant, since legacy add-on files are no longer served by AMO:

  • https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3download-statusbar/versions/4.13
  • https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/download-statusbar/

Corresponding URLs in the CAA:

  • caa:addon/download-statusbar
  • caa:addon/s3download-statusbar

google_crawler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 8:48 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2019, 6:15 pm

I have multiple issues with this extension:

It doesn't open downloaded files and just opens some useless popup with 'click here to open' srlsy? I've already not only clicked but double clicked to open, so I think I've made my intentions pretty clear.

Also, there is no option to customize time/date format. Really customize it - not just pick something that doesn't apply to me from some short list.

And last but not the least: the order of downloaded files [in the download bar] changes while switching from one tab to the other.

grahamperrin
 
Posts: 38
Joined: July 19th, 2009, 3:56 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2019, 3:36 pm

google_crawler wrote: useless popup with 'click here to open' srlsy?


Seriously, what do you mean?

SillyPerson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 25th, 2012, 8:04 am

Post Posted March 17th, 2019, 9:06 am

Hi. I've used download statusbar in its different incarnations from the start. Thanks for keeping it up to date.
It's a large thread and search didn't help, sorry if this was discussed already: is there a way to fix statusbar disappearance on New Tab?
I understand it's a WebExtensions issue but something tells me it could be fixed with a few lines in userChrome.css. I experimented but without success. If it's possible I would need someone savvier than me to tell me how.

megamanx
 
Posts: 107
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 8:35 am

Post Posted March 17th, 2019, 1:29 pm

grahamperrin wrote:Seriously, what do you mean?

Since you didn't get a reply, when you double-click the file you downloaded that is showing in the Manager, it gives you a pop-up asking you if you want to install the program/file. It gets annoying, so my alternative open it from the Firefox download list, since I merely use the S3 Manager to perma-delete the files than to hunt the file in my folder. At least that's what I think the user meant.

pag77
 
Posts: 1630
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted March 17th, 2019, 1:33 pm

SillyPerson wrote:Hi. I've used download statusbar in its different incarnations from the start. Thanks for keeping it up to date.
It's a large thread and search didn't help, sorry if this was discussed already: is there a way to fix statusbar disappearance on New Tab?
I understand it's a WebExtensions issue but something tells me it could be fixed with a few lines in userChrome.css. I experimented but without success. If it's possible I would need someone savvier than me to tell me how.


WebExtensions Limitations:
1. Download Bar not displayed on some sites from mozilla.org and google.com
2. Download Bar not displayed on sites that do not have pages, for example error 404 (page not found)
3. Download Bar not displayed on internal Firefox and GoogleChrome pages, for example about:addons , about:config , chrome://extensions/ , chrome://settings/ , etc.
4. Download Bar not displayed on the extensions pages "moz-extension://...." , "chrome-extension://...."

SillyPerson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 25th, 2012, 8:04 am

Post Posted March 17th, 2019, 2:54 pm

Thanks for the quick reply but that's your official info which I read. I said I understand it's a WebExtensions issue. But I think I get it now. I thought since ui elements like bookmarks toolbar etc. can be manipulated through userChrome.css, same should be possible for the statusbar. But your extension doesn't modify a built-in element; your statusbar is a custom object and that's why it can't be controled with userChrome.css. Is this correct?

pag77
 
Posts: 1630
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted March 17th, 2019, 3:42 pm

SillyPerson wrote:Thanks for the quick reply but that's your official info which I read. I said I understand it's a WebExtensions issue. But I think I get it now. I thought since ui elements like bookmarks toolbar etc. can be manipulated through userChrome.css, same should be possible for the statusbar. But your extension doesn't modify a built-in element; your statusbar is a custom object and that's why it can't be controled with userChrome.css. Is this correct?


You can controlled my statusbar with userChrome.css, but I can't create statusbar (WebExtensions Limitations) on NewPage ( about:blank , about:newtab )

SillyPerson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: November 25th, 2012, 8:04 am

Post Posted March 17th, 2019, 4:24 pm

Shame. Hopefully future FF versions will allow a persistent statusbar. It's annoying to have it appearing and disappearing as I switch between tabs. Thanks.

Olofern
 
Posts: 22
Joined: March 6th, 2018, 2:14 am

Post Posted March 25th, 2019, 12:27 pm

I installed Turbo Download Manager extension.
It has only a download button history on the toolbar. From it I can open downloaded files without any popup or new tab.
Please, investigate on this behavior, I hope you can remove the horrible new tab and execution button

Thanks

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest