MozillaZine

[EXT] S3.Translator

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
pag77
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2019, 12:27 pm

Recovery method for version 6.19

Step 1.
if you already have version 6.19 installed - skip this step
for others:
Download and install the latest official signed version:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6cyd67ixup4y7s4/s3translator-6.19-fx_signed.xpi

step 2.
Download the latest (now it is 6.24) unsigned version:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8e45m9jhu5usruz/s3translator_6.24.xpi

step 3.
in the address bar of Firefox: about:debugging#addons
Click on the button "Load temporary Add-on ..."
choose the previously downloaded s3translator_6.24.xpi

step 4.
do any translation to make sure that it works

step 5.
restart firefox
the temporary extension s3translator_6.24.xpi will automatically be removed from the browser and the previously installed s3translator-6.19-fx_signed.xpi will be restored

BUT!!
The new key for the google-translation API will be saved and you will be able to use version 6.19!
in about a month, the key will become expired and you will need to repeat from step 3

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted January 9th, 2019, 1:12 pm

@pag77

Thanks.

So, since you removed the addon from AMO a permanent link to the latest version here in the OP and on your website (both now have a broken link) would be nice.

(PS: I assume you meant to write "Recovery method for version 6.24")

pag77
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2019, 1:57 pm

avada wrote:I assume you meant to write "Recovery method for version 6.24"

no :) for version 6.19 :)
this is the only signed version

Thomas.Weber
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 12:46 pm

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 7:59 am

avada wrote:
Thomas.Weber wrote:i updated to v6.24, now it works as expected!


How? I only found 6.19 and even for that I had to use webarchive.

i took the source from the chrome version 6.24, copied the new changed files into the older s3translator-6.19-fx_signed.xpi and then signed the addon.

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 8:53 am

pag77 wrote:
avada wrote:I assume you meant to write "Recovery method for version 6.24"

no :) for version 6.19 :)
this is the only signed version


Okay, then I don't understand. :) (But, I have installation of unsigned addons enabled, so it's not an issue for me. )

By the way, why did you decide to remove this addon from AMO?

Will the addon be receiving functional updates? (Such as a fix for the issue I mentioned about automatic translation)

pag77
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 10th, 2019, 9:39 am

avada wrote:By the way, why did you decide to remove this addon from AMO?

I did not delete it.
Firefox moderators removed all versions due to the fact that I ask users to activate the collection of statistics

avada wrote:Will the addon be receiving functional updates? (Such as a fix for the issue I mentioned about automatic translation)

for Google Chrome - yes
for Firefox....

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted January 11th, 2019, 11:56 am

pag77 wrote:for Google Chrome - yes
for Firefox....


Well, this addon is far more useful for Firefox since Chrome has built in website translation that works reasonably well.

Thomas.Weber
 
Posts: 33
Joined: April 24th, 2005, 12:46 pm

Post Posted January 11th, 2019, 3:37 pm

is it only me, or does 6.24 not work for youtube comments anymore? well, it does through the context menu, but the icons don't show.

Centauri39
 
Posts: 349
Joined: November 25th, 2006, 2:18 pm

Post Posted January 13th, 2019, 6:18 am

pag77 wrote:Firefox moderators removed all versions due to the fact that I ask users to activate the collection of statistics.

So, I guess you should just stop asking and the add-on will be back.
I'm sure, many users are desperately waiting for it to be back.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 13th, 2019, 6:32 am

all over the years it was no problem with the stats because it was opt-out. but now? wtf.
anyhow ev'body is free to remove this stat option with code and to submit it - as a private extension - and to use it.

Centauri39
 
Posts: 349
Joined: November 25th, 2006, 2:18 pm

Post Posted January 13th, 2019, 9:37 am

Brummelchen wrote:all over the years it was no problem with the stats because it was opt-out. but now? wtf.
anyhow ev'body is free to remove this stat option with code and to submit it - as a private extension - and to use it.


And this is supposed to help, why exactly? ](*,)
This add-on is just not available, currently, and neither is the possibility to disable that option. :(

Wtf. btw., is exactly what I've been wondering since the very day, FF57 was released.

No-one needs a Chrome clone.

Drtypws
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 14th, 2018, 7:14 pm

Post Posted January 18th, 2019, 9:18 pm

I have version 6.19 installed. I can still translate full web pages without problems. The thing that changed is that I can't translate comments on Instagram anymore. And the floating box is nonexistent now. I tried the recovery method several times. I still can't translate the comments. Any suggestions?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 19th, 2019, 3:44 am

And this is supposed to help, why exactly? ](*,)
This add-on is just not available, currently, and neither is the possibility to disable that option.

not my part to explain details for you in special you never had understood it, i know your questions from camp-firefox where you always took the blame because of your attitude. if you dont know how to deactivate the stats option, then let it explained you from Oleksander, but he already did that in this thread, maybe he will cite it four you again.
No-one needs a Chrome clone.

thats what i tried to tell you - your attitude towards webextensions lacks knowledge - firefox and blink based browser share the same extension code thus those are same or similar.

Centauri39
 
Posts: 349
Joined: November 25th, 2006, 2:18 pm

Post Posted January 20th, 2019, 8:30 am

@ Brummelchen
It seems too difficult for you to understand, doesn't it?
Nobody can deactivate an option of an unavailable addon, which, because of its unavailability, cannot be installed.
Again:
This addon is currently not available among the Mozilla addons, which is the most relevant page for users looking for addons.
And this addon won't be available again, as long as it keeps containing the mentioned stat feature,
so, from my point of view there's only one sensible solution, i.e. by removing the stat feature, done by Oleksandr, sorry.

About "my attitude":
I don't consider it my business as a user to learn coding css and js, or whatever, but it is however the developers job to create something, all users,
even those without coding skills, can handle FF with all its flexibility and comfort that FF was known for many years.

Look at the fast descending market share of FF 57+ and at how many people, i.e. users AND addon developers, gave up on FF, already,
and (maybe!) you'll see, there's something going severely wrong at Mozilla these days.

The problem is not my attitude (stop stating such lies!), but the lack of usability within FF57+.

Being forced to create scripts and files and folders or whatever, sucks as hell.
In previous FF's you just solved such issues by adding some addons or clicking some options.
In FF57+, it is definitely NOT usability, anymore!
As a matter of fact, FF57+ was obviously developed without regarding the users and their needs.

Rem.:
I know exactly what thread you are referring to, regarding "my attitude" (I strongly suggest to have a look at yours and the ones of your "friends").
I did exactly what the "how to" said (I did it many times), but it still didn't work, not even with a totally fresh installation,
So, even knowing you won't get it this time either, anyway, I'm telling you once more, it was NOT my fault, that it didn't work.

shimself
 
Posts: 112
Joined: December 19th, 2003, 5:59 pm

Post Posted January 22nd, 2019, 3:16 am

This is the 5.38 version for Thunderbird (60.04)

When I press AltV which should bring up View on the TB menu instead it brings up translate pane in the current message. Please use another key combo

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests