MozillaZine

[EXT] S3.Translator

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted April 7th, 2015, 9:53 pm

version 4.02 await approval
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3google-translator/versions/

changes:
hotfix: fixed translation for new Google-Translate-API

ingold
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 13th, 2015, 1:53 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2015, 1:59 am

I have a strong slowdown of firefox since I started using this module.
I disabled the module.
Can you help ?

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted April 13th, 2015, 2:25 am

please send me letter: pag77@mail.ru

dClauzel

User avatar
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 9:31 pm
Location: Villeurbanne, France

Post Posted April 25th, 2015, 3:12 am

I have a formatting problem in the translated texts (French to English).

For example, consider this original text:

Code: Select all
La seule région réellement intéressante est la Guyane, où se trouve Kourou, [notre spatioport européen](https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centre_spatial_guyanais). Les autres régions ont plongé après leur décolonisation, et ne semblent pas capable de s’améliorer sans de profonds changements.


It is is translated to:

Code: Select all
The only really interesting area is Guyana, where Kourou is located, [ our European spaceport ] ( https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centre_spatial_guyanais ). Other regions plunged after decolonization, and do not seem capable of improve without significant changes.


Please notice the extra added spaces around the characters such as “[”, “]”, “(”, “)”, etc. They break the markdown formatting, and in case of plain text they are not even typographically correct.

Is there a way not to have those extra spaces added in the translations?

Otherwise, the extension works perfectly, and in very useful.
ce message est placé sous licence CC by-sa fr 2.0

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted April 25th, 2015, 3:24 am


dClauzel

User avatar
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 9:31 pm
Location: Villeurbanne, France

Post Posted April 25th, 2015, 3:29 am



Thanks you! It is perfect. Does the change will be included in future releases?
ce message est placé sous licence CC by-sa fr 2.0

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted April 25th, 2015, 3:33 am

yes. it is 4.03-pre (4.02)

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2015, 3:29 am

version 4.03 await approval
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3google-translator/versions/

changes:
added: Instant translation: selecting some text translates it instantly when the panel is active
added: new languages for translate: Myanmar (Burmese), Kazakh, Malagasy, Malayalam, Sesotho, Sinhala, Sundanese, Tajik, Chichewa
updated: French locale (thanks Jack Black)
updated: Polish locale (thanks Maciej Bojakowski)
updated: Japanese locale (thanks pulsmz)
updated: Ukranian locale (thanks Sacredwheels)
updated: Chinese locale (thanks 李卓)
fixed: improved algorithm to translate the selected text
fixed: Normal work in Firefox Nightly
fixed: Normal work in Thunderbird Nightly
fixed: minor bug fixes

pintassilgo
 
Posts: 146
Joined: August 30th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Post Posted July 7th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Excellent!

I had tested this extension at two different times, but concluded that it wasn't able to replace Quick Translator.

I knew it was a matter of time, because I know your ability to create "Class A" extensions, especially S3.Download Manager.

Today I tested again and yes!, now is the best extension for translation. thank you for the excellent work.

Some suggestions for improvement:

1. Option to restore the last translation in s3gt-text-translate-toolbar when it is redisplayed (with all the input textbox content selected to facilitate erasing for new translations);
2. When target language is changed in tooltip box, translation should be redone without needing to click "Translate" (this button is unnecessary, actually);
3. Option to choose a secondary language so that if the selected/input text is in the same language of the target, the secondary is automatically chosen as the target;
4. If only one word is being translated, display multiple translation possibilities (like synonyms dictionary, Google Translator does it).
5. Option to display a third textarea in s3gt-text-translate-toolbar for reverse translation (target language translated back to source language, for translation quality check);
6. Be able to move and pin tooltip box.

Nothing new, 1 to 4 are things that Quick Translator can do. ImTranslator is capable to do 5 and 6.

About #5, maybe a complete secondary and independent translator will be better (the same effect that if you open two Google Translator tabs side by side - but think these two translators inside s3gt-text-translate-toolbar). This is useful when you want to write in a language that you haven't mastered, so you compare two reverse translations attempting to detect errors (like me in this post =P, portuguese -> english then english -> portuguese).

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted July 8th, 2015, 1:08 am

Thank you for your suggestions - I'll add it in its work plan.

nabucco
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 14th, 2014, 10:21 pm
Location: Las Palmas (Africa)

Post Posted July 8th, 2015, 5:46 pm

pintassilgo wrote:4. If only one word is being translated, display multiple translation possibilities (like synonyms dictionary, Google Translator does it).

I like it!

bsaksida
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 21st, 2006, 12:04 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Hello.
I am having issues with add-on

My native language is Slovenian. Translator always translate my web mail (gmail.com). Using option "Turn off translation for this site" doesn't work.

I even unchecked slovenian from the list of translation. Add-on doesn't remeber setting. I do not mind that by default it translates into english but i do not wan't my languge to be translated.

Thanks.

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted July 22nd, 2015, 1:33 am

Are you sure that this addon translate this site?
try to clear the history of translated sites
S3.Translator-Settings-tab Translate-"Clear history of translated sites"

pag77
 
Posts: 1556
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted July 24th, 2015, 11:37 am

please test 5.01-beta (4.03 from dropbox)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hkr5q8lsicvfapq/s3google_translator-4.03-fx.xpi

changes:
added: full support for sound-speech
added: new option: Settings: Other: Hide "google-panel" from translated page
changed: new user interface: reverse translation, animation, theme, moving, etc
fixed: minor bug fixes

pintassilgo
 
Posts: 146
Joined: August 30th, 2013, 3:50 pm

Post Posted July 24th, 2015, 9:06 pm

Great!

My suggestions 2 and 6 were done in this update, thanks! And others good changes.

About reverse translation (5th suggestion), I was thinking about it inside the "bottom panel", where we write texts to be translated***. It's more relevant for writing in a foreign language than for reading translated texts.

*** somethink like this:
http://i.imgur.com/secqT9x.png

and/or, even better (IMHO), complete parallel translation like this:
http://i.imgur.com/vJuIU03.png

Other things:
- When minimized, icon and tooltip should be about Maximize, but's still showing "Minimize";
- When minimized, tooltips are being cropped when they invade a space of the page, outside translation box;
- "Request to Google Translate" shouldn't be displayed on instant translation when "busy, translating, wait please", this hides already translated parts. Maybe ellipsis after the text, like Google Translator does;
- Option to hide sound-speech icon after selecting text.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests