MozillaZine

[EXT] S3.Translator

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
pag77
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2020, 3:06 pm

grahamperrin, you are probably right. Thank you for your analytical research :)

Centauri39, I (all of us) are waiting for the final final version of Thunderbird with WebExtensions.
Then I can definitely say - is it real or not

bawldiggle

User avatar
 
Posts: 103
Joined: August 24th, 2008, 8:18 pm
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 8th, 2020, 5:37 am

@ Oleksandr

I have spent the last 5 hours trawling through all posts looking for s3.Translator for PALE MOON.
There is no mention on your http://www.s3blog.org/s3gt.html
I also tried to send an email from your blog page but registering was impossible,
Error { unspecified password } ... with the repeat password empty ??
... when I had just pasted twice


In your post viewtopic.php?p=14810298#p14810298
you recommend v5.36 but the links go to v5.39 ... https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-US/se ... ranslator/

Is v5.39 suited to Pale Moon ?

Thank you from Australia ;)
. . . never to old to learn!

tallguyyo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 24th, 2019, 10:56 pm

Post Posted February 10th, 2020, 6:30 pm

pag77 wrote:grahamperrin, you are probably right. Thank you for your analytical research :)

Centauri39, I (all of us) are waiting for the final final version of Thunderbird with WebExtensions.
Then I can definitely say - is it real or not


so where can we get the fixed version that does not collect our data when we opt out statistics?

Elhem Enohpi
 
Posts: 40
Joined: March 19th, 2016, 8:49 am

Post Posted February 11th, 2020, 5:29 pm

Does the extension execute remote code?

I might be interested in helping to get it approved to be distributed on AMO, if the issues with data collection can be resolved. But if it also executes remote code, it won't be possible.

Almost all other translation extensions download scripts from Google and inject them into pages. That's now against the rules with Mozilla, and they've all been blocked, see https://github.com/jeremiahlee/page-tra ... /issues/26 I took a quick look at the source code, not quite sure what it's doing but this doesn't look promising:

Code: Select all
   
   //------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   var s2 = document.createElement("script");
   s2.type = "text/javascript";
   s2.src = s3gt.utils.get_http_protocol() + s3gt.work_data.url_translate_page.replace("LANG_TO", lang_to).replace("LANG_FROM", lang_from);

   //-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
   if (s3gt.utils.prefs_get("translate_page_hide_header")) {
      s2.onload = function(){
         var mouseout_timer = null;
         //----------------------------------------------------------------------
         function hide_google_container(el) {
            el.style.height = '33px';
            el.style.width = '30px';


@tallguyyo, you can download it from https://www.s3blog.org/s3gt.html - "Version for Firefox: https://s3blog.org/download/s3gt/s3tran ... irefox.xpi " It no longer tries to connect to the developer's website every time you visit a url, even if you do opt in - it's been disabled, though the code and UI haven't been removed.

It does try to connect once a day though, I guess that it's just to check for updates, but I blocked the connection anyway. Note that it's definitely NOT approved by Mozilla! The developer just changed the ID number and privately signed it. It could be remotely blocked/disabled again at any time by Mozilla when they find out.

tallguyyo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 24th, 2019, 10:56 pm

Post Posted February 14th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Elhem Enohpi wrote:@tallguyyo, you can download it from https://www.s3blog.org/s3gt.html - "Version for Firefox: https://s3blog.org/download/s3gt/s3tran ... irefox.xpi " It no longer tries to connect to the developer's website every time you visit a url, even if you do opt in - it's been disabled, though the code and UI haven't been removed.

It does try to connect once a day though, I guess that it's just to check for updates, but I blocked the connection anyway. Note that it's definitely NOT approved by Mozilla! The developer just changed the ID number and privately signed it. It could be remotely blocked/disabled again at any time by Mozilla when they find out.


thanks for helping me out man.

i have a question. you mentioned it tries to connect once per day, but you block the connection. how do you do that? with a software? or you change the xpi by extract, change codes and repack to xpi again?

Elhem Enohpi
 
Posts: 40
Joined: March 19th, 2016, 8:49 am

Post Posted February 15th, 2020, 7:41 am

I blocked the daily connection in my firewall software. Maybe not necessary, but I had it blocked already from before when it was collecting browsing data.

Zero3K

User avatar
 
Posts: 66
Joined: May 18th, 2003, 6:34 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Can someone or the developer please modify it/make a version that uses DeepL instead of Google Translate?

avada
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted April 10th, 2020, 5:37 am

.
Last edited by avada on April 10th, 2020, 1:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

avada
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted April 10th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Yikes. Previous post was in the wrong thread...

marinette-et-riton
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 5th, 2016, 6:42 am

Post Posted May 8th, 2020, 6:26 am

I just discover that the S3.Translator addon has been modified and is compatible with Firefox again.
I already was using it in the past but I had to clean firefox for treats after the warnings published all over the net.
I don't remember exactly what I did.

That said, I downloaded the version 6.25. After installation in Firefox 50 and configuration, everything went fine in the process with the big exception that the addon isn't working at all.
I checked my HOST file for blocked URLs, none seems to be related to the addon.
I have Ghostery installed, I paused it for 24 hours, no change.
I changed the extensions.blocklist.enable value from true to false: same behavior.
I didn't check the windows 7 firewall entries because I don't know how to do it and what to look at.
I relaunched my browser several times, unsuccessfully.
I'm bothered by two things however:
I can't copy the configuration to the clipboard altough the notification is displayed.
I'm not prompted to enter a path when saving it. Consequently, I can't check the configuration.

Questions: what's the path where the parameters are saved ?
Does somebody have any clue to guide me for the troubleshooting ?
TIA

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests