[Ext] BackTrack Tab History

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
AlexVallat

[Ext] BackTrack Tab History

Post by AlexVallat »

Tab History is abandoned. Tab History Redux is abandoned. Tab Utilities is looking a little forlorn these days...

It would appear that if I want my links opened in new tabs to keep the session history from the opening tab, I'm going to have to learn how to write extensions myself.

This is my first attempt:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/backtrack-tab-history/
https://github.com/AlexVallat/firefox-s ... /backtrack

I also added options so you can have it do the same thing for links opened in new windows too(or instead). The default is just for links in new tabs.

Please bear in mind that this is currently experimental - of course I'll do my best to address any reproducible bug reports; just post them in this thread.

Alex
Last edited by AlexVallat on October 19th, 2020, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
AlexVallat

Re: [Ext] BackTrack Tab History

Post by AlexVallat »

Just to bring this up to date, I've now uploaded a new version which adds some brand new additional functionality that I think might be useful.

The idea is that session history entries are now marked if they originally came from another tab that is still open. So if you open a new tab following a link, the previous entry in the list is marked with a ↶ symbol to indicate this. Then, if you navigate back to it, instead of showing another copy of the page in the current tab, it closes and switches to the original tab to show it there. This gives similar behaviour to "Back is close" where you can return from a newly opened tab to its opener. I've uploaded a diagram that tries to illustrate this: BackTrack usage

It's optional, so if you prefer to always use the current tab that still works. I've also improved handling of history within nested pages (iframes), so the copied history should work properly with those too now.
Caspid