MozillaZine

[EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
parnote
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 29th, 2017, 11:52 am

Post Posted December 29th, 2017, 2:02 pm

Thank you for ForecastFox (Fix). It's the best thing going if you want/need a weather extension for Firefox!

However, since the update to Firefox Quantum (Firefox 57), I have noticed a problem. This problem mostly appears when viewing a document in Google Docs/Drive. I've attached a screenshot. This problem forces my computer to slow WAY down, as the swap file takes over the monstrous task that is imposed. Firefox 57 reports that a script associated with ForecastFox (Fix) is slowing the system down. This situation essentially locks my system up for up to 20 minutes at a time. In the interim, I've taken to disabling ForecastFox (Fix) whenever I use Google Docs/Drive.

Image

My system is runnning PCLinuxOS, and Firefox is updated to the latest version.

Thanks for the extension, and thanks for taking a look at this issue!

Paul Arnote
PCLinuxOS Magazine Chief Editor
https://pclosmag.com/index.html

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 7:22 am

parnote wrote:In the interim, I've taken to disabling ForecastFox (Fix) whenever I use Google Docs/Drive.

please try this options:
Forecastfox - settings - Weather forecast bar:
Image

BeachKeys

User avatar
 
Posts: 289
Joined: January 14th, 2005, 7:31 am

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 8:02 am

Hi, I tried searching this thread but my search terms are apparently "too common" and ignored.

I'm running FF ESR 52.5.3 and am trying to get Forecastfox on my bottom addon bar but when I go to Customize, the Forecastfox icon is no where to be found to move it there.

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted December 31st, 2017, 2:18 am

BeachKeys wrote:but when I go to Customize, the Forecastfox icon is no where to be found to move it there.

please more details with screenshots

BeachKeys

User avatar
 
Posts: 289
Joined: January 14th, 2005, 7:31 am

Post Posted January 2nd, 2018, 3:54 pm

pag77 wrote:
BeachKeys wrote:but when I go to Customize, the Forecastfox icon is no where to be found to move it there.

please more details with screenshots


Ok, I got it down on the addon bar finally but can't get it to scroll laterally across the bar like it used to do..

Image

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 2nd, 2018, 4:05 pm

BeachKeys wrote:
pag77 wrote:
BeachKeys wrote:but when I go to Customize, the Forecastfox icon is no where to be found to move it there.

please more details with screenshots


Ok, I got it down on the addon bar finally but can't get it to scroll laterally across the bar like it used to do..

Image

The extensions that are created using WebExtensions have many limitations.
one of the limitations is that they do not work properly in addon-bar

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 3:10 am

version 4.13
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/forecastfox-fix-version/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/forecastfox-fix-version/boljdehmejbffnfiiicckjhafabdepnd

changes:
added: Settings: Other: Radar (or satellite): windy.com
updated: Azerbaijani locale (thanks Qudret Qasimov)
updated: Japanese locale (thanks Toshio Miyazaki)
fixed: minor bug fixes

Image

Image

Image

dlauber
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 7th, 2004, 10:11 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 9:06 am

Your Forecastfox is terrific, but it would be even better if it did not take up so much space in the toolbar. It takes up 5 inches because it shows the date, forecast, temp and city, state, zip code, country, and time. Could you please be so kind as to enable users to choose what information ForecastFox shows in the toolbar or at least allow us to not show the city, state, zip code, country, and time? Users tend to know their location and this information isn't necessary for most users. It just wastes space in the toolbar.

Thank you.

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 9:18 am

dlauber wrote:Your Forecastfox is terrific, but it would be even better if it did not take up so much space in the toolbar. It takes up 5 inches because it shows the date, forecast, temp and city, state, zip code, country, and time. Could you please be so kind as to enable users to choose what information ForecastFox shows in the toolbar or at least allow us to not show the city, state, zip code, country, and time? Users tend to know their location and this information isn't necessary for most users. It just wastes space in the toolbar.

Thank you.

Please use current version 4.13

dlauber
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 7th, 2004, 10:11 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 10:20 am

I am using Version 4.13. While ForecastFox continues to kindly offer display choices for the Forecast Bar, it does not allow users display choices in the FireFox toolbar. That's the issue at hand.

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 10:26 am

dlauber wrote:...it does not allow users display choices in the FireFox toolbar.


I think I do not understand you...
Please show a screenshot about your problem on the toolbar

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 11:31 am

dlauber wrote:I am using Version 4.13. While ForecastFox continues to kindly offer display choices for the Forecast Bar, it does not allow users display choices in the FireFox toolbar. That's the issue at hand.

It's your problem?
Image

Please try edit location name:
Image

Image

dlauber
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 7th, 2004, 10:11 am

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 12:37 pm

Thank you so very much. That helped. I renamed the location to "RF" and that sure saved a lot of space. Admittedly I don't need the time or date to show, or even the location name. But I don't see any way to completely eliminate them.

i very much appreciate your kind help and persistence.

pag77
 
Posts: 1568
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2018, 12:51 pm

dlauber wrote:Admittedly I don't need the time or date to show

From time to time accuweather gives incorrect readings.
Displaying the date and time gives users the ability to control the last change in the weather

BeachKeys

User avatar
 
Posts: 289
Joined: January 14th, 2005, 7:31 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2018, 2:05 pm

The extensions that are created using WebExtensions have many limitations.
one of the limitations is that they do not work properly in addon-bar


But it was working there for a long time until I went to FF ESR.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest